Customer Reviews


41 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great album
For people keen to see what guitar music sounded like in the late 90's, You can do a lot worse than buy Moseley Shoals. The album is packed with great tracks, The singalong 'The day we caught the train', the catchy 'The riverboat song' and 'the circle'(Supposedly based on the number 11 bus route around Birmingham) are probably the albums highlights, 'You've got it bad'...
Published on 8 Jan 2004 by ropenfold

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars So So!!
Well this band came along in mid 90's with oasis when thankfully bands were starting to play instruments again so as far as artistic merit goes then this stuff is fine even though it sounds like it was an album recorded in 1968 but hey whats wrong with that?that was a great era and nothing wrong with having influences from top bands but it does sound a bit small faces...
Published on 25 Jan 2010 by A. Dockrell


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great album, 8 Jan 2004
This review is from: Moseley Shoals (Audio CD)
For people keen to see what guitar music sounded like in the late 90's, You can do a lot worse than buy Moseley Shoals. The album is packed with great tracks, The singalong 'The day we caught the train', the catchy 'The riverboat song' and 'the circle'(Supposedly based on the number 11 bus route around Birmingham) are probably the albums highlights, 'You've got it bad' and 'get away' are great album finishers.
But more than just an great album, Ocean Colour Scene were great for Birmingham. Oasis were Manchester's, Blur very London and Even Cast had that Liverpool sound, Birmingham had nothing until these mods came along. It was great to be in a club and bump into the band, to be 17 and have a nationwide band there was great. Getting the drummers autograph in a Birmingham Homebase kind of summed them up.
OCS have gone on to produce some poor stuff since then, Marchin' already was a sad let down, but for that moment, 90's defining albums, Moseley shoals is there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The ONLY CD you need!, 3 Jun 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Moseley Shoals (Audio CD)
I borrowed this CD from my friend last year before going to see Ocean Colour Scene at T in The Park, let's just say I've still got it! This CD has absolutely everything you could want in an album. Every single song on this album rocks, I wouldn't skip a single song. It is really sequential starting with the amazing Riverboat Song that has the best intro you will ever hear. It merges perfectly into The Day We Caught the Train, guarenteed to keep you singing for weeks. Lining your pockets is fantastic and It's my shadow will stay in your mind forever. If you're stuck on a deserted island this is the album to take, 5 stars just isn't enough! There's only one thing better than listening to Mosely Shoals and that's seeing the boys live, fantastic doesn't cover it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars mosley shoals, 9 Oct 2005
By 
mr paul dean (stoke on trent, staffordshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Moseley Shoals (Audio CD)
from the opening riff of the river boat song to the brilliance of fleeting mind mosely shoals is british music at its best,having managed to get my hands on the album in 96 on the day of it's release on tape there hasn't been a week from then on that i haven't played it, a few years ago i upgraded to the cd version only because i'd worn the tape out that much the lead guitar wasn't audible,need i say anymore? well dam right i do! over the years ocs have suffered total critical abuse because they dont play the media game like the likes of oasis,coldplay,etc, they realease the music that they want to realease,they are still one of the best kept secrets in the history of british music,the band contains one of the best singer song writers around, the album is a must for anyone who has any musical taste.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's got that vibe man!, 28 Feb 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Moseley Shoals (Audio CD)
There are only two artists I've ever heard who are truly capable of capturing this magical style that's is presented on this album and they are Ocean Colour Scene and Paul Weller and to have the two on one album, with Weller guesting on 'The Circle', is a listening pleasure not to be missed. Mosely Shoals is an album which for me defines classic indie/rock; it's got a quality, some might call it a vibe, that just can't be put into words but the best way I can put it is that it manages to be both retro and forward looking at the same time. The lyrics are great, Steve Cradock's got an individual style on the guitar which just blows me away and the general musicianship is second to none, production is magnificent, as a wanna be sound engineer I am constantly impressed by the awesome sound world created on this recording, I just love the panned toms on the last track 'Get Away'. You NEED this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Remember the scene, 25 Feb 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Moseley Shoals (Audio CD)
