Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Uplifting music, 6 Nov. 2004
By 
Peter Uys "Toypom" (Sandton) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Cabo Verde (Audio CD)
On this album, Cape Verde's greatest export to the world delivers another exquisite collection of mournful and yearning songs in her moving, bluesy voice. She sings in creolised Portuguese and the style (morna) is a mix of the Portuguese fado and African rhythms. Although Cape Verde lies just off the West African coast, this style has little in common with the mainland sounds from countries like Senegal or Mali. The instrumental mix includes guitars, the special rhythm guitar called cavaquino and even a clarinet to create an engaging polyrhythmic backing for Cesaria's graceful vocal style. Strangely, the sad songs have an uplifting effect on the spirit. Of the slower songs, my favourites are Ess Pais and Zebra, whilst the funkiest uptempo numbers are Quem Bo and Mae Velha. The track Pe Di Boi includes a lovely whistling interlude. The foot tapping dance track Sangue de Beirona is equally inspiring. This is an excellent album by one of the greatest artists in World Music today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Afro-Portuguese Sound & A Silk-Smooth Voice, 14 Feb. 2005
This review is from: Cabo Verde (Audio CD)
I was sailing with some friends on an incredible trip to Africa, and we stopped briefly at the small island of Cabo Verde for supplies. I had never heard of Cesaria Evora before. I had really never heard much about Cabo Verde before this trip. In a small music/souvenier shop near the port, I heard this CD playing. I was hooked immediately. I bought a CD for myself and several for friends back home, and have never been more delighted with a chance find. My friends are still thanking me.
Cabo Verde was colonized by the Portuguese, and the combination of the African and Portuguese cultures makes for some fabulous music - a little similar to sounds from Brazil. The music on this CD is a combination of the 'fado' from Portugal, mixed with the Brazilian ballad-like 'choro,' and soulful 'forros,' along with Cape Verde's own particular island sound. There is no better way to understand this wonderful, nuanced music than to listen to it. And Ms. Evora, herself, plays her voice and makes a music that is very much her own.
The nostalgic "Partida," "Mar e Morada de Soledad," and "Ess Pais," are sung with a sadness and longing that evoke much emotion. Other cuts, like "Tchintchirote," and "Sangue de Beirona" make me want to just get up and dance to the Oh So Sensual Beat! It is Ms. Evora's soft, silky-smooth, engaging voice that is so special. She is backed by strings - the guitar and an instrument called the 'cavaquinho'- but the rhythms are pure island. A terrific CD! You will enjoy it!
JANA
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Indispensible, 29 Nov. 2012
By 
JB (Cambridge UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Cabo Verde (Audio CD)
If ever there was a rhythm to get under your skin it's that of Cabo Verde; it's a classic in the oeuvre of Cesaria Evora, and once you've started it's impossible to put this album down. For better or worse, it will live with you forever.

I defy anyone to even begin to analyse or interpret the hold how these writhing, ephemeral yet most basic sounds affect us, yet they do, and on the most fundamental level.

There's a truth here which is indisputable yet hard to fully grasp. Just listen to Apocalypse, for instance; it's almost as if a child, someone uncorrupted by the processes of having to find a way to exist in this world, begins to ask the most basic - and unanswerable - questions.

You'll find it hard to resist, but you'll emerge chastened and somewhat raw from listening to this album. Raw, but burnished with the irrepressible joy in life of Cesaria Evora, and that's a price worth paying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 21 Mar. 2014
By 
paradisaea (Cambridge, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cabo Verde (Audio CD)
One of her best albums, love it! Cesaria Evora is one of my favourite artists. I'd recommend this to anyone who likes music from Brazil.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Caesaria, 4 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cabo Verde (Audio CD)
As with most of Caesarias work, the voice and emotion with which she imbues her work make the recordings essential.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 5 Nov. 2014
This review is from: Cabo Verde (Audio CD)
Really interesting
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing Cd, 29 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cabo Verde (Audio CD)
An amazing CD
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very pleased, 28 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cabo Verde (Audio CD)
I am very pleased of this item as ordered, sent and received on time. I will be very pleased to order again at this ebayer
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 15 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cabo Verde (Audio CD)
good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the queen of braziliam music, 26 Feb. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Cabo Verde (Audio CD)
again she has done it its an album full of body with the tenderness and warmth of cesarias voice its easy to close your eyes and imagin you are in a very hot braziam day marvelous piece of art!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Cabo Verde
Cabo Verde by Cesaria Evora (Audio CD - 2000)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews