Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AN AWESOME RETURN TO FORM!
After "Eliminator" and "Afterburner", the two albums released in the mid-1980s that finally established ZZ Top on a global level, the band possibly took the clinical production values of that era a little too far in releasing the two albums that followed: "Recycler" and (to a lesser extent) "Antenna" suffered from sounding too...
Published on 26 Sep 2001 by EG

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad,but not good
I bought this album on the strength of some of the reviews. It's ok but when it's compared to Tres Hombre or the studio side of Fandango,I don't think it's anywhere near as good. After several plays none of the tracks has 'stuck with me'. Still I'll keep with it.
Published on 14 Jun 2010 by Zulu 24


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AN AWESOME RETURN TO FORM!, 26 Sep 2001
By 
EG "EG" (Norfolk, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Rhythmeen (Audio CD)
After "Eliminator" and "Afterburner", the two albums released in the mid-1980s that finally established ZZ Top on a global level, the band possibly took the clinical production values of that era a little too far in releasing the two albums that followed: "Recycler" and (to a lesser extent) "Antenna" suffered from sounding too over-produced and electronic, not to mention being a million "multi-track" miles from the band's original stripped down bar-blues sound. The release of "Rhythmeen", however, has seen ZZ Top come full circle, and represents an awesome return to form. Perhaps eschewing chart based ambitions, the album has a resolutely low-fi but BIG feedback-ridden sound that gives a live feel to the proceedings, especially the heavy-fuzzy-voodoo-low-down-and-dirty sound that emanates from Billy Gibbons' guitar. The songs are all of obvious quality, without exception - not a case of an couple of obvious singles augmented with some other lesser quality songs that make up the numbers - this is an album to be heard in its' entireity. Standout tracks include the menacing title track "Rhythmeen", the catchy "What's Up With That", the distinctly sinister and brooding "Vincent Price Blues", and the stomping riff-laden "She's Just Killing Me" (which was also a shrewd choice for the soundtrack to the vampire flick "Dusk till Dawn").
Best of all, though, is the incredibly gruff "Humbucking Part II" in which Gibbons' voice almost becomes a rhythm instrument itself.
All this packaged in an excellent Voodoo style cd-inlay that puts the seal on a release that rates with their best releases - a list that (in my humble opinion) is headed by "Tres Hombres" (Incidentally, for the English people amongst us, does this mean "Three Geezers"?!) and "Deguello". But then I'm getting into another reveiw there, huh? Suffice to say: Buy it, enjoy it, and then go and check out some material by the UK's equivalent band, namely: Dr Feelgood.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Low, mean, nasty and oh so sweet!, 3 Jun 2005
By 
Philip Kane "the_amazing_Phil" (Luton, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rhythmeen (Audio CD)
This is the meanest lowest snarling album I've heard from ZZ Top. It's fantastic low down n' dirty texas style blues rock! When I put this album on the lawn turned brown, the cat over the road had a heart attack and my neighbour's hair turned white.
Billy Gibbons never dissapoints, Humbucking pt II, Prettyhead and Vincent Price Blues are my favourite tracks, but the guitar writing and song writing is superb throughout, and this band is unbelievably tight, there's tight bands, but this band is like a well oiled (oil from texas!) machine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Chunky, barely liquid, bottom-of-the-engine sludge......, 12 Feb 2006
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rhythmeen (Audio CD)
....I mean that in a good way. This is a true return to form.
In 1996, long after their 80s MTV nadir, ZZ Top ditched the gloss and the synthesizers to record a back-to-basics, no BS rock album. The result is Rhythmeen, one of the best albums of ZZ Top's career. After seeing the pop-friendly monstrosity that they became in the mid 80s (Afterburner?! Ick.....), Rhythmeen is a breath of fresh air and a reminder of what a great rock band ZZ Top is. Billy Gibbons cranks the amp way up and incorporates various distortion effects to produce Top's heaviest, hardest rocking album ever. Billy's guitar rules the show, his riffs and solos are spectacular and there are several tracks that are totally memorable. "Bang Bang" and "She's Just Killing Me" could have been rock radio hits.