Ocean colour scene are the fogotten band of the mid nineties indie revival. Their mix of retro sounding classic rock n roll and Oasis inspired melodies place them above most of their stablemates in the indie music scene. This album represents all that was the indie phenom.
Highlights include 40 past midnight, similar to the Stones' lets spend the night together in terms of both sound and quality. One for the road is a tragic story put to optiomistic music, proving that story in song need not be the sole property of the nu acoustic movement and the Downstream is a ballad of epic porportions that anybody from the aforementioned movement would have been been proud of.
This album is pretty faultless an anybody looking for the highlights of nineties music should really place this album high on their list. Retro it may be but when retro is this good who cares if it lacks inovation?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Music by Musicians, 12 April 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Moseley Shoals (Audio CD)
It is so rare these days to find music that is written and performed by true musicians, but Ocean Colour Scene have achieved this with style. An album packed full of sing-along songs such as "The Day We Caught The Train" and "You've Got It Bad" along with great ballads such as "It's My Shadow" and "Lining Your Pockets". If anyone reading this thinks that they may become a fan, my advice for them is to go and see them live - They are brilliant. And hope they play "Policemen & Pirates".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exhilarating yet beautiful, exciting yet delicate...awesome, 13 May 2004
This review is from: Moseley Shoals (Audio CD)
This album will always remind me of happy times, as i daresay it does its creators, with a distinct sense of nostalgia running throughout it. I really can't describe just how much i love this album, it seems able to cover the whole spectrum of rock within the OCS style (ie. jumps from the riffing power of the 'riverboat song', to the emotive beauty and tragedy of 'one for the road', to the sing along catchiness of 'the day we caught the train' to the understated power of 'its my shadow', the list goes on), but maintains it's flow, and overall 'feel' - a remarkable achievement. Whatever your mood, this album is perfect, and demonstrates why OCS are so often described as one of the most under rated bands ever. And why they're my favourite ever. Breathtaking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Can�t beat this CD, 14 Nov 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Moseley Shoals (Audio CD)
I was really impressed when I brought this DC as I loved the hits The Day we Caught the Train and The Circle, but thought I might be disappointed with the rest - not a chance. I discovered the fabulous Riverboat Song and You've Got it Bad and became a bit OCS fan. I have since seen them in concert and they are just as good live - I even have a drumstick as a souvenir. Great band, great CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This is the band at their best, 10 July 2000
This review is from: Moseley Shoals (Audio CD)
Ocean Colour Scene produce catchy, rocky, melodic tunes with enough overdrive to give their guitars backbone yet enough piano and melody to soften their tunes in to shape and sentiment. Looking at their total album output, they suffer from the classic need for more strict editing as many of their songs end up album-tracky and fall in to the 'could do better' category. This album however, shows the band at their best - as if they have worked and worked in that dark studio until they were totally satisfied with it, only letting their best stuff in, which is sadly what their other outputs lack. This discretion, plus of course a touch of intagible musical inspiration leave Moseley Shoals as a well-rounded, entertaining and sophisticated pop/rock album which manages to escape the pretentiousness of similar members of their musical genre (Richard Ashcroft, Paul Weller....). This should be in everyone's album collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars So So!!, 25 Jan 2010
By 
A. Dockrell "Medway Man" (Chatham,Kent) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Moseley Shoals (Audio CD)
Well this band came along in mid 90's with oasis when thankfully bands were starting to play instruments again so as far as artistic merit goes then this stuff is fine even though it sounds like it was an album recorded in 1968 but hey whats wrong with that?that was a great era and nothing wrong with having influences from top bands but it does sound a bit small faces carbon copy sometimes along with the usual beatles sounds but 10cc and Elo ripped beatles off amongst others so why not eh.
So no new ground broken here but a solid album worth a listen once in a blue moon and can be picked up quite cheap used.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Moseley Shoals
Moseley Shoals by Ocean Colour Scene (Audio CD - 1996)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews