Customer Reviews


45 Reviews
5 star:
 (33)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Boston Greatest Hits
Wow what have I been missing......
Greatest Hits is my first Boston purchase and wow what have I been missing all these years. I can't stop playing this fantastic album. Tremendous songs like "Higher Power", "Don't look back" and "Peace of mind" and the greatest ever "More than a feeling" and I'll never tire of listeneing to the hauntingly beautiful "A man I'll Never...
Published on 29 July 2010 by blueeyes

versus
76 of 84 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Buy the first 3 albums
Buy the first three albums.
Don't buy this album because: it misses out some of the best bits of the other albums, messess up the continuity between songs that the other albums half relly on (being partially conceptual in track listing terms), it includes songs that do not have the original singer and therefore feeling on them, and because you can get hold of the...
Published on 4 Sept. 2002


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Boston Greatest Hits, 29 July 2010
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
Wow what have I been missing......
Greatest Hits is my first Boston purchase and wow what have I been missing all these years. I can't stop playing this fantastic album. Tremendous songs like "Higher Power", "Don't look back" and "Peace of mind" and the greatest ever "More than a feeling" and I'll never tire of listeneing to the hauntingly beautiful "A man I'll Never Be" These tracks are so unique and with such depth and feeling.This will not be the last Boston cd I'll purchase and I'd recommend it, you won't be disappointed. An absolute 5 stars!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect introduction to classic Melodic Hard Rock, 7 Dec. 2010
By 
Mark Haynes (Telford UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
Let's first get one thing straight. Generally most Melodic Hard Rock bands (Foreigner, Journey, Boston etc) are NOT CORPORATE!!! This is a steaming pile of BS put about by the Punk/New Wave obsessed music press of the late 70s and 80s. In Boston's case they were a hard working and struggling band for a few years playing the bars and clubs of Boston before they got a record deal. True Tom Scholz is a graduate of MIT who developed most of the electronics used by the band (this is the reason for their unique tonal quality), but they were never put together by some record company mogul (unlike the Sex Pistols, who were put together by record mogul Malcolm Maclaren and given a record contract with EMI with the specific purpose of being the English answer to American 'Garage' band The Ramones - in the same way that The Monkees were the American answer to The Beatles, I could also mention the fact that The Clash were from mostly wealthy backgrounds and were given a grant by their record company to go out and learn how to be 'working class'). But enough of that to the music, most of this selection comes from their seminal eponymous release from 1976, this is understandable since they never managed quite to scale the heights of that release again, however listening again to these songs in wonderfully 'remastered' form (I used to have the vinyl and unremastered versions of their albums) they've been given almost a new lease of life. Particularly pleasing are the tracks 'Piece of Mind', 'Foreplay/Longtime' and of course 'More than a Feeling' (Barclaycard advert watchers will be familiar with this one). What marks out classic Boston is here in these songs: great hooks; classic guitar riffs (Piece of Mind is surely one of the greatest guitar riffs of all time); heroic musicianship (listen to Tom Scholz's keyboard on Foreplay/Long Time for example; and a unique tonal quality mentioned earlier that is rich in harmonics. I agree with some other views here that 'Tell Me' a later track is not good but however the track written specifically for this compilation ('Higher Power') is excellent! My advice is to ignore the Punk/New Wave obsessed music press (which people have recently thankfully in Journey) and have a good unbiased listen and at this price you've nothing to lose!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Boston: Greatest Hits - Classic American Rock Bargain, 16 Sept. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
Boston: Greatest Hits

I'm on a bit of a 70's rock retro fix at the moment and only really know Boston by the rock classic that is: 'More Than A Feelin'. On the strength of this one song I decided to buy the Greatest Hits package and overall I'm glad I did. A lot of the songs contain great 70's guitar riffs to get you reaching for your air guitar and at a price that won't break the bank. Sure there's a few duds lurking in the track-listng but thats not really a reason to miss out on tracks such as:

Piece of Mind, Foreplay-Longtime & Don't Look Back

BG's Verdict: I'd recommend this CD for anyone who likes the classic era of rock music (The 1970s) or to anyone wanting a cheap introduction to Boston!

Bargain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


76 of 84 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Buy the first 3 albums, 4 Sept. 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
Buy the first three albums.
Don't buy this album because: it misses out some of the best bits of the other albums, messess up the continuity between songs that the other albums half relly on (being partially conceptual in track listing terms), it includes songs that do not have the original singer and therefore feeling on them, and because you can get hold of the first three albums on CD really cheaply anyway.
The first three Boston albums are brilliant. Not even the artwork on this album has the same feeling, being computer generated, which completely goes against the original ethic of the band. There's a decided air of someone making a fast buck (and lack of repsect for the band) about the whole product. Go and buy the first three albums.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 36 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Useless package of great music, 11 May 2007
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
Even something as simple as a Greatest Hits compilation takes time when Tom Scholz is involved. Originally scheduled for release to coincide with the 20th anniversary of the release of Boston's debut album, the project was pushed back nearly a year and became the first Boston album to feature computer generated artwork and a ship at rest. Songs from the fourth cd, Walk On, are absent, as is any rational for a greatest hits package. Given the wide availability of second hand copies of all of Boston's previous four albums, Scholz and Sony used three new songs as bait to lure in consumers who otherwise have no need to waste their money on a greatest hits package. "Tell Me" is a mid-tempo ballad written by Scholz and featuring David Sikes on lead vocals. The song has nothing to recommend it and had it been released previously would not have been on a greatest hits package, quite unlike Higher Power, a foot-tapping rocker that opens with a quiet guitar shuffle before blasting off with the chorus and finishing with guitar and harmonica solos. The third "previously unreleased" track was in fact circulating among Boston collectors for a number of years, a 1994 promo-only instrumental of the US national anthem, The Star Spangled Banner, added here most likely because there were no other finished tracks on Scholz's shelves. Equally useless and not likely to be listened to more than once is the album's final track, a radio edit of Higher Power. Altogether, this is an uninspired compilation and except for Higher Power is for the consumer a complete waste of time and money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Lead Vocalist Has Passed. This CD Is A Must Buy !, 10 Mar. 2007
By 
Brien Comerford (Glenview, Illinois United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
On March 9, 2007, the lead singer of Boston, suddenly died. Brad Delp was a dynamic vocalist and his brilliant and eclectic voice flourish throughout this greatest hits collection. Highlights include "Higher Power", "Peace Of Mind" "More Than A Feeling", "Amanda" and "A Man I'll Never Be". Delp and Boston's mastermind, Tom Scholz. consistently advocated on behalf of social justice, vegetarianism, animal rights and nonviolence. They were a great musical team. In addition to "Greatest Hits", "Boston", "Don't Look Back" "Third Stage" and "Walk On" are must buy CDs. It's a shame that Boston only made a handful of CDs during a thirty year musical career.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The greatest tracks from the masters of harmonious rock., 3 Mar. 2000
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
A truly magnificent collection from Boston. Great rock combined with harmony and melody, somehow the music has been given such increduble depth that there is always more to hear at each listen. Boston created their unique sound with their own instrument development. An absolute must for anyone serious about rock!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Like the red sox!, 29 Oct. 2004
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
With a back catalogue like Boston a greatest hits package isn't going to satisfy everyone, but they've done a top job. The newer songs don't have quite the same rock 'n roll about them as the early stuff, but we are talking nearly 30 years between recordings, so no surprise that recording techniques have changed and Tom S. might have mellowed. Even if you don't like the music it's worth hearing Drad Belp's angelic vocals.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Album From A Great Band., 12 Jan. 2002
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
A great collection of all the Boston hit songs. It's the kind of album that can be listened to over and over again. After listening to the first few tracks on the album it made me want to get all four of Bostons album. With tracks such as Rock & Roll Band and More Than A Feeling this album truly is spectacular.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great stuff as usual..., 2 Jan. 2008
By 
Nuka Moller Lund (Greenland.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
Great stuff from BOSTON and Tom Scholz - as usual one might add. All the hits are here and in addition you get two versions of the powerful Higher Power and the awesome Tell Me sung by David Sikes. All the other songs are sung by the late Brad Delp and Fran Cosmo who stepped in during the nineties when Delp was in some other band - I don't remember their name. There's also BOSTON's version of The Starspangled Banner which is the intro to every BOSTON live-performance. Although it should have been a 2-CD set, you better get this 'cause it's melodic classic rock and it's rockin'...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Greatest Hits
Greatest Hits by Boston (Audio CD - 2010)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews