Customer Reviews


36 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars YET AGAIN, WHY ARE AMAZON TOO LAZY TO GIVE TRACK LISTINGS
Another and decent "best of" but obviously missing many great tracks as it has only 16, you need 2 or 3 CD's to cover all their great tracks, sadly there is no definitive "best of" that I know of, but others worth looking at are:
*Somewhere Back In Time: The Best Of: 1980-1989:
*From Fear to Eternity: The Best of 1990-2010:
*Ed Hunter:
*Edward The...
Published 12 months ago by Christopher W. Brierley

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
took a long time to come, jewel case cracked and CD seems to stop or jump in certain places.
Published 4 months ago by sh


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars YET AGAIN, WHY ARE AMAZON TOO LAZY TO GIVE TRACK LISTINGS, 26 Nov 2013
This review is from: Best of the Beast (Audio CD)
Another and decent "best of" but obviously missing many great tracks as it has only 16, you need 2 or 3 CD's to cover all their great tracks, sadly there is no definitive "best of" that I know of, but others worth looking at are:
*Somewhere Back In Time: The Best Of: 1980-1989:
*From Fear to Eternity: The Best of 1990-2010:
*Ed Hunter:
*Edward The Great - Greatest Hits:
*Best Of The Beast [Limited Edition] YES CONFUSING, same title as the CD under review, EVEN THE SAME COVER PHOTO, but 2 CD's and rarer, so expensive, see ASIN: B000024NDC, again no track listing but it maybe the same as ASIN: B000006JQ5 which is on amazon.com site.
*Greatest Hits 2 Cd SET currently listed on amazon.com see B003LNAXQY, I have also found it on ebay, from Russia, like China, a well known supplier of non legit goods. I also found a few more suspicious double CD's there too.

Track Listing for CD in this review
1. The Number Of The Beast
2. Can I Play With Madness
3. Fear Of The Dark (Live)
4. Run To The Hills
5. Bring Your Daughter... To The Slaughter
6. The Evil That Men Do
7. Aces High
8. Be Quick Or Be Dead
9. 2 Minutes To Midnight
10. Man On The Edge
11. Virus
12. Running Free (Live)
13. Wasted Years
14. The Calirvoyant
15. The Trooper
16. Hallowed By Thy Name
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ......... classic ........., 30 Nov 2001
This review is from: Best of the Beast (Audio CD)
Right then, this was my preconceptions of Iron Maiden before I heard this CD. Mullets, leather, ridiculous riffs, screaming and all the other stereotypical "old skool" rock images.
Well they've been well and truely blown away! Here is a CD that manages to combine ball clenching vocals, gut wrenching riffs and lyrics that are thoughtful as they are direct.
It may not be for everyone, but if your taste in music is better than average buy this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The CD to buy if you want to get into Maiden, 13 Jan 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Best of the Beast (Audio CD)
A few years ago, I decided that my CD collection wasn't as broad as I'd like it to be so I headed out to buy some albums from different genres. I hadn't heard any Maiden before but I picked up Best of the Beast to have something in the metal genre. Since hearing this CD I have bought every other Iron Maiden album, joined the fan club and am looking for an opportunity to get to a concert sometime soon.
If you want to get into Iron Maiden or are just mildly interested in hearing them, BUY THIS ALBUM. It'll change your life ;-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Open your mind, 5 Mar 2003
This review is from: Best of the Beast (Audio CD)
Ok, I'll admit it. I used to HATE Iron Maiden. But I heard a cover of Hallowed Be Thy Name on the best of Cradle Of Filth album, and I loved the song. So, I thought I would invest in this Best Of The Beast. I am SO glad I did. The guitar work is breathtaking, and the songs amazing. If you love metal, but think that Maiden are too soft, or whatever, put aside your doubts and embrace one of the very best metal bands of all time. Before you know it you will have a HUGE collection of Maiden albums. Outstanding.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!Play this loud in yer car!, 3 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Best of the Beast (Audio CD)
Woe to you,Oh Earth and Sea,for the Devil sends the Beast with wrath for he knows his time is short.Let him who hath the understanding reckon the Number of the Beast-for it is a Human Number-its number is:Six Hundred and Sixty Six.............
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best of the Beast Iron Maiden, 27 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Best of the Beast (Audio CD)
Until I bought this I had no Iron Maiden in my collection. Am I sad or what? I Can now understand why this band has a huge following. I'm probably talking a load of rubbish but they didn't sound dissimilar to a superb band by the name of Rainbow. Nonetheless Iron Maiden have acquired a new fan and I shall definitely be purchasing more of their material from now on. This album has really whet my appetite.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is incredible!, 19 Nov 2000
This review is from: Best of the Beast (Audio CD)
Having been purely into Punk Rock for a seemingly endless ammount of time, I expanded my horizons with Black Sabbath, Metallica and with this album - Iron Maiden. Needless to say, they are amazing! Their music is exhilerating and melodic whilst their lyrics and choice of subject matter are quite frankly amazing. Undoubtedly (for me) the best track here is 'The number of the beast', and is probably my favourite song ever. Forget image, forget style - Iron Maiden are truly the best band ever, simply for their music (and sense of humour ;)). After 20 years, this music remains ageless - unlike all the 'mainstream' bands out there. If you like Punk, Metal or Heavy rock, I gurantee you'll love this album. Buy it now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Truth!, 20 Jun 2003
By 
This review is from: Best Of The Beast (Audio CD)
Well, now it would seem this is an earlier version of "Edward The Great" what do i think of it, well in my opnion it is really good but, not as good as it could have been. It does have some brilliant songs, no question about it but, after buying a got myself a cop of the special edition and it has 27 tracks instead of 16 so you could do better with that, but there we go, if not why not buy "Edward The Great"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Maiden Fans Alert!!!!, 27 May 2011
This review is from: Best of the Beast (Audio CD)
This album is an absolute MUST HAVE for any maiden fan, even the ones that have every other Iron Maiden album. This album contains a mix of Live and Studio recordings all of which you can get from purchasing the other albums except one song.

If you're still undecided then maybe the 'Virus' single that only appears on this album will help you decide. This is a Blaze Bailey recording that appears only on this album and is definetly worth a listen.

Those who are wondering how to get into Iron Maiden and are wondering which album to buy first, look no further. This 2 disc album has songs from their first album (The self titled 'Iron Maiden') right to the last Blaze album ('The X Factor') and aside from the Live/ Studio mixture, contains a lot of the mainstream songs ('The Trooper', 'Run to the Hills' and 'Hallowed Be Thy Name') and a few of the not so often heard 'album fillers' (If the term can be used for a Maiden track) such as 'Where Eagles Dare', 'Sanctuary' and 'Sign of the Cross'.

Overall, wether your looking to get into Maiden or if you are and just feel you already have all of their albums, this is a must have. Ok so their is only one 'new' song on the album but if your like me and don't have an iPod player in your car, at least then you'll have a CD to play for those long car journeys.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Iron Maiden - Best of the Beast (limited edition), 14 July 2010
By 
G. Elvin (England, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Best of the Beast (Audio CD)
This is a fantastic compilation of the best and most well known Maiden songs. This is the two CD limited edition which has almost double the number of songs as the standard edition. Maiden are one of the best live bands of all time (often besting the original album versions) and this is reflected in a selection of live tracks on this compilation. It is a must have for any Iron Maiden fan.
Graham.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Best of the Beast
Best of the Beast by Iron Maiden (Audio CD)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews