Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Neil dabbles in contemporary country
Upon deciding to record a country album, some pop and rock singers decide to go for a traditional album, just to prove that they really can sing country. Neil makes no such attempt, content to record in a contemporary country style typical of the nineties. Bob Gaudio produced most of the album, though guest producers produced three tracks. The extensive credits do not say...
Published on 11 Jun 2004 by Peter Durward Harris

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars More like an Eclipse
Sadly this is neither a good country album, nor is it a good conventional Diamond album. Diamond plays it safe and bland and misses a great opportunity to breathe life into his creative juices. Good musicians, very slick and quality guest artists. Unfortunately, it all sounds like a manufactured piece with no soul or personal stamp. Just another album to be filed away and...
Published on 3 April 2007 by Music Man


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Neil dabbles in contemporary country, 11 Jun 2004
By 
Peter Durward Harris "Pete the music fan" (Leicester England) - See all my reviews
(No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Tennessee Moon (Audio CD)
Upon deciding to record a country album, some pop and rock singers decide to go for a traditional album, just to prove that they really can sing country. Neil makes no such attempt, content to record in a contemporary country style typical of the nineties. Bob Gaudio produced most of the album, though guest producers produced three tracks. The extensive credits do not say where the album was recorded though Neil states that almost all the songs were written and recorded under a Tennessee moon. That could include Memphis but I don't think so - this album sounds much more like a Nashville production.
Some tracks have more of a country feel than others including the title track, One good love (an excellent duet with Waylon Jennings) and (most country of all) the closing Blue highway - this is my favorite track here, but if you're not a country music fan, it may be your least favorite.
Apart from Waylon Jennings, there are other guest singers. They are not credited as duets, but they do more than just backup harmony, and they include Beth Nielsen Chapman (Deep inside of you) and Raul Malo of the Mavericks (Reminisce for a while).
If you enjoy Neil's pop music, you will probably enjoy this album. It really isn't that far removed from his normal easy listening style. If you are a country music fan who doesn't like Neil's pop music, it is doubtful if you'll like this - however, if you like his pop music even a little, you might enjoy this. If you are a country music fan who is unfamiliar with Neil's pop music, this will serve as a good introduction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Impressive, 1 Oct 2001
By 
This review is from: Tennessee Moon (Audio CD)
Tennessee Moon is one of those albums that creeps up on you. I've been a fan of Diamond for years, even though I'm only 24, and I have to admit I am a fan of the classics. I don't think his later stuff has had the timeless feel of 'Sweet Caroline' or 'Love on the Rocks' but this album does away with the newer ballads and is a nice change of direction, and possibly his finest album to date. His blending of soulful lyrics and a country style compliment each other, and the reworking of Kentucky Woman is to die for. There are 18 tracks and all of them are gold from the rock tenecies of 'A Matter of Love' to the gentle soulfulness of 'If I Lost My Way'. It's an album to enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous - A must have for any Neil Diamond fan, 28 Dec 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Tennessee Moon (Audio CD)
This album takes a bit of getting used to. It's very country but Neil's soul shines through and after listening to the tracks you can't help but fall in love with the style of music. Kentucky Woman is by far the best remix I've ever heard him do. It's another Diamond.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A mid-life change for Neil? Nicely done., 5 Jan 2003
By 
Amazon Customer (Glendale, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Tennessee Moon (Audio CD)
Is Diamond in the midst of a mid-life romantic change? Certainly, the themes of such songs as "Win the World" and "Reminisce for A While" support the notion of a past love gone sour, and those of "Marry Me", "Deep Inside of You" and "Like You Do" suggest a new love found. After all, a singer of Neil's talent wouldn't find inspiration for such just sitting around the house changing guitar strings.
In any case, Mr. Diamond has been my favorite vocalist, male or female, ever since "Brother Love's Traveling Salvation Show" back when we were both much younger. Though his voice has never been "perfect" - and it's beginning to crack around the edges with advancing age - his music and lyrics have consistently matched my biorhythms more than any other artist. It doesn't hurt that the band backing him up has always been superb.
"Tennessee Moon" veers into the genre of Nashville-style country. The change from past repertoire is welcome and nicely done. I've had the privilege of attending a Diamond concert twice in my life, and those relatively recently. Those of us in the audience in our 40's, 50's and 60's, all swaying (creakily) to that "good gospel beat", thank Neil so very much for the listening pleasure you've given us down through the decades.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars More like an Eclipse, 3 April 2007
This review is from: Tennessee Moon (Audio CD)
Sadly this is neither a good country album, nor is it a good conventional Diamond album. Diamond plays it safe and bland and misses a great opportunity to breathe life into his creative juices. Good musicians, very slick and quality guest artists. Unfortunately, it all sounds like a manufactured piece with no soul or personal stamp. Just another album to be filed away and rarely replayed. Unlike "Taproot Manuscript" & others such as "Moods" that will be forever taken off the shelf on a regular basis, each time sounding as good as the time before!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Album, 1 Feb 2012
By 
This review is from: Tennessee Moon (Audio CD)
I had this album on a cassette tape which I could no longer play.
I always considered this to be one of Neil Diamonds best albums and one which I never tire of playing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars My Next Favourite To Hot AUGUST NIGHT., 12 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tennessee Moon (MP3 Download)
This is one of my must have albums on my kindle. Some of his work in the middle years is just as good as his latest works.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Just not sure this time!, 28 May 2012
By 
Anne Powell (Portsmouth) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tennessee Moon (Audio CD)
I kinda agree with what several other reviewers have written even though some are opposing views. I too was disappointed when I first played the CD, apart from the tracks with Waylon Jennings and Beth Neilson Chapman. However, as a good and faithful (and always positive!) Diamond fan I played it all several times and, yes, the whole CD did grow on me. I don't honestly think he intended it to be a 'real' country CD - more a nod to where he was recording it. Would I buy it again? No probably not ... but I don't regret giving it a go! Incidentally, it's fine to play in the car on a long trip, just for the singalong opportunities ....

I've got so many ND CDs - maybe it's time I stopped buying them???? On second thoughts, no ....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Album, 8 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tennessee Moon (Audio CD)
I have been after this CD for years so am over the moon at finding it at last. It has been played many times since purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Bit Of A Letdown....., 4 May 2010
By 
Mr. D. Wyatt - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tennessee Moon (Audio CD)
If you didn't think Neil Diamond could sing country music, then you're lucky...you won't be disappointed! But then, like the blues, you don't hear a lot of Jewish New Yorkers performing this sort of thing.
The album starts OK with track 1 but then settles down to typical post 1980 Diamond, well played but overdone accompanyments and way too much easy listening schmaltz -easily forgotten and in no way connected with country music.
So to sum up. Very few "passable" tracks on an album my copy of which is gonna travel on that lonesome railroad train to the charity shop!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Tennessee Moon
Tennessee Moon by Neil Diamond (Audio CD - 1999)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews