Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How classic is this album?
In 1986 I first heard Julian Cope (although I had known songs like Reward, Treason & Passionate Friend from TOTP)and the following year, a friend got into him big time. Came across a tape of this in a garage in Buckinghamshire (?) and this became my fave album of his, well apart from Wilder, World Shut Your Mouth & Peggy Suicide...
The making of this album is well...
Published on 13 Nov 2002 by Jason Parkes

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Bad editing spoils lost masterpiece
Was a little disappointed with this not for the actual sound of the cd which is good because one of the problems with the original cd release is the low volume of the recordings you really have to turn it up loud to hear it ,not so for this release though tracks like Bill Drummond said and Sunspots stand out more crisply my only two gripes are the terrible editing some...
Published 14 months ago by Philip Dootson


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How classic is this album?, 13 Nov 2002
By 
Jason Parkes "We're all Frankies'" (Worcester, UK) - See all my reviews
(No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fried (Audio CD)
In 1986 I first heard Julian Cope (although I had known songs like Reward, Treason & Passionate Friend from TOTP)and the following year, a friend got into him big time. Came across a tape of this in a garage in Buckinghamshire (?) and this became my fave album of his, well apart from Wilder, World Shut Your Mouth & Peggy Suicide...
The making of this album is well documented in Repossessed/Head On (Thorsons)- it was made in the maelstrom that followed the Teardrops' demise, the financial fallout & the failure of his great debut album. Cope was being set up as a Syd Barrett for the 80's , plenty of odd rumours (selling songs to people on Paul McCartney's trout farm, living on a traffic island) surfaced and looking at the coolest cover of an album ever, it was possible to see why...
The album opens with Reynard the Fox, Cope moving towards myth as the song mutates into a blend of Helter Skelter & The Doors with a rockabilly freakout towards the end (and strange psychedelic guitar). This is the best version released.
The lovely Bill Drummond Said is next, this is shimmering guitar music of the finest order- even if it's about the KLF/Zoo geezer who wrote the not so classic Julian Cope is Dead. You can hear why Morrissey named this his fave album of 1984.
Laughing Boy is up next, sounding like Tim Buckley on valium - though its title comes from a track on Hall&Oates Abandoned Luncheonette! This is a very English hell and far from funny- which I suppose is the point...
Me Singing is another sublime acoustic song, very much influenced by Tim Buckley's Happy Sad and Van Morrison's TB Sheets- and not far from 70's breakdown album Third/Sister Lovers by Big Star. This came from an imaginary conversation Cope had with his wife while she was away; how great is that?
The classic single and international hit (well, in my universe) Sunspots is next- "Eh Oh/It goes away" demonstrates a lyrical influence on the Teletubbies and a wonderful drum sound is complemented by heavenly washes of keyboards and parping brass. Someone told me it sounds like The The, not so sure myself. As great as songs like An Elegant Chaos & Strasbourg regardless.
The Bloody Assizes kickstarts the second half of the album, though it is songs like Search Party, O. King of Chaos (Madness dabbling in the occult) and Torpedo that stand out. Oh, and Holy Love shows that he can do the whole pop thing like Reward or Greatness & Perfection whenever he felt like it.
The extra tracks come from the Sunspots-e.p. and the krautrock-inflected Mik Mak Mock and the mindblowing Land of Fear are as good as anything on the great album proper (Land of Fear would be re-recorded for 20 Mothers. Lovely...).
Fried is an absolute total classic masterpiece up there with, well any album ever; Cope may have went crazy but the album transcends that. Timeless stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars His best album???!?!?!?!!, 20 Mar 2003
This review is from: Fried (Audio CD)
Wonderful, fanitly psychedlic, pop songs from Mr Cope. Certainly my favourite album from his extensive back catelogue. Starts with the harsh guitar clatter of 'Reynard The Fox' - moves brilliantly into the reflective daze of 'Bill Drummond Says' and further on to the bizarre, but great 'Sunspots'. O King Of Chaos is another highlight - featuring solo voice, piano and organ - Cope barks his lyrics with great force. Superb album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Eighties acid drops, 9 Feb 2003
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fried (Audio CD)
The eighties largely passed me by, being busy raising kids and listening mostly to Irish music. I bought this out of curiosity having read of Julian Cope's strange transformation thanks to an acid binge. I'm glad to say I really enjoyed it - just the right mix of fey playfulness and strange observation to put it alongside classic sixties LSD music. My points of reference are wildly out of date but, for what it's worth, I thought "Reynard the Fox" was like XTC but with better singing, Sunspots is a great laugh (we've all been there), "The Bloody Assizes" is a dead ringer for the Yardbirds playing live (Julian even sounds like Keith Relf) and I thought I heard shades of Syd Barrett, Magical Mystery Tour era Beatles and a bit of Cap'n Beefheart on Mic Mak Mok. "Fried" is a great addition to that tradition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Mad Cope Laughs, 1 Oct 2009
This review is from: Fried (Audio CD)
the infamous second solo record from Julian Cope, Fried. I use the word "infamous" because Fried marks the point at which Cope began to find himself at odds with major record labels. In fact, Fried's lack of attention by the record-buying public caused Mercury Records to drop Cope from its roster. This usually relegates a release to that great cut-out bin in the sky.