If you like ZZ Top's earlier material (Rio Grande Mud, Tres Hombres) then you must check out Rhythmeen. It's not quite as bluesy as that earlier material; this is more hard rock than anything, and some of the songs are not far from Black Sabbath-style heavy metal. Rhythmeen is a must-own for fans of bluesy hard rock. This is the loudest album ZZ Top has ever made and probably ever will make and it will truly rock your nuts off.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Low Down and Dirty, 6 Jun 2003
By 
David Cranson (Birmingham, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rhythmeen (Audio CD)
To many this came as a surprise. Not what was expected at all. The 4 albums from Eliminator onwards basically covered the same ground musically. They were what was expected and did the job well. Then we get Rhythmeen. It's like a slap in the face with a very dirty wet rag. They dump the synths and bring on the ol' stuff. Back to basics with added ZZ-factor.
Low vocals, almost growled instead of sung. Mid-paced with feeling dripping from every chord. From start to finish it's a refreshing - if that's the right word for this sound(!) - change/return of sound. Recommended to be listened to on a dark wild night with a wolf howlin' in the woods out the back(!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ZZ Top -Cooked down ,Rich and Sticky, 5 Oct 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Rhythmeen (Audio CD)
Never a band to stay static this album goes back to the earliest days,only this time it's loaded with serious tone.No synthesizers no samples -plug-in and GO!.Seriously downtuned guitars ,SEVEN tones to be precise, this is the Aural equivalent of Chocolate Fudge Sundae.Heavy rich and Deep. This is Tres Hombre more than Eliminator and much better for it,The humour is there in Hairdresser Mr G bemoaning the state of his locks.The insanely strange Vincent Price Blues and the thought provoking ,sex-change inspired, Zipper Job. There isn't a natural single here but there doesn't have to be this is like a book with chapters one thru twelve there is a solid consistency that makes each track unique but utterly different. Expect the unexpected and you won't be disappointed ,like the lightweight 'Legs'? then think again ...
Regards Pete
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars rrrrippper, 20 Nov 2002
By 
Daniel Dalton - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rhythmeen (Audio CD)
OK, so it's not without faults, "Hairdresser," is pants; three or four other tracks well worth listening to no moe than once every hundred years or so. but we're lucky; we come from the CD generation, and skip the dross, so we can get onto the good stuff.
There are two good things about this jobby. The first is the productioon quality. However dull and nerdy that sounds, with the volume set to stun, this baby can frighten kittens out of trees, several streets away. The opener gets one of the crispest, raspiest, sounds I can push out of the stereo, so other stuff, even moer recent and deeply produced rock, sounds fluffy ad restrained. The final track is the dirtiest, scariest stomp-swamp-rockout; with subliminal whistles, layered sounds, constant, evil, bass and eerie silence effect on conclusion. It's the sort of sound that makes you wonder if you're still in the same place you were just before. This may not all be a testimony to mssrs. Hill & Beard.
The second good thing about the album is Vincent Price. Unequivocally.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What's to be said?, 14 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rhythmeen (Audio CD)
This is Z Z Top we're talking about here.
I would think it's a case of you either love them or hate them.
I hadn't seen any reviews about this CD, and bought it as I thought the price I got it for was a good bargain.
I wasn't disappointed, 1st listen and I must give it a few more, it is brilliant and here I am finding out 17 years after its' release.
This musical addiction is costing me more each day, but what the hell.
My only dislike is that it is on Sony Music CMG, one very rich company that is know for it's stitching up of musicians and royalties etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ZZ are tops., 11 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rhythmeen (Audio CD)
Excellent usual selection of songs from ZZ. Never fails to please and a pleasure to listen to when driving along.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Classic!, 5 Aug 2013
This review is from: Rhythmeen (Audio CD)
This is 1 of my favourite albums of all time. Never get tired of hearing it! It Must be played LOUD though through really good speakers or Sennheiser headphones for maximum pleasure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars album brill, 17 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rhythmeen (Audio CD)
five star for this one brilliant.rhythmeen.eliminator.afterburn.zztop greatest hits.mescalero.all these albums are out standing
recommend them to any zztop fan great music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Rhythmeen
Rhythmeen by ZZ Top (Audio CD - 1996)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews