Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Perhaps better than i remember ...
Although a big Duran fan, this was never one of my fave albums of theirs ... perhaps too funky for my liking, although it was always much redeemed in my eyes for the sublime Do You Believe In Shame ?. Having been collecting the 2010 remasters, there was no way i wasnt gonna buy this, and, like its predecessors in the series, its a great little package. The remaster is...
Published on 29 Sep 2010 by Mr. P. G. Taylor

versus
5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Worse sound than original. Again
See my review on Notorious for why this has worse sound than the original CD. The cover on this has also been poorly put together, with blatent aliasing and registration errors on the letters. It would have taken less than an hour to recreate that cover in perfect quality in Illustrator.

Again - the DVD is what makes this worth buying.
Published on 12 Oct 2010 by J SHEEHAN


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Perhaps better than i remember ..., 29 Sep 2010
By 
Mr. P. G. Taylor (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Big Thing (Audio CD)
Although a big Duran fan, this was never one of my fave albums of theirs ... perhaps too funky for my liking, although it was always much redeemed in my eyes for the sublime Do You Believe In Shame ?. Having been collecting the 2010 remasters, there was no way i wasnt gonna buy this, and, like its predecessors in the series, its a great little package. The remaster is again credited to Abbey Road Studios, but sounds fine to me; whether others will find this remastering as poor as the earlier albums i'll let them decide. The first CD is as the original album, except for the Drug (Its Just A State Of Mind), which is the original version as opposed to the remix on previous releases - this change is explained in much more detail on one of the postcards (Amazon state this info is in the booklet, but this is incorrect; the other 4 postcards are band pics).

Much more of interest to me, as with these releases, are the other two discs. Disc 2 contains B sides and single remixes, most of which are on the second Singles Box 2 (86-95), however there are two previously unreleased versions of Big Thing - a 7" and 12" mix - which i actually like more than the album version; much more commercial and faster paced musically. Really Good.

Disc 3 is the DVD, containing a live concert from Milan, Italy in Dec 1988, which looks very good quality, and features a mix of old and new songs. But by far the most important thing for me in the entire package is finally, finally, finally, we get the first time release on DVD of the Do You Believe In Shame ? video, which i think has never been on any DVD video compilations; its always been omitted as a lesser track (i guess) in favour of other vids. Previously, it was only avaialble on the 6ix By 3hree VHS Video. Huzzah!

Was hoping this set might also contain the old VHS video documentary "Three To Get Ready", which i think dates from around this albums time, and i have not seen. But regardless, a nice little set, with artwork in keeping with the album art, and something for everyone on discs 2 and 3. Perhaps i'll appreciate the album a bit more as i give it a re-listen over the next few weeks :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I'd really like to give it 4 1/2 stars - but 5 will do!, 14 Dec 2005
This review is from: Big Thing (Audio CD)
In my opinion this is the most under-rated album from one of our most under-rated bands. By 1988 when this album was released the teen hysteria that had surrounded Duran Duran for most of the decade had waned and there were only 3 of the original members left. So perhaps it is not surprising then that with the pressure off that Duran started to experiment with their music in ways that had started to be restricted by the time 7 & The Ragged Tiger was released at the height of their fame. 'Big Thing' to me signalled a return to the 'Art n Roll' ethos that the band originally stood for, which can be heard when you stand 'Hungry Like The Wolf' next to 'The Chauffeur' on the 'Rio' album, and 'Girls On Film' next to 'Nightboat' on their eponymous debut.. And they do it even better here. 'I Don't Want Your Love' is a great single and made the Top 10 in the UK - but it was 'All She Wants Is' which became a sleeper hit, partly because of its incredible cutting-edge video and a smart use of modern music technology. I think that track has aged incredibly well and has not been appreciated enough. 'Do You Believe In Shame' was woefully under-played and barely scraped the Top 30 but deserved to be a major hit. My favourite tracks on the album are what I would call the 'artier' ones such as 'Palomino' and 'Land'. These in particular showcase Simon's gift for lyric and melody-writing, perhaps inspired by his near-death experience on Drum and his vocals are in good form. My brother stole my tape and used to play 'Marlene' really loud and sing at the top of his voice even though it was very uncool to be into Duran Duran. The only weak track for me is 'Drug' which leaves me cold, it is an oddment on an otherwise excellent album that showcases the real musical talent and creativity of this band. It should be seen as the creative leap that it is instead of being derided because it was released when Duran Duran were no longer the teenybopper's favourites, although to be honest the critics have always slated them and never knew what 'pigeon-hole' to put them in. If anyone wants to listen with an open mind you may be pleasantly surprised at how listenable this really is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A BIG THING !, 18 July 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Big Thing (Audio CD)
Feeling low ?, Put yourself in the Duran electric chair, and get a supercharged jolt of pure adrenalised pop ! Big Thing was not big in the UK, probably because Notorious and Liberty were below average, by Duran standards, and we fans can be so fickle. The title song kicks off the LP with heavy bass and drums, a vibrant intro to the LP, Le Bon grates and stretches his vocal chords alongside shrieking guitars and howling keyboards great stuff. I don't want your love is song two, electro pop, almost under produced, slightly too lightweight ? All she wants is, wow, crank up the rock chords, they must have enjoyed recording this, it feels like fun ! Too late Marlene, who is Marlene ? I don't know, but you feel like you do, the empathy flows as Le Bon wrends this gentle mid tempo ballad from the ordinary, almost Mcartney like in it's plaintive style, a real grower. Drug, Palomino and the two interludes are not inspirational, but hey wait until you hear Do you believe in shame, quite simply a narcotic mix of foggy vocals and ambient instrument sounds, genius songwriting, truly a classic that did not cause a dent in the charts, but will be covered in years to come, take my word for it. Land, is like a girl that you see every day but do not notice, who gradually becomes a part of your psyche, growing incidiously, until you feel her even when she is not there, a terrific gentle ballad, listen to the words please, and understand the message. Edge of America, is a great LP track, again there is a feel to this song, cutting, romantic and honest. Lake shore driving is a quiet finish to the LP, rounding off this quality offering.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great listen..., 1 Nov 2010
This review is from: Big Thing (Audio CD)
Again, the band took their sound in a radically different direction with this album. Many fans of the band's 'traditional' sound (think classics like Rio, Hungry Like The Wolf or A View To A Kill) didn't really take to the album, and I remember it receiving very mixed reviews, some very unfair, when it was released in 1988. The album came out when House music was all the rage, and fitted in perfectly with the times. Listening to it now, songs like I Don't Want Your Love, All She Wants Is, Too Late Marlene, Drug and the haunting Do You Believe In Shame? still sound remarkably fresh and even hip. This is actually the third time I have bought this album. I first owned it on cassette in 1988, then CD in 1993 and I certainly couldn't resist this latest incarnation, especially as the bonus discs contain some rarities, including a live show from their 'Big Tour Thing' series of concerts following the album's release. Highly recommended if you like this band.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb., 7 Jan 2007
This review is from: Big Thing (Audio CD)
I really struggle sometimes when I read reviews from other fans on albums such as this. For me, it is every bit as good as 'Rio' - if not more so.

As another reviewer stated, 'Drug' is the only piece of work on this album that, for me, is a track I would not miss were it not included.

It just doesn't sit with the rest of the album.

But otherwise, this album is simply stunning. In exactly the same way as 'Rio', it has driving, powerfully fast tunes, and a nice balance of slower material, all produced to very high standards.

Perhaps not an album to listen to every day, it nonetheless benefits from having good equipment, and from having a proper listening session. If I were making a playlist of Duran's work to listen to on the headphones at night, there would be a lot of this album on it. Easily as rewarding as other albums of Duran's which are apparently better liked.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars quirky, 26 April 2007
This review is from: Big Thing (Audio CD)
I guess this is one of Duran's less popular albums when they were going through a dead patch in terms of chart popularity. but I absolutely love it! It is quirky and varied and has lots of originality to it. The first half of the album is upbeat, playful, deliberately trashy, and can I say funky? The second half of the album is quite different with a whole different tropical mellow mood. They do this mood-change thing again, to less effect, in some of their later albums.

I like all the tracks, I think they're all strong, and my favourite depends what mood I'm in, really. I like to just listen to the whole album in one go - let the whole picture wash over me, including the random instrumental bits. It has the most abrupt album finish of all time though! (Lake Shore Driving, my version doesn't have any bonus tracks on it) - which uh... took me by surprise first time around ;-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars durans most original work, 7 Feb 2002
This review is from: Big Thing (Audio CD)
what can is say other than this work has not dated as much as any other of their albums plus it is more varied.title track is almost dirty in sound and in i don't want your love they had a great single.all she wants is i love although i feel they ripped off kraftwerk!
i really liked the moody tracks most namely do you believe in shame,palomino and land-these are to me their best ever tracks.there are no throw away commercial fillers here and what a great climax with edge of america zooming into heavy guitars on closing lake shore driving.
even if early duran is not your thing at all you will like this completely different change in direction.an album for adults not screaming teenage girls!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Big Thing... Even Bigger, 5 April 2011
By 
Stephen B. Winfield "BusMan" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Big Thing (Audio CD)
One of Duran Duran's best albums. Great production from a band just getting their act together after having only 3 members, Warren had only just joined the band and was flexing his muscles, All She Wants Is an absolutely thumping, modern dance number, Do You Believe in Shame, Too Late Marlene, Palamino... beautiful ballads... Duran Duran, just because they are not the most successful band in the world anymore, I don't believe they have the confidence to do what they are good at, they try to make music that they think people want to hear... I Don't Want Your Love, the single and my least favourite track, full of House music trickery, no it doesn't work, Look at Edge Of America/Lake Shore Driving, why was this never a single, listened to as one track, absolutely sublime and very self assured. Again Big Thing, brilliant song..

I have always loved your work, and I would say believe in yourself boys cos you have a legion of dedicated fans and they love what you do... Don't pander to the masses who don't appreciate you.. You may never be as big as you once were, but take satisfaction in the fact that you are still loved for what you do and you do have moments of absolute brilliance even after all these years... This is over twenty years old and still a favourite of mine, when will the serious music press take them seriously...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Duran's finest moment!, 27 Sep 2009
By 
C. O'toole "bigcon" (co. down N ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Big Thing (Audio CD)
Duran Duran like Elton John can never be counted out. Just when you relegate their songs to your local HMV bargain bucket, they pen a classic which puts them back in the A bracket. a tragedy that this 1988 album came out in a doldrums of their career because it's absolutely fantastic!!
A follow up to the seamless funk of "Notorious" the 3 piece Duran Duran shellshocked from the loss of two out of their three Taylors released this classic. Autumn 1988 saw U2's desire as well as "I don't want yout love" all dark funk which was no way related to the album that followed. A christmas present from Christmas 1988, I can remember my initial confusion at hearing the album... Big Thing, a big dirty innuenduous rap/funk/rock number which gives way to "I don't want your love". "All she wants is "is crazy acid rock at the bith of Acieeed and Ibiza blew me away. A psychedelic video drenched with innuendo and orgasmic grunts and Warren Cuccurillo's acid vamp guitar.The bass line throbs with synth beats."Too Late Marlene" is a soothing jazz inflected number with beautiful saxophone. "Drug" is average pop, "Do you believe in shame?" is their finest moment yet, a majestic beautiful melodic ride powered by shimmering guitar and a killer bassline which bemoans the death of a dear friend. "Palomino" is Arabic synthesised beauty with languid fluid guitar. "Land" is a georgeous lament to a loved one leaving with accoustic and howling feedback guitar."The edge of America" is a beuatiful sparse accoustic ballad of a dystopian America with "Vigilantes out on dawn patrol" which fuses into the Urban/Jungle/Rock hybrid that is "Lake shore driving."
This album is a perplexing work of art which I place among the ranks of "Seargant Pepper" without the accolades. It began a fertile p[eriod with the brilliant Warren Cuccurilo which would see the band's fortunes return a few years later with "Ordinary World" The worst thing they did was to re-hire the limited useless Andy Taylor again. Check out the fantastic "Live in Milan" concert from '89 which showcases this material.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A real gem of an album, 5 Aug 2008
By 
L. Green "Feltano" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Big Thing (Audio CD)
Barcode: 0077778983422

One thing Duran Duran have always excelled themselves at is crafting innovative sounds into instantly appealing pop songs and on Big Thing this skill is showcased to perfection. Delving into house music, swifty cutting out its position in the musical climate of 1988, Big Thing sounds fresh and modern and still stands up remarkably well to this day. Building on the crisp, funk vibes of previous album Notorious, guitar largely takes a back seat on this album, replaced by infectious beats and the trademark Duran Duran synths courtesy of Nick Rhodes.

Album opener and title track 'Big Thing' packs an almost industrial beat backed up by chanting vocals. The next track is 'I Don't Want Your Love' - now, i'm a massive fan of this track, it sees the band at their most catchy and instant and taken with later track Drug highlights the danciest moments on the album. These tracks were made for the dancefloor, and if you're a fan of early house music, these two will go down a treat.

'All She Wants Is' presents another slant on this, a sinister synth bassline driving this track and providing the foundations for the contrast that drives 'Big Thing' as an album. On one hand you have the all-out dance tracks like this, but then, as next track 'Too Late Marlene' showcases, some of the band's most subtle material.

'Too Late Marlene' features a soulful vocal from Simon (who's vocals are largely some of his best ever on this album) over a jazzy piano hook. It's got that hint of the melancholy Duran Duran have always managed to capture so well in their ballads. It is these tracks that reward repeat listens and as the sax solo rolls in on this track you could just completely lose yourself in the music - perfect to chill-out to.

'Do You Believe In Shame?' hints at the adult-pop/rock angle the band would further develop in tracks like 'Ordinary World'. You then get 'Palomino' which summed up in one word is simply 'breathtaking'. Whispered, deliciously sensual vocals against a lush musical backdrop and lyrics of 'the scent of burnt sugar', this is poeticism realised - beautiful.

'Land' and 'Edge of America' continue this theme of atmospheric ballads which lead nicely into album closer 'Lake Shore Driving', a rough and ready instrumental track which is the most guitar heavy song on the album. The band have always had a knack at creating fantastic instrumentals like this one and it rounds the overall sound of the album off nicely. And don't worry, the sudden end on this track isn't a problem on your CD, this really is how the track ends - the band's quirky sense of humour shining through as the tape they were recording on apparently ran out and they just decided to leave the track like that.

So, all in all, I'll confess, i didn't fully 'get' this album the first time i listened to it. While the catchiness of 'I Don't Want Your Love' is undeniable i wasn't sure what to think of the laid back grooves of many of the other tracks. However, when i listened a second time the intricate soundscapes of these tracks began to click into place and i realised what a masterpiece this album really is.

Serving as a perfect bridge between the sounds of Notorious and Liberty, Big Thing is a lost treasure in Duran Duran's expansive back catalogue. A phenomenal piece, it's an extremely consistent album and is well worth a listen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Big Thing
Big Thing by Duran Duran (Audio CD - 1997)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews