Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Electronica
Launched into the spotlight with thier mammouth cross-over hit "Missing" (Thanks to a genius re-work by legendery Todd Terry), Everything But The Girl became somewhat reclusive with thier subsequent albums following "Amplified Heart". With this relase, one that didn't obtain nearly as much commercial success as it desserved, they bring perfection to thier previously...
Published on 18 Nov 2005 by Trey Mercartné

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Buyer Beware - 2013 vinyl is the 12" ep
Bought this Virgin 25 Ltd release thinking was the album but is actually 12" single - confusing as the mp3's provided on the Amazon cloud are for the entire LP album....bought another for a mate and ended up with 2 x 12"s !
Published 13 months ago by P. Greene


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Electronica, 18 Nov 2005
This review is from: Walking Wounded (Audio CD)
Launched into the spotlight with thier mammouth cross-over hit "Missing" (Thanks to a genius re-work by legendery Todd Terry), Everything But The Girl became somewhat reclusive with thier subsequent albums following "Amplified Heart". With this relase, one that didn't obtain nearly as much commercial success as it desserved, they bring perfection to thier previously often flawed 'Emotive Electro' style. As always, Tracey Thorn's vocals are perfect. At a time when gushing diva-esque vocalists with a range larger than Mariah Carey's were all the rage in dance music, Thorne's vocals provided (and still provide) a breath of fresh air. It's her stunning tone and the quality of her voice that is so outstanding rather than her range.
Aside from the vocals, production matches up and is brilliant throughout. The difficult task of bringing together the emotive lyrics and vocals provided by Thorn with the striking hooks and beats that make this an electro/drum and bass influenced recording has been completed successfuly. Everything just sounds fantastic and most tracks are both instantly distinctive and appealing. The two remixes that appear (courtesy of Omni Trio and Todd Terry) seem tacked on to beef up the tracklist but this can't really be said to flaw the album - there a nice little extra if nothing else. Overall, this is a much over-looked piece of Electronica history that anyone with even a slight liking/interest for the genre should adore.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Drum and Bass for beginners, 6 Mar 2003
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Walking Wounded (Audio CD)
Anyone who thinks Drum and Bass is just a lot of loud mindless noises strung one after the other should take a listen to this. What is so good about it is that the lyrics are up to EBTG's usual quality, and that there is a variety of rhythms used here, while still keeping it a bit techno. I love listening to this when I'm driving late at night, standout tracks for me are "Before Today", "Mirrorball", and "Good Cop, Bad Cop". Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Only bettered by Temperamental, 9 Oct 2001
By 
This review is from: Walking Wounded (Audio CD)
Definitely one of those 'soundtracks to life' albums (forget the hyped David Gray). Fantastically touching lyrics combined with a great, drum 'n' bass sound (less refined than Temperamental, the later album). Tracey Thorn's fabulous haunting voice carries emotion in an almost begrudging way. This album has a feeling of city life about it, a sort of urban feel. Enthralling, mourning and moving all at the same time.
Buy this and Temperamental to complete your record collection!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Drum & Bass Lite but no worse for it, 22 Feb 2010
By 
Mr. Justin Pierpoint "jpierpoint" (Liverpool, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Walking Wounded (Audio CD)
I was always aware of Everything But The Girl but frankly found them a bit lightweight and never took much notice of them. That all changed with the electronica remix of 'Missing' (which really should be on this album but isn't).

This is a perfectly judged album which in my mind blended the (then) contemporary sound of drum & bass with pop melodies that lighten a dense, heavy genre into something accessable and enjoyable. Also, the lyrics are superbly observed and written - I urge you to listen to them closely.

Random thoughts:

* The feeling of space in the title track is amazing
* 'Mirrorball' is the perfect song to listen to whilst sipping a Pimms & lemonade in the garden on a sunny summer day
* The drum breaks on the fade out of 'Before Today' are superb
* 'Big Deal' is the perfect "Oh grow up" song from a cheesed off girlfriend to a pathetic boyfriend
* 'Single' has one of the most moving lyrics regarding a break up that I have ever heard. It sums up perfectly the "oh my, what have I done" feeling and I know that it has inspired at least one person I know to fix their relationship rather than walk out on it.
* 'Good Cop Bad Cop' - the drum beats from 2:30 onwards are awesome
* The two remixs on the end have no business being there and smack to me of filling up the play list. I never listen to them.

In summary this is honestly my favourite album of all time. Fact. Buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Find Yourself With This CD!, 13 Feb 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Walking Wounded (Audio CD)
The tracks on this CD are some of the most atmospheric, haunting ever. Listen to the CD and hear all your life experiences put to superb melody and beats. Essential!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wrong, 10 July 2013
By 
This review is from: Walking Wounded (Audio CD)
Released after the success of the Todd Terry radical dance remix of EBTG's song "Missing", which had appeared in its original version on their (not so great) previous album "Amplied Heart", "Walking Wounded" was EBTG's first attempt to produce their own dance/electronica album; the second and last being the wonderful "Temperamental".

Without doubt this is a superb album, still really fresh sounding after all these years - marrying some of their best introspective-ballad-style lyrics and vocals with mostly dance rhythms. Its a juxtaposition which works 110%. I bought this album upon release and the songs still haunt me. Deserving special mention is the spacious atmosphere of the stunning title track, the electronica ballad "Single" with its desperately sad and sincere lyrics of rejection following a relationship break-up, the more traditional EBTG ballad-sound of "Mirrorball" which is probably their strongest harmony, and above all the adultery-regret-themed dance track "Wrong", poignant singing and lyrics over those pounding Todd Terry remixed beats and synth wall of sound - "I wanted everything for a little while/Why shouldn't I?/I wanted to know what he was like/Everywhere I go I will follow you/Because I was wrong".

Commercially the album did well, but not as well as it should have done. I think if they had tacked on the Todd Terry remix of "Missing" instead of the Walking Wounded remix, it would have been a different story.

A classic album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspired Electronica, 6 April 2012
This review is from: Walking Wounded (Audio CD)
Some people only know EBTG for their mainly acoustic work and dismiss EBTG's so-called 'Drum & Bass' era.
I think this is short-sighted.
This is not so much 'Drum & Bass' as percussive electronica and as such provides a perfect foil to Tracey's wonderful, emotive and richly toned voice.
This music gives more on each listen.
Hypnotic, soulful, melodic and emotive.

Another EBGT classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yet another enjoyable cd by the band, 16 Nov 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Walking Wounded (Audio CD)
I purchased this cd after I bought Amplified Heart and the sound is quite similar. There are the token remixes of a few songs ("Walking Wounded" and "Wrong") which are very good - as is "Missing" from Amplified Heart. The other songs are also very mellow, and great to listen to. Very similar to the other release and if you enjoyed one you will surely enjoy the other. Again, do not expect to find a cd full of faster paced, dance songs. I would strongly recommend this cd to many listeners.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Really chilled album love it, 21 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Walking Wounded (Audio CD)
I was truly surprised when I listened to this album. It's definitely an album for people who have lusted or loved. Easy listening and well worth the buy even after all the years since the album was released.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars new sound but still good, 17 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Walking Wounded (Audio CD)
This is one of the later cd's with beats and brakes. I had to get used to it but now that I am used to this sound I really like the cd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Walking Wounded
Walking Wounded by Everything But the Girl (Audio CD - 1996)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews