Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars44
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£6.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 1 September 2011
A masterwork of jazz. Whilst being traditional the album incorporates classical elements at times such as on the elegent track Body and Soul. There are a couple of samba tracks as well. The recording can seem a little dated at times and sometimes there is mild background noise on some tracks but overall the album is well worth a purchase, easily comparable with much of Miles Davis's work. At the prices it sells for, a must have. 96/100
0Comment|24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 June 2001
Here in this one album you can listen to the musical development of a sax player extraordinaire: the silky, seductive sounds of a genius. From every track on this compilation CD comes the gentleness, warmth and musicianship of a human who considered himself the world's slowest sax player. None of the raucous intensity of screaming horns here - instead savour the purity of sax, guitar and rhythm section and marvel at the depths of feeling that Paul Desmond expressed with such seeming ease. His untimely death in 1977 left an enormous hole in jazz music. Listening to this album makes us realise why it is that the hole has been impossible to fill.
11 comment|146 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2012
Just a beautiful album of well known standards played immaculately as ever by a guy who was for too long in Dave Brubeck's shadow.His wistful style was and still is unique to Modern Jazz.A sad loss at such an early age.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 November 2011
A subtle and gorgeously seductive album, with a couple of tiny and mercifully short string accompaniments that one can cheerfully forgive and forget. Otherwise, lie back, listen, and absorb at several levels. This is chamber jazz, utterly seductive, the epitome of cool, and it can be used in the best sense. It is a perfect background, it is balanced and calm, and it can quietly assert itself if you let it. A distinct tone permeates almost every note this great sax player made, and he found a perfect partner in Jim Hall. Listen with half your brain or all of it or none of it; this is mellow and charming. Five stars for sure, and buy it, and bask in the warm bath that was Desmond and Hall together. On a desert island, this will be magic. It is not, nor can it be, the music of Beethoven or Wagner, which dares to take us to very profound heights and depths. But - an important but - mellow jazz is the Blandings Castle of everyday solace in a musical form. P G Wodehouse cannot be Shakespeare, but he is perfect for a gloomy day, a day when Shakespeare is probably not the best voice to turn to. Wodehouse has broad appeal, which is not the same as saying the writing is dumb or uninspired. Desmond and Hall deserve a place in your head.
0Comment|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 February 2011
For those who like smooth jazz, and particularly Alto Sax, this Paul Desmond CD (Feeling Blue) is a very good price, for some nice, easy listening jazz to relax to. If you are a Dave Brubeck fan, you should like this.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 November 2005
Every note is a pleasure and the experience of listening to a man so at one with his music is something rarely witnessed elsewhere. Narrowly edges "A Kind of Blue" for sheer class....
0Comment|59 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 October 2011
This is a cracking cd, which I bought on impulse, along with others due to its astoundingly low price. i love Paul Desmond for his subtlty and delicacy, and this showcases it well.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2010
Although I'm more of a jazz listener, I must admit to not having heard of Paul desmond. I was persuaded to check out this album based on the previous reviews.Im so glad I bought the album. Every track is a joy to listen. Loved the guitar.
This album has reinvogorated my interest in jazz and Paul Desmond
11 comment|20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 March 2012
Having paid only £2.99 for this album, compiled from three New York sessions in the early sixties, and agreeing with other reviewers to a great extent about Mr Desmond's fluid artistry, some fine guitar playing from Jim Hall, and with a welcome nod to Gerry Mulligan, I shouldn't moan too much. Nevertheless, this is not exactly groundbreaking stuff, meriting a five-star review. Nor is it helped by Connie Kay's unimaginative percussion. The essence of modern jazz is surely creativity, not performativity? This really belongs in the Easy Listening section. And I have to issue a 'Totally Inappropriate Slushy Strings Accompaniments' (TISSA) warning here... In fact, I can't imagine playing it a second time without hovering over the ff button. There are hideous orchestral intrusions on this album, where I really felt like throwing-up. Why do arrangers do it? It should be made a capital offence! But, hey. It's what you like, right?
22 comments|30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 April 2013
paul desmond first came to my notice back in the 1950's when he was with the Gerry mulligan quartet. I was absolutely enchanted by his amazing talent as he was so beautifully lyrical & had a tone all his own. there were even times when it almost sounded as if he was playing duets with himself! simply amazing talent. so, this "feeling blue" album is a wonderful addition to my collection, as he is one of my all time favourites.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£3.76

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)