Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Truly the Best of the Drifters
It includes all of my favourite songs plus with Johnny Moore as the lead singer, I loved every single track
Published 16 months ago by Elizabeth Cole

versus
9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Good and bad
A few good tracks, but some appear not to be original. The bad tracks that follow the good ones seem to have just been thrown-in to fill the CD. I cannot recommend this album.
Published on 5 Mar 2011 by Sortean


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Good and bad, 5 Mar 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best of the Drifters (Audio CD)
A few good tracks, but some appear not to be original. The bad tracks that follow the good ones seem to have just been thrown-in to fill the CD. I cannot recommend this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Truly the Best of the Drifters, 16 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best of the Drifters (Audio CD)
It includes all of my favourite songs plus with Johnny Moore as the lead singer, I loved every single track
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the drifters, 5 Jan 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best of the Drifters (Audio CD)
really pleased with cd the songs are great and the tone is good it was a xmas present for my husband and he really liked it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars packaging meh disk amazing, 30 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best of the Drifters (Audio CD)
Packagin for transport could be better as my case was smashed...this was a gift so maybe some bubble wrap...disk it selfbis fab mum loves it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Their seventies recordings, 2 Mar 2005
By 
Peter Durward Harris "Pete the music fan" (Leicester England) - See all my reviews
(No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Very Best of the Drifters (Audio CD)
There were several phases to the careers of the Drifters, but this compilation focuses on their seventies music. In Britain, they were much more successful in the singles charts than they had been in the sixties, when many of their best songs were hits via British cover versions. Their only major sixties hit in Britain was Save the last dance for me, here represented via a re-recording. A re-issue of At the club / Saturday night at the movie made the UK top three in 1972 and was followed into the top ten by a re-issue of Come on over to my place, though none of those songs is reprised here. In America, it was altogether different - they had plenty of major hits there up to 1965, after which they disappeared almost totally from the singles charts.
Following the success of those re-issues, the Drifters secured a British recording contract on the Bell label. Some of the best British songwriters of the time (Tony Macauley, Roger Cook and Roger Greenaway) provided the Drifters with songs stylistically reminiscent of their sixties hits, updated just enough to suit the customers of the seventies.
Kissing in the back row of the movies, Down on the beach, tonight, Like sister and brother, Can I take you home little girl, There goes my first love, Hello happiness, Every night's a Saturday night with you, Love games and You're more than a number in my little red book all made the British charts, most of them reaching the top ten. This compilation also includes several covers including Sweet Caroline (Neil Diamond), Something tells me (Cilla Black), Always something there to remind me (Sandie Shaw), Summer in the city (Lovin' Spoonful).
This is an excellent collection of the Drifters' seventies recordings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great music, 27 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best of the Drifters (Audio CD)
Iordered this because i love this music,this item was delivered quickly ,and packaging was good,Im so glad i got this,its a great cd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Drifters, 7 Jan 2013
By 
L. J. Farrell (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best of the Drifters (Audio CD)
Absolute music gold! Good for all the family, my kids loved it, being raised on the cassette version in the car 30 years ago
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Terrific, 13 Dec 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best of the Drifters (Audio CD)
The Drifters are the sound of lazy summer days of my teens. To hear The Drifters never fails to put a smile on my face. This collection is the sound of happiness to me. This is the second time I have purchased this album, the last one wore out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Very Best of the Drifters, 30 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best of the Drifters (Audio CD)
One of my collection.....I recently went to play this in a cd player only to find it had been 'lent out' and no one can remember who to...so after calming down....I've a new (perfectly good used ) copy and no one will touch my cd's or dvd's again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 1970s Drifters songs, 17 Jan 2011
By 
Dalesman (North Devon, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Very Best of the Drifters (Audio CD)
I've actually seen 3 different albums called "The Very Best of The Drifter". Those wanting the 1970s hits need the one with Johnny Moore's line up from the 70s on the cover. It was released in 1997. The album contains a fantastic collection of their 70s hits and 'B' sides, and others. Very evocative of the era. Remember that these middle-aged gentlemen were giving the glam rockers and teenyboppers a run for their money, and often beat them hands down. These are the original recordings and worth every penny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Very Best of the Drifters
The Very Best of the Drifters by The Drifters (Audio CD - 1997)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews