Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ireland's finest, 24 Feb 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: A Different Beat (Audio CD)
After having great success with their 1st album, the v poptastic "Said and done" Boyzone mature with their second "A different beat". The song writing is much more adventureous and there is more variety on this album with the right mix of uptempo tracks and sweet ballads. The style of the songs is more bit-y, which is why I like it. It seems that Boyzone are experimenting and trying to find a sound which is their own.
The ballads as always are heart-felt but the uptempo songs are the most surprising.
Title track "A Different beat" has, among fans and concert goers become the Boyzone's anthem. The epic song about travelling around the world is BZ song writing at its best.
Stephen Gately salutes his idol Michael Jackson with his emotional rendition of "Ben" along with his Jackson 5-style uptempo track "Games of love" which is a fantastic slice of pop.
"Strong enough" is more of an original sound with an interesting rap by Shane.
Only low point is "It's Time". Sorry lads but the album could have done without this song. The midtempo track with the backing fairground music just shouldn't be here.
Highlights include: "Heaven Knows" (Ronan's song writing at its best), "Crying in the night" a beautiful ballad dedicated to Keith and Mikey's children and the haunting "She moves through the fair". Not forgetting the singles "Words" and the accoustic version of "Isn't it a wonder".
Fantastic album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The perfect album, 11 May 2003
This review is from: A Different Beat (Audio CD)
“A Different Beat” saw Boyzone make the transition from purely an Irish boy group to a mature band – that is, this album was the proof that they had the talent and the drive to produce music that appeals to all ages. Whilst fans of Boyzone’s earlier music should definitely own “Said and Done”, “A Different Beat” stands out as one of their best albums, with the powerful title track and the timeless “Words”. There are no fillers on here, and there’s a lot of diversity to keep everyone happy – cute ballads like “Don’t stop looking for love” with Stephen demonstrating his vocal talents, through to the Backstreet Boys style “Strong Enough”. In brief, this is an absolutely beautiful album and is evidence that despite their name, Boyzone are so much more than just a boy band, with this collection of perfectly-crafted tracks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Paradise Indeed!, 15 April 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: A Different Beat (Audio CD)
How i love this album! It's the best Boyzone music in my opinion. Said and Done was a bit cheesy and Where We Belong quite tedious (but still good!) Best tracks = A Different Beat, very ethnic and very uplifting lyrics from Ronan and the boys Heaven Knows = Fabulous Semi-Ballad! Fantastic vocals from Ronan, really moving. THE best track for me from Boyzone EVER is She Moves Through the Fair. So touching, its a real tearjerker. Even though its an Irish "folk" song the boys give it depth and come at it from a dramatic and effective angle. I tend to skip Give a Little as its bitty and bland. Overall, a great album, a Boyzone fans dream!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars boyzone, 30 Sep 2013
This review is from: A Different Beat (MP3 Download)
Boyzone are my favourtie boyband specaily ronan he is my favourtie out of the band. I went to see boyzone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars MP3 present, 8 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Different Beat (MP3 Download)
Downloaded this album for a friend as she loves this band. I don't know why she does (maybe because I'm not into this music) but she love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars boyzone, 7 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Different Beat (Audio CD)
there are some similar songs that i know and some different ones which is a nice mixature i haven't had this on a cd before so its kinda new to me
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars about boyzone, 16 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Different Beat (Audio CD)
i have known boyzone nearly all my life i started supporting boyzone since i was a little girl at 9 to 10 years old and now in my 30s put it this way it has been over 20 years since i have been with boyzone i think that means i'm a dedicated fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars You can buy it here...only!, 4 Jun 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Different Beat USA (Audio CD)
In the United States A Different Beat at least the US version is NO LONGER MADE! The album did so bad it was only on the market for about 1 year. There was also a single for the cd's only hit "Mystical Experince" or "Experiencia Religiosa" I guess it did not do good over in the UK. The single is virtually impossible to find. So is the CD. It took me about a year going from music store to music to find it. About the only three things you can find in the US from boyzone is Where we Belong, "No Matter What" the single and sometimes "By Request. So if you are a new boyzone fan...Buy a different beat. it's as close as they get to bsb and nsync. In fact, Buy all of the cd's ! You'll love Boyzone
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars this album is sooooooooooooo touching, 9 Feb 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: A Different Beat (Audio CD)
i think boyzone really got a good balance 0n this album the songs were very sweet and i enjoyed listening to them and all the songs werent depressing so i loved this cd although i like were we belong much better because it is a much more a matturer album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Different Beat
A Different Beat by Boyzone (Audio CD - 2004)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews