Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars
13
5.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
13
4 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£5.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 16 July 2009
I purchased the original LP issue forty-plus years ago during my student days. It has lasted the years as a all-time favourite recording. This CD restores edits to three of the tracks, adds two recordings from the same sessions, plus an alternative take. This is a classic latter day Monk quartet, Ben Riley drums, Larry Gales bass and Charlie Rouse on tenor. They rework four Monk compositions, two 'new' recordings by other composers, plus two Monk piano solos. The CD sound quality is first class. Excellent notes, this how how a re-issue should be done. If you are new to jazz, an essential buy. If you like Monk, highly recommended.
0Comment| 34 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 100 REVIEWERon 16 June 2014
This overlooked studio album from the great pianist/composer Thelonious Monk(1917-1982) was recorded in New York City on November 14/15, 1966 & January 10, 1967 with Charlie Rouse(tenor sax); Larry Gales(bass) & Ben Riley(drums).
Three tunes, 'Straight No Chaser', 'We See' & 'Japanese Folk Song' have been restored to their original unedited length while two previously unreleased performances have been included.
Everyone is in exuberant form on the nine tracks which feature four Monk originals. Highlights include an animated version of 'Straight No Chaser', 'Green Chimneys' named after the school of Monk's daughter, Barbara, the 16-minute 'Japanese Folk Song' & Monk's piano solo 'Between The Devil And The Deep Blue Sea'.
'Straight No Chaser' is a little-known Monk album containing 76 minutes of inventive and exhilarating music that deserves a place in any modern jazz collection.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 January 2015
One of the benefits of retirement is that it gives you a chance to get to know things that you never had time to explore before. I've been reading Ted Goia's books about jazz -- the latest is "The Jazz Standards," and earlier there was a history of Jazz -- and Thelonius Monk's career comes up in the chapter about Bebop and the transition from "swing" and jazz as entertainment to the idea of jazz as a kind of art-music. Charlie Parker and Dizzy Gillespie are the musicians mentioned along with Monk in this context, and when I saw a chance to pick up the album "Straight, No Chaser" (recorded in 1966-67) at a reduced price, I jumped at it. And it's great -- I don't know enough about the context to discuss it intelligently, but it's an absolute pleasure to listen to. Charlie Rouse is on tenor sax, Larry Gates on bass, and Ben Riley on drums, with Monk on the piano, and what an inventive and lucid pianist he is. My tastes being a bit retro, I really liked "I didn't know about you," an Ellington composition that is played with great feeling that contrasts with the more objective, shall we say "aesthetic," appeal of the rest of the material, but it's all so inventive and even playful that you can't resist it. Orrin Keepnews, who produced Monk's earlier recordings on Riverside Records, was called in by Columbia to oversee the reissue of this one, and his essay in the program book is fascinating, as he tells how he was able to restore cuts that had been made to get the music within a manageable time frame for a 1960's LP. So in a sense, this is a truer record of the sessions that led to the original issue. The sound is lovely, and in the longer pieces, the rhythm section gets its chance to shine. The musical conversation between Monk and Rouse is a constant pleasure throughout.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 May 2001
A truely outstanding album from start to finnish. Many catchy tunes with the incredible talent of Thelonious Monk (Piano). This album goes from strength to strength. Highly recommended from Jazz fans looking to start their collection. Overall it is an excellent album performed by real professionals. A must have for anyone who calls themself a Jazz fan.
0Comment| 26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 February 2013
My first time of listening to Thelonious Monk. It was exactly what i wanted from a jazz pianist and band. Terrific. I'll listen to more.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 February 2011
Not a lot to say really. Monk was amazing. This shows how amazing. And Charlie Rouse was no slouch either, was he?
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 February 2014
I have several of Thelonious Monk's cds and never getting tired of listening to his music. Such a great musician. I have uploaded it to my ipod and play it through speakers.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 June 2016
I've played this album so many times since purchase. It's now one of my favourite. If like me you love Thelonious Monk you'll love this album.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 February 2010
Cannot fault this fantastic CD. was really pleased with it and would recommend this to any fan of them.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 October 2014
great cd from a master from yesteryear
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)