Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars By no means trash.
I've had this cd since its first release in 1996 and i have to say its still a great piece of work, very uplifting. Every album seems in some way to be different, with Coming Up i thought this was the pinnacle of their efforts, everyone will have a favourite suede cd but i must say this is my favourite out of the lot and i own them all, and still 10 years on (from...
Published on 2 Feb 2006 by Amazon Customer

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Coming Up
Is there a singer with a more distinctive voice than Brett Anderson? This was the album that really brought Suede back to the attention of the UK public. As part of a generation that was not fully aware of this group, I am so very grateful that this album was released.
The first track is Trash, a song that is as identifiable as they come, and for me any song that...
Published on 18 Jun 2004 by S. I. Holmes


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars By no means trash., 2 Feb 2006
I've had this cd since its first release in 1996 and i have to say its still a great piece of work, very uplifting. Every album seems in some way to be different, with Coming Up i thought this was the pinnacle of their efforts, everyone will have a favourite suede cd but i must say this is my favourite out of the lot and i own them all, and still 10 years on (from first release) i still listen to them, this cd keeps finding its way back on the stereo or pc.
This cd is well worth the money and time to listen to and is in my opinion a classic.
A+++
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 29 Jun 2005
By A Customer
Coming Up is a wonderful album. If you love great, guitar driven pop, buy it. Despite the 'critical consensus' that Suede were rubbish once Bernard Butler left, this album is very good and it is unsurprising that it was Suede's most successful (commercially speaking) album. It is worth buying just for the Beautiful Ones, let alone the delicate piano-driven By the Sea and the wonderful Trash.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Suave, elegant and oh so trashy!, 16 Sep 2001
This review is from: Coming Up (Audio CD)
The gaudy neon chic of the album cover is highly evocative of the immaculate and polished songs that make their appearance on Suede's third album 'Coming up', and most notably their first album in the absence of Bernard Butler. This is an album that is frequently under rated in favour of its two predecessors, a judgement which is in my opinion slightly unfair. This is an excellent album that contains some real anthemic songs such as 'Trash', 'Filmstar', 'She' and 'Beautiful Ones'. Whilst this album is more 'Pop' than other Suede albums, the band remain true to their origins singing about low-rent glamour in an urban world. One of the best albums to be generated from the 'Britpop' phenomenon, and a necessity to any indie fans cd collection!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Suede's glorious return retains its artificial greatness, 18 Aug 2001
By 
This review is from: Coming Up (Audio CD)
This contains many of the best Suede tracks. I remember going to see them in Poole (Oakes' hometown gig) early in 1997 and it remains one of the best gigs I have seen due to the strength of the new material. The record is Suede uncomplicating their sound and reinventing their muse and thus sounding ace. Being a short album all of the tracks are very significant and it is the most immediate of all their work. 'Trash' is classic Suede and, although Butler criticized the song, is tremendously uplifting in an apathetic manner. 'The Chemistry Between Us' is superb, hinting at both decadent love and schooldaze innocence owing to cleverly worded lyrics. The guitar, bass and drums are consistently vibrant and imaginative and Brett's voice is distinctive as ever. A triumph.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bernard who ?, 6 Oct 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Coming Up (Audio CD)
Since its release this has been one of the albums that I have played again and again. It is so listenable and has great, catchy tunes on there.
Not as deep and dark as the first albums, but all the better for it in my opinion.
In my university years everyone seemed to have this CD and they all liked it :)
A must for any decent music collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Coming Up, 18 Jun 2004
This review is from: Coming Up (Audio CD)
Is there a singer with a more distinctive voice than Brett Anderson? This was the album that really brought Suede back to the attention of the UK public. As part of a generation that was not fully aware of this group, I am so very grateful that this album was released.
The first track is Trash, a song that is as identifiable as they come, and for me any song that contains the word 'kookiness' without trying too hard must be a winner, the vocals are superb whilst the lyrics perhaps have a hidden meaning, but are very poppy and catchy. This is continued with the next song 'Filmstar'; another offering that showcases Anderson's wonderfully different and compelling voice.
The highlight of the album has to be the relaxed and distinctive 'By The Sea', a very different sound to most of the tracks on this album, but just as recognisable as being Suede, and I would be surprised if anybody hated this song - a great track.
The other songs worth mentioning are the uplifting 'Beautiful Ones', again made into a great song with the vocals, but upon listening to the lyrics it can be perceived as quite a dark song - that was my understanding anyway. It was released, and unquestionably a hit for the group - and perhaps the anthem of this album. Whilst 'Picnic by the Motorway' again shows a different perspective of the group and is unconventional, a brilliant track.
A brilliant album to re-introduce this group to a new audience, never have I been so impressed to buy a back catalogue based on one album - but this did it for me. Superb.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bouncing back with Coming Up, 11 Oct 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Coming Up (Audio CD)
A fantastic return to form from a fantastic band! With this album, Suede proved all their detractors wrong and simply blew away the critics by producing ten of the best rock/pop tracks for years. The singles from the album speak for themselves - the glorious, dewy-eyed 'Trash', the melancholy 'Saturday Night', the glam-tastic 'Film Star' and the utterly unmatched 'Beautiful Ones' - with tracks like these, the album almost sounds like a Best Of.
Lyrically, Brett reaches a peak here, culminating in the superb poetry of 'Beautiful Ones' ('cracked up, stacked up, twenty-two, psycho for sex and glue, lost it to Bostik') in which all the images and ideas of the last two albums are perfectly sharpened and distilled.
Coming Up also showcases the musical ability of nineteen-year-old Richard Oakes, who coolly brushes aside the guitar-hero posturing of Bernard Butler to bring about a tighter, pared-down sound focusing on songs rather than solos and injecting the band with a new energy.
Never has a band faced such adversity and bounced back so convincingly. Suede are heroes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Here They Come......, 27 Jun 2008
By 
KPA Lowe (Nottingham) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Coming Up (Audio CD)
Even though Bernard Butler had left the band, Suede were at their peak here, and this is arguably their best album. Every single track is just brilliant in its own right. In fact, it sounds almost like it could be a `best of...' collection. Indeed, all five singles released from this record, `Trash', `Beautiful Ones', `Saturday Night', `Lazy', and `Filmstar', were top ten hits. It may not quite have the inventiveness and originality of `Dog Man Star', but Suede's unique and addictive sound is at its absolute best here. The wonderful strong melodic construction, the distinctiveness of Brett Anderson's vocal timbre, and the intricately ironic observations of everyday life make Suede, and this record, great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars pure pop perfection, 17 Dec 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Coming Up (Audio CD)
suede were written of after bernard butler left, but came back to silence the doubters with coming up.this is their most commercial album with all five singles going top ten.the rest of the songs on the album could also have been singles such is the quality.trash is obviously the standout - one of the great pop songs of the nineties - when i think about 1996 ,trash along with the spice girl's wannabe really take me back to that year, and was the song that made suede a worldwide success.saturday night closes the album and is a stunning ballad what suede do best, and is up their with the wild ones and the next life.suede would never make decent album again but what a high to go out on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Third Album, 21 Jan 2004
This review is from: Coming Up (Audio CD)
After the departure of guitarist Bernard Butler, everybody feared about the future of Suede because he was seen as the driving force behind the band. And when Brett Anderson decided to hire 17 year old Richard Oakes people began to worry even more! But they needed not worry since this album is a brilliant POP album - it's fuzzy guitar lines and has Suede's unique signature sound within some really well written songs with catchy hooks. Probably Suede's last commerically successful album.......shame.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Coming Up
Coming Up by Suede (Audio CD - 1996)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews