Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars They're not everyones cup of tea, i'll admit
Back in the day, the phrase "I like Sleeper" would instantly invlaidate any of your opinions on music, in the eyes of your peers. Yes, it was a savage time.
I found a tape of this when I was moving house, and it's just great. I will hold up my hands and admit there are some songs that don't measure up on this - Good luck Mr.Gorsky and Glue Eyes being the worst...
Published on 22 Jun. 2003 by Will Gibson

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A More Than Adequate Brit Pop/indie Listening..
Although Sleeper belong to a genre which is subjected to many a critism when brought up (Brit Pop if you were still wondering) -if you havent heard this album before then throw all preconceptions out the window and enjoy..
Admittidly there are some weak tracks, 'glue ears' particularly. However 'what do I do now' certainly makes up for it, and 'sale of the century'...
Published on 24 Dec. 2003 by alex846


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars They're not everyones cup of tea, i'll admit, 22 Jun. 2003
This review is from: The It Girl (Audio CD)
Back in the day, the phrase "I like Sleeper" would instantly invlaidate any of your opinions on music, in the eyes of your peers. Yes, it was a savage time.
I found a tape of this when I was moving house, and it's just great. I will hold up my hands and admit there are some songs that don't measure up on this - Good luck Mr.Gorsky and Glue Eyes being the worst offenders. Remember, even the Queen is Dead (namechecked on Dress like you Mother) had Vicar in a Tutu.
Next to these are the shining pop gems that are Sale of the Century, What do I do Know and Dress like your Mother. Crowning this is the lyrically sublime and beautifully arranged Shrinkwrapped - insomnia never sounded so good.
This album won't change your life, but it will leave you bouncing up and down, singing along in husky mockney accent. And I for one am perfectly happy with that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Under-rated, superb, era-defining LP, 24 Oct. 2007
By 
Greg Farefield-Rose (Hertfordshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The It Girl (Audio CD)
Whenever Britpop is discussed in the monthly music mags, Sleeper are usually placed firmly in the second division alongside the likes of Cast and Shed Seven. If they weren't at the right place at the right time they would never have made it seems to be the general premise. This opinion seems very harsh when this excellent album is played or re-played.

The It Girl, Sleeper's second album is a superb example of indie-pop with an added edge and bite courtesy of Louise Wener's sneery vocals and lyrics. It's no coincidence that it's one of the most frequent LPs playing in the background to the bitchy, era-defining TV series This Life.

Wener's expressive, often semi-spoken singing and angry lyrical put-downs are highly effective especially on tracks like the opener Lie Detector and Dress Like Your Mother. I could quote examples though, as with all songwriters apart from the true poets like Leonard Cohen and prime Bob Dylan, the impact of a lyric is at least half down to the musical context and delivery rather than merely the words themselves...

Aha, the musical context. As well as some fine words and vocals, The It Girl also includes some excellent tunes. In addition to the tracks already mentioned, further highlights include the hit singles Sale Of The Century, What Do I Do Now? and the Blondie influenced Statuesque. Further highpoints include the biting bounce of Feeling Peaky and coming-down closer Click...Off...Gone.

All songs on The It Girl are written entirely or co-written by Louise Wener who at the time was quite justifiably angry that critics often presumed that she, as a woman, didn't write the music. Yes Sleeper certainly had their detractors and further less understandable outbursts in the press probably didn't help Louise's cause. However, this shouldn't take any credit away from The It Girl which is a superb period-defining LP. Maybe those who placed Sleeper in Britpop's second stream should listen to it once again, ignore their prejudices and adjust the band's league position accordingly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sleeper � The It Girl, 16 July 2004
This review is from: The It Girl (Audio CD)
Sleeper were, in their heyday one of the finest Britpop bands around. Overshadowed (rather unfairly in my opinion) by Justine Frischmann's Elastica, they nonetheless produced some high quality pop tunes, and The It Girl is the perfect showcase for the band's talents.
While most of the album sticks to the upbeat, guitar-laden sound the band is mostly known for, there are also a couple of quieter, more contemplative tracks, which give Louise Wener's vocals a chance to shine. What is striking about this album is the consistent strength of the lyrics - neat, meaningful and beautifully crafted. The melodies are almost as strong, and, on listening to this album it's difficult to see why Sleeper aren't held in quite the same high esteem as Elastica, as there are some genuine indie-pop gems on this album.
How many good tracks? Eleven, out of thirteen
Best Track: A three-way tie between the fabulously shouty-ranty Factor 41, the gorgeously melancholic Shrinkwrapped, and singalong favourite What do I Do Now?
Worst Track: Compared to the rest of the album Good Luck Mr Gorsky stands out as not really being up to scratch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Britpop at it's best!, 1 July 2007
This review is from: The It Girl (Audio CD)
I'd recommend this album to anyone and everyone! Some catchy tunes and excellent lyrics, it's by far the best of Sleepers 3 albums. What Do I Do Now? is one of my favourite songs

I was surprised when reading a couple of the other reviews that people think there are only a few good songs on the album and lots of 'fillers'; it's one of the few albums which I think every single song is great!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A More Than Adequate Brit Pop/indie Listening.., 24 Dec. 2003
This review is from: The It Girl (Audio CD)
Although Sleeper belong to a genre which is subjected to many a critism when brought up (Brit Pop if you were still wondering) -if you havent heard this album before then throw all preconceptions out the window and enjoy..
Admittidly there are some weak tracks, 'glue ears' particularly. However 'what do I do now' certainly makes up for it, and 'sale of the century' is another great tune you've just got to listen to.
Better than your usual average Brit Pop, although it would never please the masses -but if you like this kind of music then you wont resist its appeal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Two of the best songs of all time on here, 4 July 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The It Girl (Audio CD)
Two of the best songs of all time on here. sale of the century and what do I do now? Essential album
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars One of britpop's more enduring moments, 13 Dec. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The It Girl (Audio CD)
This album has many impressive pop tunes, and they, along with Wener's pouty sex appeal, saw it become quite a success commercially. Wener's lyrics and vocals are at their most consistent here; while the lyrics are a little prosaic and unambitious, they are far more involving and occasionally insightful than on the half-baked follow-up, "Pleased to Meet You". Despite the self-conscious attempts to be trendy for the times, the lyrics often hold a downmarket charm. Vocally limited, Louise Wener affects a breathiness that is effective mainly in slower numbers like "Click...", but also especially in the quick-fire phrasings of "Lie Detector". A breathless song it is; one of the best along with the slow-burning "Shrinkwrapped", the resplendent tunesmithery of "Statuesque" and the lovely "Click... off... gone"; one of their few beautiful tunes (see also "Breathe" on the follow-up album). However, perhaps the record is a good 10-minutes long, with non-songs like the tedious "Glue Ears" and the familiar, dull "Factor 41". Without these songs, it would be much the better. Sleeper weren't the most talented band ever, but they had some potential and were good in their student-indie-pop niche. Overall, worth getting, as an example of some of britpop's better pop music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Catchy but patchy, 24 Oct. 2000
This review is from: The It Girl (Audio CD)
Sleeper epitomise the mid-nineties phenomenon known as 'Brit-Pop', a sorry malady that elevated bands of mediocre ability to stardom. Some survived to fight another day. Others, wracked with fever and pain, passed on to the giant studio in the sky. Sleeper qualify as the latter. That said, this album is their finest, and if it's melodic pop hooks that you crave then look no further than The It Girl. With two top ten and four top twenty hits, those breathy Wener vocals never sounded so enthralling (yeah, that's right, Steve...). Buy it - you might like it - but don't blame me if you end up microwaving it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must for Britpop fans. Second only to 'Parklife', 20 April 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The It Girl (Audio CD)
I know Sleeper are no more but they were the best British band of the 90's after Blur. Louise Wener has an excellent lyrical wit and a gorgeous yet powerful voice demonstrated on the standout tracks 'Sale of the century', 'Statuesque','Dress like your Mother' and the best ever Britpop song 'What do I do now?' As I said before, a must for all fans of British music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 1 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The It Girl (Audio CD)
Very pleased fast delivery !p
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The It Girl
The It Girl by Sleeper (Audio CD - 1996)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews