Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars By no means trash.
I've had this cd since its first release in 1996 and i have to say its still a great piece of work, very uplifting. Every album seems in some way to be different, with Coming Up i thought this was the pinnacle of their efforts, everyone will have a favourite suede cd but i must say this is my favourite out of the lot and i own them all, and still 10 years on (from...
Published on 2 Feb 2006 by Amazon Customer

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Coming Up
Is there a singer with a more distinctive voice than Brett Anderson? This was the album that really brought Suede back to the attention of the UK public. As part of a generation that was not fully aware of this group, I am so very grateful that this album was released.
The first track is Trash, a song that is as identifiable as they come, and for me any song that...
Published on 18 Jun 2004 by S. I. Holmes


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars By no means trash., 2 Feb 2006
I've had this cd since its first release in 1996 and i have to say its still a great piece of work, very uplifting. Every album seems in some way to be different, with Coming Up i thought this was the pinnacle of their efforts, everyone will have a favourite suede cd but i must say this is my favourite out of the lot and i own them all, and still 10 years on (from first release) i still listen to them, this cd keeps finding its way back on the stereo or pc.
This cd is well worth the money and time to listen to and is in my opinion a classic.
A+++
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 29 Jun 2005
By A Customer
Coming Up is a wonderful album. If you love great, guitar driven pop, buy it. Despite the 'critical consensus' that Suede were rubbish once Bernard Butler left, this album is very good and it is unsurprising that it was Suede's most successful (commercially speaking) album. It is worth buying just for the Beautiful Ones, let alone the delicate piano-driven By the Sea and the wonderful Trash.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Suave, elegant and oh so trashy!, 16 Sep 2001
This review is from: Coming Up (Audio CD)
The gaudy neon chic of the album cover is highly evocative of the immaculate and polished songs that make their appearance on Suede's third album 'Coming up', and most notably their first album in the absence of Bernard Butler. This is an album that is frequently under rated in favour of its two predecessors, a judgement which is in my opinion slightly unfair. This is an excellent album that contains some real anthemic songs such as 'Trash', 'Filmstar', 'She' and 'Beautiful Ones'. Whilst this album is more 'Pop' than other Suede albums, the band remain true to their origins singing about low-rent glamour in an urban world. One of the best albums to be generated from the 'Britpop' phenomenon, and a necessity to any indie fans cd collection!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Suede's glorious return retains its artificial greatness, 18 Aug 2001
By 
This review is from: Coming Up (Audio CD)
This contains many of the best Suede tracks. I remember going to see them in Poole (Oakes' hometown gig) early in 1997 and it remains one of the best gigs I have seen due to the strength of the new material. The record is Suede uncomplicating their sound and reinventing their muse and thus sounding ace. Being a short album all of the tracks are very significant and it is the most immediate of all their work. 'Trash' is classic Suede and, although Butler criticized the song, is tremendously uplifting in an apathetic manner. 'The Chemistry Between Us' is superb, hinting at both decadent love and schooldaze innocence owing to cleverly worded lyrics. The guitar, bass and drums are consistently vibrant and imaginative and Brett's voice is distinctive as ever. A triumph.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bernard who ?, 6 Oct 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Coming Up (Audio CD)
Since its release this has been one of the albums that I have played again and again. It is so listenable and has great, catchy tunes on there.
Not as deep and dark as the first albums, but all the better for it in my opinion.
In my university years everyone seemed to have this CD and they all liked it :)
A must for any decent music collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Up, Up And Away, 14 Jun 2011
By 
octophone (Glasgow, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Coming Up (Audio CD)
Despite the brilliance of "Dog Man Star", Suede all but disappeared from the cultural map within a few months of its release. By mid-1995, the Blur/Oasis face-off had become the subject of the Six O'Clock News and Britpop had become Dadrock - dull, wilfully unoriginal and, with its inherent blokey aggression, wholly unedifying. Suede, meanwhile, found themselves co-headlining the short-lived Phoenix Festival with an incoherent Bob Dylan on a disused airstrip in the pouring rain. It didn't look good.

Which made "Coming Up" all the sweeter when it arrived in September 1996. Whether it was a response to the slate-grey cod-anthems of Cast, Ocean Colour Scene et al or otherwise doesn't matter because the decision to go all out and make a noon-bright pop album was a brilliant one, both commercially and strategically. Having picked up Neil Codling by a weird kind of osmosis, they set about the task with a confidence their new material absolutely justified. The early signs for Richard Oakes were mixed but "Together" - issued alongside "New Generation" - showed some real promise despite its empty, rushed production (producer Ed Buller later revealed that the group had planned to re-record it for "Coming Up"). He co-writes six of the 10 songs on the original album including 4 of its 5 singles - opening salvo "Trash" and follow up single "Beautiful Ones" were both highly astute (Anderson addressing - and therefore rallying - his audience) and addictively catchy - Oakes's signature riff for "Beautiful Ones" remains one of their most recognisable and most popular. Oakes also contributed to the T-Rexian glam stomp of "Filmstar", the dreamy "Saturday Night" and "Picnic By The Motorway" which is the audio equivalent of dilated pupils as well as being the absorbing piece here. Codling gets in with the blissful swoon of "The Chemistry Between Us" and Anderson provides the sweetly romantic sob of "By The Sea" unassisted. As it turned out Suede Mark II arrived at the peak of their game but then, they *had* to; after being written off, there was no room for error and the sense of purpose is audible throughout.

