Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Passionate & Accessable, 5 Sept. 2003
By 
David Cranson (Birmingham, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Fire Garden (Audio CD)
Vai's most accessable album to date. With - apart from one exception - one half singing, one half instrumental. Favourites include the the wonderful 'Crying Machine' (makes you wonder why he insists on going SO leftfield when he can come up with something as stupendous as this(!)); 'Mysterious Murder . . .'; & the wonderful title track(s); Of the singing side 'Brother' is brillliant, along with 'Damn You', 'Aching Hunger' & 'When I Was . . .' (which is so daft that I sat with my mouth open listening to it the first time I heard it!). The closer, 'Warm Regards' just rounds things off nicely. Actually the whole thing doesn't have a bad track on it - even the 'interludes'. IT's Vai's feelgood album.
Just when Satch was going all weird & electronic Vai decided to come up with this(!) It's a funny ol' world, indeed . . .
If you have avoided Steve Vai because you think he's too weird - and he is weird(!) - then take a chance and have a go at this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Genius, pure and not so simple!, 16 Jan. 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Fire Garden (Audio CD)
This album contains some of the best guitar tones ever recorded and anyone serious about playing modern rock guitar music should do themsleves a favour and buy this. It kicks off with the Satriani-esque There's a fire in the house. It's a great song to wake you up in the morning! Phase 1 contains many different musical styles, ranging from melodic rock to hard rock to uncomprimising industrial, the list goes on. Phase 1 ends with the mammoth Fire Garden Suite which manages to cram all these musical styles into a 10 minute masterpiece which i'm sure would even leave frank zappa scratching his head. Phase 2 shows that Vai can write some cool ass riffs and lyrics and not just blistering guitar instrumentals. The album is structured in an unusual way to begin with but after the Fire Garden Suite, Vai seems to let you down slowy until the final song, Warm Regards. The song has a mysterious christmas feel which make you feel warm and cozy and is a fantastic way to end an album which is quite hectic in places. Overall this is a very unique album from a very unique musician. Even if you aren't a guitarist i would still reccomend it if you like great music!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This album is required to understand how good Vai is...., 24 Oct. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Fire Garden (Audio CD)
......no really! I don't understand what people don't like about 'Fire Garden'. I still can't decide which album i like best - this or 'Passion And Warfare'.
Phase 1 from the bomb-track 'There's a Fire in the House' to the end of the 'Fire Garden Suite' is almost wordless, which is good, because we need to listen to how great the guitar playing is. Phase 2, from 'Deepness'/'Little Alligator', right through to the end of 'Warm regards'* is much better than some people make it out to be. 'Aching Hunger' 'Damn You' and 'Genocide' (all in phase 2) are all hugely pleasurable to play with, so anybody who likes playing, and likes good technical guitar music, will love this album.
* 'Warm regards' - highly under-rated as one of the worlds most beautiful, emotive pieces of music. It is the only possible way to end this epic album: Another like 'There's a Fire in the House' would have left us wanting it to never end, and the album would have been a little disappointing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This is the Vai Album you need, 9 Jan. 2013
By 
This review is from: Fire Garden (Audio CD)
Basically, Vai CDs started off weird, got awesome, got weird, starting to get back to normal.
This is smack bang in the phase where his playing was at the top of his game, his musicality was unreal (he must have though carefully about ever one of the 10000000000 notes in this CD), and he held back from musical schitzoid embolisms and too many weird noises.

This is an album of beautiful and moving songs, it really is the best - always got time for this.
You hear people raging about passion and warfare (it's very very good) but it's like saying "more than words is the best extreme song" because it's the only one people know.

This is the album that got away, the one that people missed, the hidden treasure.
Thanks me later.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Vai with All the Unpredictable Twists!, 14 Jan. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Fire Garden (Audio CD)
This is in the same sort of vain as Passion & Warfare. Complex, orchestrated tracks, with brilliant playing. It opens with "There's a Fire in the House" and it captures all the urgency of someone running around in a blazing house! Cryin' Machine is a little like Santana, and Dying Day is beautifully sweet with its altered tunings and sentimental playing. It suggests a conversation between a boy and his dying father. "Hand on Heart"is another beautifuly constructed piece of music which always brings a tear to my eyes."The Fire Garden Sweet"is not for the faint hearted but it's worth trying to get your head round. Part 2 of the album features some of Vai's songs. He underwent some special training to improve his voice and his singing is really quite good-clean and precise as opposed to "rawk"! "All About Eve" is wonderful with it's lydian sound giving it an otherworldly atmosphere. I also love "Brother" but then I'm a sentimantalist! Again, this is a superb Vai album. The singing on part two may not be to everyones taste, but the instrumental part one alone makes this CD worth buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Had no idea what i was going to expect, 25 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fire Garden (Audio CD)
Had no idea what i was going to expect when i ordered this on a Wednesday evening. Music is my life and i love listening to music, and there's nothing better than the thrill of hearing new great music for the first time. So i took a gamble with this after hearing Of Steve Vai as an amazing guitarist. After the 3rd song i started to write this review, definitely worth the money. Totally brilliant music and a great surprise!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A fantastic album!!!, 18 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fire Garden (Audio CD)
I have to say that this is one of my favourite Vai albums. It contains songs such as the crying machine, fire garden suite and all about eve. This album is split into two parts- one part instrumental and the other part vocal. Some people aren't a fan of Steve's voice but I think it suits this style brilliantly. I would recommend this album to anyone, not just fans of Steve.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A perfect album for any Vai fan, or anyone getting into him, 14 Dec. 2005
This review is from: Fire Garden (Audio CD)
If you're new to Steve Vai, you probably won't know that he is perhaps the greatest guitarist in the world. The speed at which he plays is mind-boggling, mesmerising and completely insane at the best of times. This CD contains some absolutely amazing songs at a pretty good price! The first half of the album (Phase One) is all instrumental, and the second half (Phase Two) is all singing apart from the last track 'Warm Regards' (which is a fantastic track to finish off the album).
Of Phase One, 'Mysterious Murder Of Christian Tiera's Lover' and 'Fire Garden Suite' are perhaps the best tracks, and Phase Two's greatest 'Brother' and 'Damn You'. 'When I Was A Little Boy' is insane - you really do need to hear it to believe it...
A perfect album for any Vai fan, or anyone getting into him, or even just a fan of guitars! If you can appreciate good music, then buy this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential to own, if only for "The Crying Machine"., 9 July 2001
This review is from: Fire Garden (Audio CD)
Fire Garden was Steve Vai's proper follow up to his classic "Passion and "Warfare" and probably not quite as good overall. It does however represent significant growth for him as a musician and composer. And it's got "Crying Machine" on it (more on that later), which makes it indisposable.
The album kicks off with a series of crashes and a siren going off warning appropriately enough that "There's a fire in the house" (track 1), and that there's some smouldering lead work to come.
Almost too early on though, we're delivered "Crying machine", the album's (and Vai's) finest moment. The staccato E augmented 9th chord hammers the start of the track home, and we're straight into one of Vai's strongest melody hooks, bouyed along perfectly with a Cry baby wah-wah effect (presumably the source of the tracks title) and heaps of sustain, and under-pinned by a fabulous slap bass riff courtesy of Stuart Hamm.
This track is HUGE. It's got at least 3 distinctive sections to it: The main theme, the heavy augmented 9th chord based part and the soft broken down section. All are delicious, but Steve does save the best till last, with a series of question/response breaks over the main theme that takes us to a fade out. Steve is simply on fire and all over the neck. Again, fire the editor, Steve's still screwing fantastic stuff out by the time the track's gone silent; we want more, more, more!
The album continues with more classic Vai and all the unpredictable (but expected) twists: There's the beautifully sweet altered tunings of "Dying Day", the religious overtones of "Whookam", and the complex and demanding title track, but the 2nd guitar highlight has to be "Hand on Heart". This is a close second to the phenomenal "For the love of God" ballad stlye track that we've come to know is always number 7 on a Steve Vai album. Superb playing charged with pure emotion.
Part 2 of the album is by contrast is a disappointing and rather fragmented affair, featuring "proper songs". I'd single out "All About Eve", "Brother" and "Warm regards" as highlights, and the training he had on his voice shows. But if you think of this as bunce on top of the 1st CD, then that takes nothing away from the awesome achievment that "Fire Garden" is. Would be essential to own, even if it only had one track on it: "The Crying Machine".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Guitarist, 16 Dec. 2012
By 
Peter Mayhew "Pete Mayhew" (Wolverhampton) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fire Garden (Audio CD)
Steve Vai is one of the greats and this is another brilliant album. I just enjoy the sounds of wailing guitars and Steve Vai is one of the greats who can certainly satisfy my needs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Fire Garden
Fire Garden by Steve Vai (Audio CD - 1999)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews