Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen with Prime Learn more Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars58
4.7 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 19 May 2001
Normally i listen to nu-metal bands like korn, deftones, soulfly etc, but after listening to there 'number of the beast album' i made it a priority that i acquire some of there albums. Buying 'best of the beast'turned out to be one of the beast decisions i ever made, all the songs are fantastic, with great bass, drums, riffs and last but by no means least the vocals of all three of the maiden vocalists. For any person just starting to listen to iron maiden, i would recommend the limited edition version as it covers most of there career and gives a good spread of there songs. Top songs on this album are, 'the trooper', 'the rime of the ancient mariner', 'the evil that men do', 'wraithchild' and 'where eagles dare'. BUY IT NOW, u wont regret it.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 July 2003
Heavy Metal is a dirty word in England. Consequently, Iron Maiden fans fall into three categories. There's the more visible of the tatooed, long haired brigade, there's the lad who dabbled when he was 15 and only bought one album having liked one song and then there's the closet maiden fan who has all their albums but never talks about it, for fear of being shunned. Heavy Metal itself is dominated by american bands and yet i would venture that iron maiden are the greatest of them all! the album opens with a few blaze bayley tracks and while he's a competent singer, it doesn't really get going til the first time you hear 'the siren' the man himself bruce dickinson. he penned maiden's only uk no1 - bring your daughter... and it's a great track!! quick guitar changes, bruce's unique voice all wrapped up with harris's wonderful bass. while the maiden's middle period gave us some great tracks, the early stuff is even better! while i love nicko, clive burr's drums were something else and there here in all their glory on tracks such as run to the hills and hallowed be thy name. im not actually a fan of heavy metal as such. i have a very broad taste, but i dont dismiss heavy metal as a musical form and if you are to buy any metal album, this is the one i'd recommend.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 August 2013
one of the best best of albums, has all the classic maiden songs on it that any iron maiden fan will enjoy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 May 2003
Hey, aside from the fact that this is a brilliant album that contains all of Iron Maidens better songs [and more mainstream] it's got a GREAT cover.
BUT... have you noticed?
The Iron Maiden website tells you the playlist is different from the onw amazon has. Iron Maidens webby shows 34 songs on the album in a diff order, whether amazon shows 27. Weird or not? So i have taken amazons, cos i believe they actually look on the BACk of the cd and check the list is acurate, unlike Iron Maidnes webby.
RIME OF THE ANCIENT MARINER rules! [good ol' coleridge for the inspiration]
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 February 2014
Woe to you,Oh Earth and Sea,for the Devil sends the Beast with wrath for he knows his time is short.Let him who hath the understanding reckon the Number of the Beast-for it is a Human Number-its number is:Six Hundred and Sixty Six.............
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 November 2015
don't wait for reviews , just buy it !!!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 February 2009
Outstanding rare double CD from the masters of UK metal !

Bought via Amazon to replace the one some theiving, nasty, useless, benefit-cheating, low-life, scummy, coke-head (may you rot in hell) nicked from my car. I hope the minimal money you got for this second hand CD minus it's case and the other stuff you decided to take without my permission while damaging my vehicle pays toward your accidental heroin overdose !

So I'm happier now I have it succesfully replaced. If anyone else fancies a taster CD of the Iron, this one is for you, oooo and try also Live after Death !

As for the scumbag, if you know who you are, and if I ever catch you, you will wish you had never chosen your path in life. How I wish we lived in Saudi Arabia, so you could never steal again. Not with your hands at any rate. Maybe you would be able to grab stuff from cars with your teeth afterwards with having lost the use of your hands to a flashing scimitar ?
11 comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 April 2016
massive fan! not a bad song on it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 June 2005
right. first off, sod edward the great. its got only a few choice songs, no paul di'anno, as well as a quarter of the setlist being taken up by half the 7th son album. this is THE definitive maiden collection. all the hits and the rest of them, including a stunning version of 'afraid to shoot strangers', live with blaze. make sure you buy the double disc version for the full experience. this proves metal is far from dead.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 January 2015
Very good compilation
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)