Fried was originally released in 1985, following Cope's departure from post-punk favorites, The Teardrop Explodes and his solo debut World Shut Your Mouth. The cover of the record shows Cope hiding beneath a giant turtle shell, gazing at a toy truck with the album's title printed on the side. "Fried", indeed! Cope's lysergic deviations are thinly concealed on the record's 10 tracks. He's masked his disdain for organized religion, and, well, organized anything beneath clever pop songs. As a student of music of all types, Cope has always been able to present a variety of genres bearing his own chaotic style on each of his albums. Fried is an absolute gem and bears examination by fans of mid-80s British pop music.

The post-punk influence is evident on the record's opener, "Reynard The Fox." While Cope has consistently surrounded himself with quality musicians - in this case guitarists Donald Ross Skinner and Brother Johnno, guitarist/producer Stevan Lovell, and drummer Chris Whitten - it's Cope's bass guitar that recalls the best of early to mid-80s British pop with a bent towards all things punk. Cope's mid-song rant about the "plastic bag with plastic handles" is where the psychedelia oozes in. And we're off to rambles about what "Bill Drummond Said" and a "Laughing Boy." It's all pop of varying tempos, and it's slightly more trippy than what the pop crowd had been braced for. Cope's charisma is the driving force on Fried and all of his records, really. The music's so good and so catchy that you don't care what he's singing about. "Me Singing" questions this. By the end, we don't care too much about what he's singing and we're ready for Cope's opinions to blend in with our own. "Sunspots" is a plodding wade through Cope's love of sounds and syllables. No credits are given to the flute soloist, but Cope has already jacked us out into the stratosphere with his bizarre ruminations. When he tells us "I Went On A Chourney", we've no doubt that it's just one of many.

Side two's "The Bloody Assizes" could have been a rockabilly song if handled by someone else. Cope punks it out before mellowing on "Search Party". Love songs are not atypical of Cope and "Search Party" is one of his best. The oboe and descriptions of a disgusting cradle are what separates Cope from anyone else. "O King of Chaos", with its simplistic piano chords is pure autobiography. Yet everything on side two moves along quickly. "Holy Love" dips back into pop that's too smart for Casey Kasem. The returning oboe clinches it. "Torpedo", the original album's closer, has Cope at the organ for the accompaniment to another hopeless plea of a love song. Bonus track "Mic Mak Mok" is Cope playing with alien/robot vocal sounds and "Land Of Fear" is a mid-tempo, uplifting finish.

I give my highest recommendation to "Fried". If you have never heard the record, this may be the best way to first familiarize yourself with a Julian Cope classic
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars JULIAN IS THE KING !, 22 Jun 2009
By 
Arturo Suski Blanco "elreyarturo" (madrid,Spain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fried (Audio CD)
What more can be said about julian cope, but that he is the king ! You only have to listen to one of the standout tracks "O King of Chaos" to appreciate the genius-like quality of his work. May King julian live on...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Julian's best, 18 Nov 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Fried (Audio CD)
Dripping with Psychedelia this is Julian's finest. "Reynard the Fox" starts the album and its' hillbilly lake country stomp rocks harder than anything Julian has done previously or since. The album maintains a very high standard throughout and leaves one feeling as though he/she has taken a tab of good mickey mouse. Julian's best!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Acid daze, 7 April 2009
By 
9ftneil "9ftneil" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Fried (Audio CD)
After the brilliance of Cope's debut 'World Shut Your Mouth' failed to ignite the charts he returned a year later with an even better offering 'Fried'. With tales of Cope's increasingly erratic and eccentric behaviour circulating in the music press (Copey living on a traffic island, Copey wearing an oversize turtle shell, Copey wandering the streets accosting people with his songs etc...) it seemed to many that the great man was seriously losing his marbles
and possibly "doing a Syd Barrett" (Cope was ingesting large doses of LSD at the time) and being consigned to history as another genius drug addled casualty. When a picture of Cope crawling around with said turtle shell adorned the front cover of 'Fried' it seemed to many that he'd finally cracked, but the music contained on the album belied that media depiction. Kicking off with the rocking fury of 'Reynard The Fox' it was clear that Cope was fired up and had a lot to say, and reports of his creative demise were misplaced. 'Reynard' was a genuine classic and with it's unsettling psyched out ending Cope's so-called "derangement" was clearly reaping creative dividends.

With the gorgeous swirling pop of 'Sunspots', 'Bill Drummond Said' & 'Holy Love' , the sublime acoustic introspection of 'Me Singing' and the incendiary garage rock of 'The Bloody Assizes' this is Cope at his very best. The extra tracks from the 'Sunspots' E.P. are two experimental forays into krautrock territory and hardly essential ('Mik Mak Mok' is frankly annoying) but 'Land of Fear' is exceptional and why it wasn't on the original album is anyone's guess.

With poor promotion 'Fried' failed to ignite much public interest but was a big hit in Japan allowing Cope to tour successfully there and re-coup much needed finances to keep his career going. Thankfully his next venture would be "the big one"...

'Fried' is a classic by any standards but as Cope fans know the great man has seldom made a bad record in 25 years
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How do you like your music?...... Fried or boiled?, 15 Mar 2008
By 
russell clarke "stipesdoppleganger" (halifax, west yorks) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Fried (Audio CD)
John Peel once said of Julian Cope "Some rum thoughts run through that boy,s head". The cover of Fried would add considerable grist to that particular mill. Huddled stark naked under a giant turtle shell gazing with frankly alarming intent at a red toy lorry emblazoned with the albums title. Fried indeed. Yet the albums contents seemed to speak of an incredibly focussed individual. There is no self indulgent histrionics or frippery .No self aggrandising posturing or cosmic non-sequitors. The original 1984 album had ten cracking pop songs and came hot on the heels of his excellent debut album "World Shut Your Mouth". Cope may have given the impression he was more addled than a big brother contestant but he clearly knew what he was doing.
"Reynard The Fox" is a razor sharp rumination on hunting yet is set to giddy oboe, and galloping guitars. "Bill Drummond Said"( A song Bill Drummond replied to on his 1986 album "The Man" with the song "Julian Cope is Dead") is a breezy acoustic led strum where "If I sit and pray my Christmas tree will die". On "Laughing Boy" and "Me Singing "piano comes to the fore. "Sunspots" is the albums centrepiece , a magnificent explosion of melody via an hypnotic guitar line, cascading keyboards and some obtuse lyrics about being in love with his "very best friend" .
"The Bloody Assizes" about historical genocide is a breathless rush with an addictive slashing guitar refrain. "Search Party" is (Arguably) the albums weakest track but is still a better plangent pop song than you.ll hear on 97.5% of most albums . "Holy Love " has huge emphatic piano chords , like they were played by a man with 5kg lump hammers for fingers. "Torpedo" feels like something of a come down after that but is still an insidious tickle of a song. The extra tracks include the superbly mad as a titanium top hat "Mik Mak Mok"( Originally a b-side on the "Sunspots" single) , a completely addictive slice of pure nonsense.
Fried was dismissed on release , judged more by it,s cover it would seem than the actual music. Never judge an album by it,s cover. Unlike a lot of eighties music it has aged very well .It,s an album of true scouring left field intelligence, brimming with fragility and empathy but is still packed with tunes that would make a Fimble salivate. When asked how i like my music( It does,nt happen often in all honesty) i invariably reply fried
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not Julian's Best!, 7 Feb 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Fried (Audio CD)
Damm fine album. Not as good as 'World Shut Your Mouth' though! (I of course refer to the album, WSYM, not the song which turned up years later on 'saint Julian' another fine album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Acid trip paid off Saint Julian!!!, 8 Feb 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Fried (Audio CD)
This some what visionary album gives a strange but actual insight of a mad-cap forward thinking mystic who is still to this day out there doing his thang ! Lets be kind to our Julian after all he is a dying breeeed within our not so far out music scean of boy/girl rich kid money crayvers who all need to be sent back to the playground for a good bullying session. Thank God for Julian !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xae4880d8)

This product

Fried
Fried by Julian Cope (Audio CD - 1996)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews