Customer Reviews


38 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Those who laugh will surely fall"
The review in Record Mirror of Ultravox's 1981 `Rage in Eden' album described it as "Tepid in the extreme ... a complete lack of ideas", but Melody Maker declared of it: "Confirmation, consolidation, and CLASS." Record Mirror laughed and proceeded to fall, not lasting as long as their rivals.

I was there in 1981, and smitten: `Rage in Eden' is a passionate...
Published 17 months ago by Nicholas Casley

versus
3 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars No Rage at this Remaster
The second Ultravox with Midge Ure LP has now been restored to the glory of the original release, with the sound and graphics improved beyond the first CD release. The hits The Thin Wall and The Voice will be familiar to most fans, but gems such as Rage in Eden, Accent on Youth and I Remember are worth a listen.
Published on 10 Mar 2000


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ultravox at their most experimental, brilliantly remastered, 14 Dec 2008
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
On the whole this came off as slightly disappointing after the brilliant lead-off single "The Thin Wall", which was accompanied by my all-time favourite promotional video. All tracks have a dark, somewhat wintery, claustrophobic ambience about them but frequently go on too long, and despite some excellent arrangements and fantastically pompous lyrics, the production and engineering, when compared to other releases of the era, isn't exactly mindblowing and a bit too flat for my liking. ("The Voice" and the title track suffered from a noise reduction error, rectified in this 2008 edition, which unlike most current reissues has actually been remastered with great care from the original master tapes.)

Ultimately, what lets "Rage In Eden" down is its dull second half (bridge aside, the 7 minutes plus of "Stranger Within" are excruciating, as is the delayed bass drum in "Your Name") and the fact that the majority of the budget and time seems to have gone into recording "The Thin Wall", while the remaining tracks appear somewhat rushed and unfinished. The simplistic drum programming is annoying too. That said, 27 years on I still feel strangely attracted. The album bravely if not always successfully highlights Ultravox' experimental side, has a better flow than "Vienna" and constitutes the defining manifesto for the New Romantics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best thing they ever did, 13 Dec 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Rage In Eden (Audio CD)
When most people think Ultravox they think "Oh, Vienna!"
But Ultravox did far more than Vienna, and if that song were on this album I'm sure it would have found itself into a lot more homes. Basically, there isn't a single weak song here. It's full of atmosphere and has to be one of my all time favourite albums.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars better than vienna, 30 July 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
ok lets get this out the way...this album is a 100 times better than the very commercial vienna.althought vienna was great,to me it was so famous it burnt out.this,however this a far superior album in every way and will remain my favourite ultravox one to date.from the brilliant(and my favourite off the album)rage in eden.to the haunting youre name has slipped my mind this album has it all.the remastering is spot on,just listen to the thin wall on your i pod through the headphones.comes with an extra disc with some great live tracks.and as someone who has already mentioned a different cut of the thin wall.which does sound great.an essential purchase for fans and novices alike.enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just Brilliant, 2 Dec 2004
By 
Stewart Easby (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rage In Eden (Audio CD)
Played this to DEATH when it first came out - In 28 years of buying records/CD's I can't remember getting an album and playing it more than this one, I am not saying its the best album I own, but it was when it came out - Definately THE Ultravox album and still worth a play.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Rage in Eden - Remastered in 2008, 28 Sep 2008
review: ultravox - rage in eden definitive remaster 2xcd 2008
=======================================================

rage in eden is interesting, i'll give it that..

it might be the first ultravox release on cd, coming
out with the re-release back in 1982....some 26 years
ago..

this release had the angular artwork, and not the original
faces artwork.....this came after the release of the
'quartet' album was still going on....and in fact
'monument the soundtrack' was on its way too..

at this point, cd's were still finding their market,
so ultravox went ahead and released 'quartet', and
'vienna' also on this format...

it wouldn't be until 1997 that a re-relase, and
re-issue came out.....maybe it wasn't that popular?
maybe it was too dark for most people? not sure...

but when the remaster came out, along with the
new artwork, and 3 extra tracks..people were
glad to get it on cd..

i enjoyed this album a lot, when i first heard it,
it had a very coherent theme, and was very moody..
however, at times it was hard to listen to all
the way through...although individual tracks
really stood out, like 'the voice', and 'we stand
alone'....

once again, its not a favorite of mine, coming in
4th or so.... but i do pull it out every so often..

so lets talk about specifics: for the album
====================================================

1) again, if you're comparing the album
to the other remaster is not overly loud, or 'over mastered'

2) for the soft passages, listen to 'rage in eden' or 'your
name (has slipped my mind again)' and you'll see they are
clear, and free of hiss, and noise..

i'm listening through altec-lansing speakers, and also through
headphones

3) the louder parts do not sound distorted, the excellent
'we stand alone', and 'accent on youth/the ascent' sound
great....

4) tracks are complete and not missing parts

the bonus disc:
===================================================

1) well the bonus disc is a nice selection of the
few b-sides, and a lot of live tracks from the 1981
december show at the hammersmith..

2) there are also 2 work in progress songs, 'the stranger
within', and 'the thin wall'...that are pretty rough,
and give you an idea of how the song came together..
however 'the stranger within' is mostly instrumental..

3) the extended mix of 'i never wanted to begin' was
already released, and most of the b-sides were on 'rare'
or other releases..

4) the live tracks sound good...and are a good indication
of what there sound carried over onto the stage..

if you have heard the unofficial 'live in concert' from
rimini, italy - nov 81, and the windsong release of
'bbc radio 1 live' - paris jan 81, that will give you
a great idea of how these songs will sound.. along
with a more complete feel for their adapting them live..

===================================================

if you didn't have the previous remaster, and
you were waiting for it to come out again, now
is the time to get it..

i don't know how much it will appeal to people,
as i don't know many that think this is their
favorite, or if has the classic sound they
can listen to a lot.. to me it is a more personal
and moody/melancholic..

again, the packaging is great, and with the added bonus
of downloading the booklets from the website a
lot of care went into this...

the bonus disc is a step up from the previous
'vienna' release, and does a better job of
showcasing ultravox live, and some early versions
of their songs.. the b-sides, and remixes are once
again duplicates, but they are very strong ones,
as 'i never wanted to begin', and 'paths and angles'
to me, ARE part of the album..

if you had the previous remaster, you might
not get it, unless you want the live tracks..
but then there are other live albums out
there you could get...

this is a great package, and a right
step in the direction of what might
come for the rest of the releases..

later
-1
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a difficult follow up?, 17 Jun 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rage In Eden (MP3 Download)
I can still remember buying the original LP... great artwork, and full of promise as I scanned the packiging on the bus home... and then the moment of truth, can this album follow the superlative vienna... yes and how, a work of brilliance, the classic Ultravox blend of pomp and atmosphere. The rock moments perfectly complementmented by the introspective numbers, especially "your name (has slipped my mind) ". This remaster is well done, and really emphasises the conny plank input, a genius of production, never given his true accolade. Anyone catching Ultravox on their reincarnation tours will see how well these songs transfer to the stage. Recommended for any 80's officianado.. it certainly transports me..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I may have to buy it again, 14 Oct 2009
By 
D. L. Wilkinson "Dean" (London,UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I got the version with the alternative cover design for cheap but I may need to buy this one just to have the lovely cubist-esque cover art.The original art fits the whole Ultravox image of the era,kind of 1930's-40's howard hughes,and the album seems incomplete without it.
The albums great by the way.
The other reviews are mostly spot on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Buy Now!!!, 20 Jan 2009
By 
Mr. M. Robinson "Mark" (Stowmarket UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Out of the two re-releases this is the better if slightly less propular one to buy for Ultravox and 80s fans.

Lots of new live tracks and a new remix of the 81 Hit The Thin Wall makes this an absolute must.

Many people consider this album is pretentious and pompus but the searing synths and guitar makes Rage In Eden a classic.

Its not been out of my car since release day!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Midge Ure's Favourite, 23 Aug 2008
By 
S. Speck - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rage In Eden (Audio CD)
I had the good fortune to meet Midge Ure last year at a corporate event. I expressed my affection for this album and he told me that this was also his favourite. He also told me that they had misplaced their notes before going into the studio, suggesting that there is a degree of improvisation and an unrehearsed quality to the songs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rage In Eden, 17 Jun 2008
This review is from: Rage In Eden (Audio CD)
This brings back good memories of when I was at school and it's good to hear it again. The title track and "I Remember (Death In The Afternoon)" are my favourites,(was it about Ernest Hemingway and his book "Death In The Afternoon"?). It's a shame that they couldn't use the album's original artwork because of copyright, but hey this CD is brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Rage In Eden
Rage In Eden by Ultravox (Audio CD - 1997)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews