Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Genius
It took me two years to listen to this album all the way through, and in the 5 years since then it's barely left my stereo. Once you've got your head round this piece of Bungle genius, its awesome brilliance will never leave your brain. My favourite album of ALL TIME.
Published on 4 July 2003 by Charlie Morrison

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't buy this vinyl release!!!!
First off, I love this album! It is beyond great in my mind, but this vinyl release from Plain Recordings is atrocious. The sound level is very low and the background noise levels are extremely high. There are constant hisses and cracks throughout the album ruining the whole listening experience. So PLEASE, do not buy this vinyl!!! Stick with the original CD until someone...
Published on 26 Oct. 2012 by Mathias Palmberg


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Prepare to laugh your throat out, 1 July 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Disco Volante (Audio CD)
Honestly I can say no more than that this could be one of the funniest albums i've ever heard. They magically mix the delights of lounge music and death metal, whilst managing to create songs of such diversity, originality and wit that you will, most definetely, be entertained
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Prepare to laugh your throat out, 1 July 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Disco Volante (Audio CD)
Honestly I can say no more than that this could be one of the funniest albums i've ever heard. They magically mix the delights of lounge music and death metal, whilst managing to create songs of such diversity, originality and wit that you will, most definetely, be entertained
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The most extremely experimental Bungle album., 29 Mar. 2004
This review is from: Disco Volante (Audio CD)
It's a terrible cliche to say it but this album defies all efforts to explain it. What we have here is an incoherant mix of
unrelated musical styles compartmentalised into what could be called 'songs' but really are mostly instrumental sketches with occasional vocal contributions. The quality of the music ranges from extremely high e.g 'Violencia Domestica', 'Merry go bye bye', 'desert search for techno allah' and 'platypus' to dreadfully banal and uninteresting e.g.
'Everyone I went to highschool with is dead'(believe me the title is by far the best aspect!). You should expect moments of cheesy rock, lounge music, death metal, free jazz (although more free than usual!) as well as the unique film music of 'violenca domestica'. This album relates litte to the Mr. Bungle debut and sounds like a collection of abandoned ideas towards 'California'. As such, the album has a scrappy feel and probably could have done with more production but it certainly is worth listening to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 4 May 2001
This review is from: Disco Volante (Audio CD)
A masterpiece of bizarrity, this is unquestionably the pinnacle of the Bungle. The ideas conveyed and the genres visited are something truly unique to the band. With the other albums, genius though they are, you can always tell where the influences came from but this album is just Mr Bungle. No-one will ever play anything quite like this again. There only seem to be about 4 songs on it surrounded by gibberish and music which is what the band do best. You haven't experienced real music until you've seen them play this stuff live. Enough though, you can't fail to love this CD. Buy it now, and then buy the Secret Chiefs 3. And Fantomas and Estradasphere too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent album - had to listen to it a couple ..., 27 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Disco Volante (MP3 Download)
Excellent album - had to listen to it a couple of times. Just what you would expect from MP. Always good fun to listen to on headphones whilst doing supermearket shopping!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Headline?, 19 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Disco Volante [VINYL] (Vinyl)
Fantastic vinyl. However, it was creased on the corner when delivered. Vinyl is quiet when compared to others at the same hi-fi volume.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not the best, but definitely the queerest, 1 May 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Disco Volante (Audio CD)
This was the last of all the Mr Bungle albums I had to hear, and I was very suprised at how their sound could all of a sudden go all strange with this album, but go back to 'normal' with California. All the albums are different, but this one doesn't really have anything in common with the others. For this album, it seems Mr Bungle didn't even think about the vocals for this, the album has more of a instrumental feel. The songs are extremely complicated and strangly structured (even more than the other albums) and like Fant"mas, they just cannot stick to a cool riff for a few seconds, before you know a new idea is in your face. Mr Bungle hardly leaves you time to sit still. This album is definitely the least user friendly album of them all, and is strictly for die hard Bungle fans only. I find this album however just as entertaining as the others, even tho there are no real real stand out tracks in my opinion (except for 'Ma Meeshka Mow Skwoz'). Overall a well balenced listen. I would still stick on California any day :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars To obscure or its own good., 30 May 2011
By 
G. Byrne "Rob byrne" (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Disco Volante (Audio CD)
If your reading this your probably aware that Mr. Bungles Disco Volante is by far their most experimental effort and the worse for it. The album explodes into its deranged life with the awful "Everyone I went to High School With is Dead", a heavy metal number thats plods its way through the best part of 3 minutes. Things improve a little with a trio of schizophrenic but likable tracks, "Chemical Marriage", "Carry Stress in the Jaw" and "Desert Search for Techno Allah". "Chemical Marriage", probably the most mainstream track has trippy vocals courtesy of Patton and flitting organs/synths, while Desert Search for Techno Allah" is a middle eastern frenzy, but oh so brilliant. Sadly, this is where the joy ends. From "Violenza Domestica" runs nine awful, dark, obscure, long tracks of what can only be described as noise. Even the album closer "Merry Go Bye Bye", with its strong Beach Boys style opening is destroyed as they shift unknown music genres. After their funky self titled debut and the diverse but brilliant California, Disco Volante seems to obscure to even be enjoyed by the most patient music lover. Theirs no doubting the bands technical ability, but Disco Volante seems as though it belongs to an extra-terrestrial planet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The best is all you get...., 25 Dec. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Disco Volante (Audio CD)
While not nearly as accessible as anything else out there, Disco Volante is tremendous. The last track is a killer swing-grind hybrid. ArtCore, ArtCore.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars buy this now, 31 July 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Disco Volante (Audio CD)
ive not actually listened to this cd for quite a while ...., but it is definitely a classic in the making and one you will not easily forget. Quirky from start to finish with sudden switches from ear splitting metal to wierd dance beats. Stand out tracks are, EVERYONE I WENT TO HIGH SCHOOL WITH IS DEAD and MERRYGO BYE BYE. Make sure you buy this record now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Disco Volante
Disco Volante by Mr. Bungle (Audio CD - 1999)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews