Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars simply the best!!!
i have been a simply red fan for a long time now and i can honestly say that this is one of the best albums i have ever heard. the cd kicks off with 'holding back the years' which displays hucknall's more sensitive side and the haunting melodies can be emotional to say the least. every track stands out on this album particularly 'its only love', 'stars', 'something got me...
Published on 20 April 2006 by holly richardson

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Simple but Red !
This CD is a collection of hits from Simply Red and they are very listenable. There is nothing really outstanding about them but this CD demands an occasional play. I couldn't hear them twice in a week; however on a monthly basis they are OK. Maybe the wrong shade of red to have sung Blue Moon?
Published on 16 Jun 2012 by Mr. Paul Edwards


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars simply the best!!!, 20 April 2006
By 
holly richardson "holly" (newcastle-upon-tyne, england) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
i have been a simply red fan for a long time now and i can honestly say that this is one of the best albums i have ever heard. the cd kicks off with 'holding back the years' which displays hucknall's more sensitive side and the haunting melodies can be emotional to say the least. every track stands out on this album particularly 'its only love', 'stars', 'something got me started' and 'for your babies'. if, like me, you decide to purchase this cd then you will see hucknall at his best as he displays his amazing vocal ranges. top cd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply the best., 28 May 2000
By A Customer
As ever with Simply Red, the songs come together to provide one of the most perfectly balanced albums one could wish for. From the emotion of Holding Back the Years to the uptempo Something Got Me Started, this CD should more than satisfy any fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply Excellent, 17 Jun 2004
By 
V. Ryan (London Uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
I can't say i'm a massive Simply Red fan or anything. My music taste is soul music from most eras.
But I do have the upmost respect for Mick Hucknell and his music.
This greatest hits package is a must for any music lover.
Simply Red's music is very easy to listen to, and Mr Hucknells voice is really smooth.
Some of the killer tracks on here are of course most of the album!
But from the poinent "Money's Too Tight to Mention" to the beautiful "Holding back the years", to tracks in and its already a master peice.
The infectious "Something Got Me Started" and "A New Flame" are two of my favourite simply red tracks.
"Stars" and "For Your Babies" are just classic tunes, and "Fairgorund" although it sounds a tad dated now, back in the 90's it was unique and total brillience.
As I said before, I can't say i'm a maissve Simply Red fan, but from a guy who loves music, it is easy to appreicate the output from Simply Red.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just fab, 31 Aug 2000
By A Customer
I have most of Simply Red's CD's this one however is fab. The first 3 songs in the Greatest Hits album are some of their classics, Holding back the years just takes your breath away. The neighbours will complain tomorrow, I must keep the volume down. Its great, buy it today. Angie
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of my top-10 CD's, 16 Dec 2006
By 
Bernard Smith (Somewhere, Europe) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
I have a couple of Simply Red's CD's and so it's kind of easy to buy this "best of". It is one of my all-time favourites, and as a collection it can provide listening music, dance music, and quality background music all on the same disc. Let me just name the tracks I really like: "Holding Back The Years", great dancing music with "Money's Too Tight to Mention", "A New Flame", "You've Got It", "If You Don't Know Me By Now", "Stars", and "For Your Babies". Come on - 7 top tracks out of 15 - this just cries out to be one of my top-10 CD's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Simply great!, 30 Aug 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
A must have CD for Simply Red fans. My personal faves are: 'Holding Back The Years', 'Stars', and 'For Your Babies'. 'Fairground' is also quite a catchy number. There are a couple of dull tracks though, the one that springs to mind is 'Thrill Me' which quite frankly, doesn't. Apart from that it's a good buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love it, 14 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
I had this cd before but lost it,so I brought it again, it' really is a greatest hit. Have listened to it many times
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All the hits, 9 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
I enjoyed this competitively priced best of. Well worth adding to your collection, It will take you back to teh 1980's it did for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great service., 3 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
Had overlooked getting this album for some time to replace various tape things i had previously owned. Great songs. Service was excellent and the purchased cd arrived sooner than the "expected" date. Great condition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great mix of all the favourites, 1 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
It does what it says, just all the best hits and great to listen to and relive those wonderful moments
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Greatest Hits
Greatest Hits by Simply Red (Audio CD - 1996)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews