Customer Reviews


40 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome
I just can't understand some of the previous reviews slating the sound quality of this remaster. I wonder how familiar the reviewers were with the U.S. mix of this album which did actually feature different guitar work (courtesy of John Sykes) and Neil Murray's bass playing (as opposed to Colin Hodgkinson on the UK version). Perhaps this is why they hear a different...
Published on 12 Jun 2009 by Old Timer

versus
11 of 19 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Warning....this hurts!
Ok this is a really nicely packaged set,one cd with 20 tracks including the us mix and the english mix and to top it off a really cool dvd.
With beautiful artwork and a smashing booklet giving lots of information first impressions are very good....until you play the cd!
OUCH,this sounds,well in a word rubbish!
The remaster is absolutely terrible,way way to...
Published on 8 Jun 2009 by The Lost Golfer


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, 12 Jun 2009
I just can't understand some of the previous reviews slating the sound quality of this remaster. I wonder how familiar the reviewers were with the U.S. mix of this album which did actually feature different guitar work (courtesy of John Sykes) and Neil Murray's bass playing (as opposed to Colin Hodgkinson on the UK version). Perhaps this is why they hear a different version of the album than they were accustomed with- because the US mix is in many respects a different album to the original UK release.
As for the gripes with the sound and the quality of the remastering job, is it again perhaps the US mix rather than the remastering work which others are struggling with? I have had both the US and the UK mixes on CD for many years now and am therefore very familiar with both. I've played this new version in my car, on my hi-fi and on my i-Pod now and I think it sounds absolutely awesome- clear as a bell. I've also compared it to the versions of the very same songs which appear on "Here I Go Again- The Best of Whitesnake", as the tracks were also previously remastered for this US only compilation, and the the new remaster wins hands down. The artwork and design is superb and, if you are a fan of the band, I could not recommend this enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Full US Remix, but only 80% of the original album, 13 Jun 2009
By 
Rodney J. Mcpheat "Rodders-Old-Bean" (Lancashire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Slide It In
Like some of the other reviewers, I ain't no stranger to this classic British rock album. I have considered this to be one of the finest releases from the "classic era" of Whitesnake for the last 20 years or so, and I was keenly anticipating the remastered release of this album to complete the set of the recent 'Snake remasters (which in my opinion have been uniformly excellent).

I love this album not just because of the excellent songs, standard of playing and production of the original UK version, but also because (if you are like me and much prefer the earlier British blues rock era of the band) it illustrates the last great hurrah before David Coverdale turned his sights squarely on the US market, courtesy of David Geffen and John Kallodner in 1984. As a result, the US record company demanded a more radio-friendly mix for the US FM stations of the "just before MTV" era in the States. So we have two versions of "Slide It In" to enjoy - the original (and IMHO by far the best) UK version and the US remix. The US version has a Keith Olsen remix, guitar overdubs by John Sykes and re-recorded bass lines by Neil Murray. By this point, essential 'Snake members Mickey Moody and Jon Lord had already bailed out, taking major components of the classic Whitesnake sound with them.

This remastered package, contrary to the advertisement blurb, does NOT feature the complete remastered versions of both mixes. Instead, you get the US remix in its entirety and only 80% of the UK mix. This is no doubt due to the fact that EMI couldn't fit both versions onto an 80 minute CD. Therefore, the remastered UK versions of "Hungry For Love" and "Love Ain't No Stranger" are missing, replaced by a B side cover version of Fleetwood Mac's "Need Your Love So Bad" and an acoustic version of "LANS" from "Starkers In Tokyo", recorded 20-odd years later.

I would have preferred to have had the focus placed on the UK mix and do without some of the US remixes. "LANS" is available in remastered form on the "20th Anniversary Collection" 2-CD set, but a remaster of the UK version of "HFL" is not available as far as I'm aware.

Regarding the sound quality, I can't find any fault with it - to my ears this is a big improvement on the old CD versions.

The additional DVD includes some "interesting" (perhaps cringing) promo videos, along with some great footage from Donington '83 and slot on Top Of The Tops (yes, it's true).

As a final note, it would have been nice to have had this package released last year, as a celebration of the immense talent of the late (and sadly missed) Mel Galley, who tragically lost his fight with cancer in 2008. His song writing and instantly recognizable guitar playing really made this album special.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars slide it into your CD player, 12 Jun 2009
By 
25 years after it was released, this album finally gets the CD release it deserves. First of all, the packaging is beautiful and far more striking than the original LP sleeve. Secondly, the 24 page booklet is nice, full of quotes and anecdotes and plenty of pics. The audio quality of the CD is first rate - awesome infact - and it is easy to hear the massive difference that exists between the UK and US mixes. Whilst the UK mix is great, it really does sound unfinished and demo-like compared to the US one. On the US mix, Coverdale sounds like he's in the same room as you and not nextdoor! Yes the drums are noticeably different, but I'd say they sound punchier. John Sykes really makes a huge difference to the album and his much heavier guitar-style suits the songs and raises everything up a notch. The DVD features all the promos, plus a rarely seen performance from Top of the Pops from Januray 1984. All in all, I really cannot see (or hear) why anyone would be disappointed with this. I can fully recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Turn it Up!, 17 Jun 2009
I read the reviews and the concerns about the remasters but I still went out and bought the cd.I already have both versions.I can't find anything wrong with the remaster of the UK mix, as for the US mix...its a little different but its not a poor mix.John Sykes and Mel Galley are very different in their playing thats all and of course you are gonna hear something different in the mix without Jon Lord.
Really all this cd needs is a little volume from your cd player/mp3 player/computer.
Whitesnake should never be background music, so turn it up and find the beauty again in this classic cd from Whitesnake.Credit where its due to David Coverdale for making sure the fans got something very special with this.
Its just a shame Mel Galley is not around to hear the good things folks are saying about his work with Whitesnake.The whole package, booklet, photos etc is first class and really the bonus for me was the videos.This cd is excellence if it was car it would be a Ferrari, if it was drink it would be Dom Perignon and if it was a movie star it would be Megan Fox.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Missed opportunity!!!, 20 July 2010
By 
Mr Blackwell (scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a fantastic album,both mixes,bought both originally on vinyl,always preferred the UK mix(see separate review) although the USA mix with Sykes/Murray grafted on was pretty good too,although smoothed out to appease american radio.

The album you'll know houses classics such as 'Love Aint No Stranger/Slide It In/Slow n Easy/Gambler and Guilty Of Love ' etc,the original american track selection always took a bit of getting used to which brings me to the first bone of contention:

This release purports to be the american release with the UK mix as bonus,however the USA mix here does not replicate the track order of that on the original USA vinyl and as another reviewer has pointed out there a some differences between this mix and the original USA vinyl.

Secondly the UK mix misses out 'Hungry For Love' and unbelievably 'Love Aint No Stranger,had it been for time constraints then possibly you could except but its not, you get an acoustic version of LANS from the later release 'Starkers In Tokyo',a ridiculous decision,i also believe like a previous reviewer that the b side 'Need Your Love So Bad' is not actually that which was released in '84 but a later version.Also it should have included the Eddie Kramer 'mix' of first single 'Guilty Of Love'/'Gambler' if were compiling the definitive version!.All in all pretty shoddy,maybe the fans should be asked what they would like,so a star is docked.

The remaster is pretty decent to these ears although its not any better than the the 1988 original remaster(uk version)

Disc 2 is a dvd with live/promo videos and while nice to have the original promos,the repetition is irritating,3 versions of 'Love Aint No Stranger',that damned Tokyo version again! and parts of the live 'Guilty of Love' footage from Donington was used for the original promo,couldnt they have used a diff track from the Donington footage?,again with alittle more thought it could have been so much more impressive.

If you dont have both versions,this is a good way to get most of the original recording with some changes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars ...a very welcome "honest 12 inches"..., 26 Jun 2009
By 
Mr. H "Mr H" (Embra) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Twenty five years! Never. But somehow it has been a whole quarter century since my second favourite Whitesnake album was released. Of course, I didn't think that at the time, what with lineup favourites like Bernie Marsden, Neil Murray and Ian Paice having been given the axe. But once I'd bought the "honest 12 inches" as it was advertised at the time, I was hooked. I wasn't too know that it would be the last Blues rooted release from Whitesnake for over twenty years.

Some of the best ever Whitesnake songs are tucked away on this release with `Gambler', `Love Ain't No Srranger' and `Standing In The Shadows' amongst their finest. But then it got really silly as David Coverdale rejigged the lineup even before the album was released. And then the new band re-recorded the guitar and bass parts for the US issue, which came out with a new mix and running order. Which meant the big hair and `1987' was just around the corner.

However, this remains an absolute pearl, and the 25th anniversary has been celebrated properly, despite the US issue being the main portion. It's just wrong! `Slow An' Easy' should always be at the start of Side 2 (in old money), not pushed up to track three. But as most of the four million people who bought this live in America, it probably makes sense, even if the running order here is actually wrong. Although you'll find eight of the ten original recordings appearing as bonus tracks as well as their cover of Little Willie Johns `Need Your Love So Bad', which was a bonus track on the original cassette issue, as well as the B-side of the `Give Me More Time' single, although for reasons unexplained this is actually a later version. Add in the "Starkers In Tokyo" acoustic version of `Love Ain't No Stranger' and a DVD with seven videos including promo clips, a Top Of The Pops appearance and some live cuts, and this is just about essential. Now if they'd just managed to squeeze in the whole UK album, then things would have been perfect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars UK/US Versions, 22 April 2009
By 
Andrew Jopson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Slide It In (Audio CD)
Be careful which CD you buy, as there are two distinct versions of this album. If you're looking for more 1987 Sykes guitar licks, you won't find any on the UK version of the album. Sykes' solos were only overdubbed onto the US version of the album. You can tell the US version because it starts with the title track and not "The Gambler". I think Sykes puts a brilliant performance in on 1987 and read he was recruited to the band before this album was released and naturally assumed he would be playing on it. So, guess which version of the CD I ended up buying...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 80s Rock Classic (with comedy lyrics), 17 Jan 2001
By 
A. Jordan "Andy Jordan" (Durham, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Slide It In (Audio CD)
Listen to this album and try to keep a straight face. Sample lyrics include the classic ... "I'm gonna slide it in right to the top" and "spit it out if you don't like it." Call me naive but as an innocent young creature I always wondered what David Coverdale meant, looking back now I wonder if he had some serious problems! The music however is fantastic. The album opens with the slowly building 'Gambler' which gets going to lead you into the rest of the CD. Loud bluesy guitars and Mr. Coverdale's breathy vocals dominate the album and make for some classic tunes. This record is leaps and bounds above much of the rest of the so called 'New Wave Of British Heavey Metal' from the same period and still sounds alive today. I am amazed as to how well that this has stood the test of time. It is also much better than the turgid rubbish that followed when Whitesnake went all American on us. On top of that you will titter at the lyrics ... what more could any rock fan wish for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SLIDE IT IN (ORIGINAL UK MIX), 20 July 2010
By 
Mr Blackwell (scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Slide It In (Audio CD)
From the moment 'Gambler' struts out of the speakers after the slow intro,its obvious Whitesnake were back on track,having shed its skin after the previous lacklustre album,the band with some new bodies on board,namely Mel Galley/Cozy Powell & Colin Hodgkinson were on fire with the input of Galley and Powell clearly firing Coverdale.

The remaster has a wonderful sound reproducing the thundering drums of Powell and the razor sharp guitars of Galley/Moody whilst Lord fills the spaces with some fine keyboard playing all held together with Hodgkinsons Bass.

The aforementioned 'Gambler' is a classic Snake track,while the toughened up sound,meatier guitars is evident on the likes of 'Slide It In','Give Me More Time and 'All Or Nothing'.Powell's drumming is immense,possibly the best drum sound he ever had and is quite magnificent on the Zeppelin influenced 'Slow n Easy' with his Bonhamesque drumming to the fore.Not to be outdone Coverdale puts in a sublime vocal on the live favourite 'Love Aint No Stranger' and a thoroughly exuberant take on single 'Guilty Of Love'

Of course the lyrical content from Mr Coverdale is sometimes predictable and at worst sexually immature,who cares its all good clean fun and while the likes of 'Standin' In The Shadow,Hungry For Love & Spit It Out' wont win any literary prizes they are thoroughly entertaining.

All in all a fantastic album,the last genuine Whitesnake release before big hair,promo videos and America took over,buy it ,love it,cherish it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best blues-metal albums of all time, 6 July 2001
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Slide It In (Audio CD)
This is one of the greatest blues-metal albums of all time. All the songs are great, my favorite on the album Love ain't no stranger is at the time my favorite blues-metal song. I have never heard Coverdale sing like he does on this album. Buy it!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Slide It In
Slide It In by Whitesnake (Audio CD - 1988)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews