Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars44
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£3.90+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 17 September 2006
Though this is obviously a "cheapo" release with very sparse information about the tracks and the artist, it is actually a pretty well compiled CD of some of Hardy's best early recordings.

Containing most her of biggest hits like "Ce Petite Coeur", "Tous les Garcons et les Filles", "La Maison Ou J'Ai Grandi" and her only British top 20 hit-single "All Over the World", the CD gives a fine introduction to the most melodic and catchy side of Hardy.

A few harder to find tracks have also been included, among those English versions of some of her biggest hits in France.

For those who are not familar with Hardy's Vogue recordings or who just like intelligent 1960's pop, this CD is highly recommended.

If you want more of the same there is double CD called "The Vogue Years" covering her 1962-67 period brilliantly.
0Comment|59 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 March 2004
This is the first album I reach for when the weather is cracking the pavement! It has such a warm light touch and is one of the best 'feel good' albums you could hope for. Everyone who hears it wants to go and buy a copy.
It doesn't matter in the slightest that most of the tracks are in French, whether you understand them or not, the feeling comes through. Infact, if the whole ablbum was in English it would probably be too syrupy for words.
The simplicity of the tune on Tous Les Garcons (either version on this cd)is one of those catchy numbers that will haunt you for days and you will find yourself humming it at the most embarrassing moments. Others have more depth and do bring back memories of what it was like to feel that young!
This is a great primer for the talent of Francois Hardy, and should give you the incentive to unearth some of her other recordings.
0Comment|52 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 May 2001
Arguably, this album comprises 22 of Francoise's most beautiful 1960s recordings, including a couple of English/Italian translations, just for good measure. From the pastoral 'Le Premier Bonheur Du Jour', through the playful 'Ce Petit Coeur' to the heart-wrenching 'Voila', this compilation should appeal to any fan of bitter-sweet (though never sickly) love songs. You don't even need to understand French - her voice says it all!
0Comment|53 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 March 2006
I hadn't heard of Francoise Hardy before buying this cd from Amazon.Now I'm surprised everyone hasn't heard of her!Her voice is beautiful and haunting.Memorable lyrics too, such as:
"Ma jeunesse fout le camp" - my youth went away,"Il n'y a pas d'amour heureux" there is no love that's lucky," "J'ai jete
mon coeur" - I threw away my heart " and the lively "Parlami di te" tell me about yourself.This song in Italian shows the quality of Hardy's voice better than any other.I still listen to
the Chansons d'Amour cd two years after buying it.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 November 2008
I'm surprised this has got such superb reviews and bought it on the strength of these.

I've previously bought Messages Personnels and Comment Te Dire Adieu which have some of the tracks from this album and whilst they're still good on this album, I find them much harsher recordings of the songs. If I'd heard this album first, perhaps I'd have given it 4 or 5 stars too, but having listened to the other recordings of these tracks, I haven't ended up listening to this album beyond the first few attempts. I wouldnn't give it less than 3 stars as it's still a good album, just a disappointing recording of the songs. If you're considering buying this, it may be worth comparing tracks from the other albums in somewhere like HMV where you can hear them both before buying.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 January 2004
The perfect music to listen to in an empty beachfront cafe near Bayonne and dream of your first kiss with a french girl who perhaps looks a little like Francoise. A beautiful woman and a gentle, naive voice to watch the clouds roll across the sea with.
Whats it all sound like? Well I bet Belle and Sebastien listened to her.
If Nick Drake had met her he would still be writing love songs.
My fave to get down to is Le Temps De L'amour : still gets me wanting to twist.
Sounds like early Cliff and Hank Marvin.
Overall she should have won the Eurovision Song Contest throughout the sixties and been made the official symbol of France.
0Comment|23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 September 2012
So, I'm reliving that cycle tour of North Normandy, listening to Richard Anthony - and a new star, Francoise Hardy - on a crackling portable, as we progressed to Mont St Michel, in 1963.....and - having (now) purchased Francoise, singing in English the superb album, 'If You Listen', I just had to have The Love Songs, in French.
This must be one of best 'bargain' albums anywhere, for it is packed with the successful 'Tous les Garcons.....' as well as all manner of delicious offerings.....and here is the voice, that can make you smile or shed tears in equal measure, folded into wonderful arrangements....
Included are the French version of 'If We are only Friends', the collection topped off by 'All Over The World' the original hit in English....all so magnificent....just beautiful !
If you don't have it - for goodness sake, do yourself a big favour....buy it...
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 June 2011
My husband has been carrying around an old tatty cassette of Francoise Hardy for over twenty years, but did not know her name. He played it in the car - with many crackles!! as it was a home recorded version. I heard the interview of Francoise on Radio 4 and realised i now had a name to the voice.I Looked on Amazon and found a large selection of her CDs. This one I bought for his Birthday and it is excellent. No more crackley old cassette.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Francois Hardy sings with the majestic beauty of a canary trapped in a cage. 60's french chansons sound bitter sweet and never treacle in the language d'amour. The cadences of french just pour themselves to a sunlight lilt through a soft focus filter of freshly squeezed oranges served with warm succulent croissants.

Along with Brigitte, Francois' magic is in invocation, a time that never existed except in the minds of Jean Luc Goddard and the french new wave where art and imagination turned over the slabs to uncover the beach.

So get out onto the street and when the industrial jackhamer has ceased and torn away the grey concrete, get the deckchairs out, the hamper and the refreshments. Then sit back, watch the clouds scuddle across the clear blue sky, listening to the velvet dulcet tones of Francois whilst your mind skips across hand in hand in the sand.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I first heard Francoise Hardy more years ago than I care to remember and loved the sound of her voice.
This CD contains a wealth of pretty french songs and no matter if you can understand the French language or not, it will not spoil the pleasure that this CD brings. You do not need to know the words to appreciate the music and the feeling that Francoise puts into her singing.
It is a very easy to listen to collection that is timeless. Good music lasts.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£5.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)