Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars21
4.1 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£3.52+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Time after time Screamadelica is ranked as one of THE albums of all time, but personally Vanishing Point ranks higher than it anyday...Dub beats, fantastic samples, dirty bass and gritty guitar all add to Bobby's fantastic 'stuff you' vocals...I don't like to compare bands, but if you like Death in Vegas...you'll love this. Classic.
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 February 2000
Primal Scream's music has a reputation for being largely influenced by ecstasy, but thankfully it can be enjoyed by non drug users aswell. This album is a dark fusion between dance and rock, and works surprisingly well when by all principals it shouldn't. Burning Wheel starts off the album by making the listener feel disorientated with its jangly guitars and swirly sound effects, and from then on inwards it's a rollercoaster ride of big beats and motion sickness. The highlight of the album is the 10 minute long Trainspotting, written for the film of the same name, which was about drug addicts....
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 May 2000
made using a wide range of mind altering drugs, vanishing point is the ultimate fusion of trips, giving the agression,the soul,the speed and the unalloyed mind of prml scrm.the finest track,to me,is kowalski due to the sounds and the sweet drugged up lyrics.amazing.it plays in my mind continuously tripping me out.who needs drugs when they give you every mood and trippy visions i need to pass away my days.let your mind play with your vision and feelings.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 June 2007
If it's really for sale for less than £2, then you can't afford to not own this album. Somewhat undervalued, I bet that in 5 to 10 years time, bands will be namedropping this album as a must-mention major influence.

Brilliant, dark, druggy and unlike anything anyone else was doing (the others were flogging the exhausted pony that was Brit Pop, probably), Vanishing Point was new territory for Primal Scream and for British rock. While the Brit Poppers were riding a cocaine wave of increasingly banal, mainstream success, our then Brighton-based heroes Primal Scream (increasingly seen as veteran rock n rollers even back then) appeared to be exploiting the anxieties, paranoia and 'strung-outness' of a speed/e/whatever comedown to move away from Stones wannabe territory and show their potential, find their voice, and begin mining a very dark and twisted seem indeed. Flashes (flashbacks?) of Screamadelica and Give Out are evident, as are nods to the drrty techno sounds they went on to produce. In this way, VP is something of a link in the Primal Scream evolutionary chain, but it's also much, much more - it's a trip, a dark and twisting road trip.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 May 2013
Probably one of the best albums from the late 90s, and certainly my own favourite. Perfect for coming down after a heavy night out, or simply lying in the afternoon with your eyes closed. Mani's bass playing is his best ever. A great concept album to go with a great movie (Vanishing Point 1971). Fact - on the cover of "Motorhead," Gillespie sings the first verse through a Darth Vader mask!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 October 1999
Everyone knows and probably owns Screamadelica, it's one of thealbums so often heard in the wee small hours. If the album before this was rocky and Scream was sort of soothing, then Vanishing Point is a sinister cross between the two with lots of freaky sounds and retro guitar riffs. There's even a cover of Motorhead which is quite odd but strangely apealing. If you like this album then look out for Echo Deck, a dub remix of most of the tracks which shouldn't be played when you're feeling sleepy.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 June 2014
Have to agree with other reviewers - this album is awesome - has hardly been out of player since I bought it! Can't believe I left it so long before buying it - may have been put off by their Mcr Apollo show at the time of VP's release - was pretty shambolic compared with their normal first class gigs!! Great stuff - go buy it!...anyway, back to the medication.....
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 December 2012
This is somewhere beyond excellent and every year it sounds better and better (just finished listening to the whole album on my Denon headphones, in fact, and it was like hearing it new all over again.)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 July 2009
I'm sure that many will disagree, but I think that this is the best album that Primal Scream have ever made. All the rest fade into insignificance and are pretty damn poor anyway. Instrumentally/Electronically led and not far away from the sound of Death in Vegas. Once you listen, you'll know where many of those old tunes you always hear come from. The dub-version (Echo Dek)is a close second to this album, but if you prefer dub, you may prefer it. I have both, and I love both of them.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 May 2013
If you'rte looking for a 'Screamadelica' or a 'Don't Give....", you won't find it here. This is dubby, downbeat but chilled. Another side to Primal Scream and well worth a listen.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£3.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)