Like the other reissues in this series, non-album material is duly swept up and the "DMS" b-sides co-written by Oakes are here as well as almost all the bonus tracks from the "CU" singles - multi-format marketing was as good as mandatory in 1996 so there is actually too many of these to fit on one disc. They start brilliantly; it's actually tempting to fantasise about a Suede album that found room for the darkly twisting "Have You Ever Been This Low?" and the crawling synths of "Europe Is Our Playground", the latter of which appears in its superior original version rather than the syrupy re-recording from "Sci-Fi Lullabies". On the other paw, it's actually a relief that a few minutes have been cut from "Feel", for example. The previously unheard demos reveal little except that several songs began life at a much slower pace than the finished versions, suggesting that the writing process was well underway before the decision to head for a day-glo pop sound. The DVD contains an anachronistic "DMS" era live show but otherwise covers the single videos, some well-shot live footage from late 1996 (featuring Neil Tennant on a couple of songs) and an interview with Anderson, Oakes and Codling. All in, a first class package.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 5 stars is not enough!, 14 Jun 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Coming Up (Audio CD)
Too much is said of Suede with Butler, Suede without Butler and this can eclipse what the actual emphasis should be on; the music. To put it shortly, this is a post Bernard Butler Suede album, but it certainly is not the worse for it. This is an iconic record, from the sleeve art to the last note of music. It has always been one of my favourite albums ever (which I class alongside Bowie, The Rolling Stones, The Beatles), and it has just got even better with a bombardment of extras and b-sides that litterally leaves the discs almost groaning (in pleasure!).

The actualy remaster here, unlike the first two albums, sounds utterly fantastic. The sound is noticeably crisper and sounds fresh and sparkly - as is the songwriting. Initially, I thought it was a bit odd that 'Together', 'Asda Town' and 'The Bentswood Boys' being b-sides from some of the Dog Man Star singles, but I can see why they have been included here. 'Together' in particular is a wonderful song, now better than ever, which acts like a blueprint for this album. Listening with hindsight, rumours that this was considered at one point for re-recording and inclusion of the album proper could've been a more satisfying track than the album's weak point 'Starcrazy', but 'Coming Up' is such a fun, thrilling record that dwelling on flaws seems distinctly against the mood it brings on.

In a commerical sense this was their most successful album, containing no less than five top ten singles. Stylistically, this is a purer pop vein along the lines of classic T.Rex which some may find dissapointing after the granduer of Dog Man Star. Personally I find it a relief, as the album is not lacking in beauty or fragile moments, and unlike Dog Man Star it does not come across as pompous or stuffy. 'Picnic By the Motorway', 'By the Sea' and 'The Chemistry Between Us' are as louche and beautiful as any earlier Suede ballad, while the up tempo songs abound. Creativity was so high at the time, or perhaps the CD1/CD2 demand for b-sides, that this package is almost overflowing with great songs. Arguably, a lot of real gems were relegated to b-sides as they did not fit the "up" good mood of the record. So, things like the wonderfully cold synth epic of 'Europe is Our Playground' or the wonderous tinkling of 'This Time' didn't make the final cut. Thankfully, they are now given their very own disc alongside a plethora of other top notch songs.

The Demos, unlike theh Butler era, offering some very interesting insight - in many cases being radically different from the final versions. The sing-a-long riff of 'Beautiful Ones' is nowhere to be heard on the slower acoustic demo, and likewise 'Pisspot', an early incarnation of 'Trash' has a completely different draft of lyrics and a warmer sound. The b-sides towards the end of the campaign didn't quite keep the quality control up, so things like 'Duchess', while being pleasant, come across as filler. That said, one has to bear in mind here that the band prior to this release were only expected to provide 2 b-sides per release, as opposed to double that amount.

All in all, a superb reissue, with bonus DVD of concerts, interviews and videos. Literally hours of entertainment for a bargain price. Sure, the packaging is a little on the cheap side - the carboard spine will probably be cracked - but ultimately in this download age, I can see why the record label have cut costs to make so much material available at a great price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Here They Come......, 27 Jun 2008
By 
KPA Lowe (Nottingham) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Coming Up (Audio CD)
Even though Bernard Butler had left the band, Suede were at their peak here, and this is arguably their best album. Every single track is just brilliant in its own right. In fact, it sounds almost like it could be a `best of...' collection. Indeed, all five singles released from this record, `Trash', `Beautiful Ones', `Saturday Night', `Lazy', and `Filmstar', were top ten hits. It may not quite have the inventiveness and originality of `Dog Man Star', but Suede's unique and addictive sound is at its absolute best here. The wonderful strong melodic construction, the distinctiveness of Brett Anderson's vocal timbre, and the intricately ironic observations of everyday life make Suede, and this record, great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect Power Pop, 10 Oct 2007
This review is from: Coming Up (Audio CD)
Quite simply, this is one of the most perfect power-pop records of all time.

Suede emerged from their post Bernard Butler period with this amazing collection of songs that include the huge hit single "Trash" and the enduring ballad "By The Sea".

Suede are the lost jewel in the brit-pop crown and this album shows why!

Brett, hope thats OK? send cheque to the usual address lol martinrlow@aol.com
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars pure pop perfection, 17 Dec 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Coming Up (Audio CD)
suede were written of after bernard butler left, but came back to silence the doubters with coming up.this is their most commercial album with all five singles going top ten.the rest of the songs on the album could also have been singles such is the quality.trash is obviously the standout - one of the great pop songs of the nineties - when i think about 1996 ,trash along with the spice girl's wannabe really take me back to that year, and was the song that made suede a worldwide success.saturday night closes the album and is a stunning ballad what suede do best, and is up their with the wild ones and the next life.suede would never make decent album again but what a high to go out on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Coming Up
Coming Up by Suede (Audio CD - 1996)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews