Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars subtle and sad
kill uncle is the album i most revisit...Morrissey at his saddest, mournful, self aware and introspective- it may not be the smiths, but its theatrical sound is bizarrely underrated.

My favourite ones would be-
asian rut- camp and theatrical telling of a bullied asian boy who turns up for revenge
king leer- morrissey's suggestion that 'tizer' might...
Published on 29 Jun 2011 by pete

versus
9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Moz tampers with another one!
As most Moz fans know, 1991's "Kill Uncle" usually along with 1997's underwhelming "Maladjusted" are frequently described as the runt of the litter by most reviewers and fans alike. While "Maldjusted" is flawed and seems to be Moz going through the motions, with little creativity, lyrical greatness or the wit in which he is usually associated...
Published 15 months ago by Sheridan Whiteside


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars why?, 11 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kill Uncle (Audio CD)
confused at the extra tracks, was it just too obvious to choose 'pregnant for the last time' and 'my lovelife'? east west, pashernate love, no-ones fave b-sides im guessing, but hey, great album, better track orders, and sorry, love king leer!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Some goods tracks but a bit lightweight, 29 Nov 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Kill Unkle [Us Import] (Audio CD)
Not his finest works but there are some good pop songs, notably "sing your life" and "Mute Witness". A hint of what went before and what was to come next with the poignant finale "There is a Place in Hell for Me & My Friends"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WHY ALL THE NEGATIVES?, 2 Mar 2010
By 
This review is from: Kill Uncle (Audio CD)
Being a Moz fan as long as I have and listened to all his works, I fail to see all these negative reviews on this criminally underrated album;
This album is a masterclass in minimal, no big top 10 smashes, yet a beautiful piece which soundtracks topics ranging from spurned love to racism.
The musical arrangements particularly on 'Driving Your Girlfiend Home' and 'The Harsh Truth..' are simply sublime and I fail to see how 'Vauxhall' and 'Quarry' always seem to get the plaudits over 'Uncle'
Lyrics wise, Moz is the master of sarcasm and wit and this is clearly evidenced on this LP.

If you are not yet a truly converted Moz fan, this album will give you (in my opinion) the final nudge required.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars amazed, 17 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kill Uncle (Audio CD)
How can use a review of old releases to sell digitally remastered releases. Surely this should not be allowed as it is completely misleading to potential buyer. Anyone else agree. That said huge Morrissey fan and would have purchased anyway.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Underrated, but still it is no masterpiece, 18 July 2012
This review is from: Kill Uncle (Audio CD)
There's always been much negativity surrounding this album, most likely because it is a poor follow up to Viva Hate and in hindsight, the following album, Your Arsenal surpasses it by far. However, in its own right this is a good album and one that I found quite accessible. The sound of this album is quite mellow and soft, making it a good album to listen to casually or when relaxing.

Our Frank is the single of the time. It is a classic Morrissey track and features over-dubs, something that Morrissey barely used, giving it a unique feel to it. Asian Rut is another track that lead to racist accusasions, but again, all you have to do is listen to the track and the tone of Morrissey's voice to realise that it is not. Also, the eiree strings in the track are quite atmospheric.

Sing Your Life had a prior, more rockabilly version that was far punchier than this, subdued version, yet that doesn't mean that this version is terrible. Mute Witness contains a nice piano piece and is a stand-out piece from the album. The following King Leer also contains a piano, creating a kind of hotel lounge or tea room feel, which I really liked. The lyrics in that track are also humorously tragic. Found Found Found is a rock track that seems somewhat out of place, yet it is nice to have a short blast of energy before the return to the subdued sound of Driving Your Girlfriend Home, which reminds me of a mellower version of King Leer.

The Harsh Truth of The Camera Eye contains some strong lyrics, weird music and vocal delivery, but is quite good. Unfortunately, the outro drags on too long and the music starts to get quite dull.

The penultimate track, (I'm) The End Of The Familiy Line is an ode to either loneliness, asexuality or homosexuality, but whatever you apply it to, it is a song full of meaning and has a fade out reminiscent of The Smiths days. I really enjoyed this song, which was sung full of meaning and again, a standout track. The closer, There Is A Place In Hell For Me And My Friends, is another gentle number, which is a great way of ending the album. It also stands as one of Morrissey's best songs from this era.

I would have to say to view this album as an experimentation, or side project rather than view it in comparison to the other albums, because in its own right, Kill Uncle is a nice little album in Morrissey's discography.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Why Why Why?, 12 April 2013
By 
Mr. M. A. Reed (Argleton, GB) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Kill Uncle (Audio CD)
Now available in a new sleeve, and with extra songs recorded long after the album release, this - and Morrissey's approach in general - baffles me. Morrissey has long regretted the original sleeve art, and even stated clearly in the book "Peepholism" the alternate design he would use, but once again, scrapped that in favour of this bizarre sleeve art. Outside of that, he has changed the tracklist and added two extra songs - a radio session of "There Is A Place", "Pashernate Love" (recorded a year after the "Kill Uncle" LP came out) and a cover of "East/West" recorded 18 months before the album in. This defies logic and sense. At the same time, some of the best non-album tracks "Pregnant For The Last Time", "My Love Life", "The Loop", "I've Changed My Plea" all recorded at the same time, are absent. Once again, Morrissey despoils his catalogue with pointless revisionism and general mucking about. Just reissue the albums as they are, put on extra songs after, don't mix up the various lineups or songs recorded years before or after, and don't delete songs as if they never existed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not such a bad album afterall...perhaps?, 3 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kill Uncle (Vinyl) [VINYL] (Vinyl)
Like many at the time, I was keen to despatch this album to the scrapheap, a "pale decendent" to the brilliance that was 'Viva Hate'. This was the first time, since the heady days of 1983, that Steven Patrick had produced something less than the 5 star material we were so used to and expected. A hard act to follow indeed, however having bought the re-issue I was pleasantly suprised to hear at least a handfull of these songs are worthy contenders for inclusion on one of his many (vexing) compilation "Best Of"s".
This still doesn't reach the dizzying heights of 'Vauxhall & I', 'Viva Hate', 'Your Aresenal' or even the mercurial 'Southpaw Grammar' but it does have some redeeming features in tracks such as 'Found, Found, Found', 'Mute Witness', 'East West', 'The Harsh Truth of the Camera Eye' and the album's best track '(I'm) The End of the Family Line'. Probably not the album for the Moz novice, but worth it if you're an obsessive!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars uncle resurrected, 15 Feb 2009
This review is from: Kill Uncle (Audio CD)
This is a easy Morrissey album to dismiss but recently aquired to make up its abscence in my CD collection due to the disposal of my cassettes a while back I have enjoyed the chance to refamiliarise myself with what is a fine bit of work.
Its perhaps Morrisseys most outward 'Pop' album hence perhaps the misgivings for my part I find its accessability refreshing and find it full of the kind of cynical humour often found in his Smiths work.
Sing your Life, Our Frank, Driving your Girlfriend home...the high points are numerous...perhaps its Smiths by numbers in some respects and Smiths wise the template would be the likes of Ask...enjoyable all the same
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Genius singer, bad album, 6 May 2008
By 
Shorty11857 (Dublin, Ireland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Kill Uncle (Audio CD)
Morrissey is in one word a genius, however this album is not. This is probably the worst album he's ever recorded, actually not probably; this is the worst album he's ever recorded.

Opening with "Our Frank" a good but bland song, although generally there will be one or two songs of this quality on every Morrissey album the problem with this one is it's one of the album's best songs. The next two songs are about of the same quality with "Asian Rut" having a slightly haunting atmosphere and "Sing Your Life" having some nice lyrics.

"Mute Witness" is where the album finally comes alive, it is probably the second best song on the album, even if it could be called a little over the top or whatever on this album it stand outs as being one of the best on here. Sadly the album dies off again with the next song, a song that's not just bland but really just plain bad. The opening line of "King Leer" is probably the worst lyric Morrissey has ever wrote and sadly the next few songs don't get much better with "Found Found Found" and "Driving Your Girlfriend Home" being plain average and "The Harsh Truth of the Camera Eye" being too long and again another bad song.

"(I'm) The End of the Family Line" finally shows that Morrissey can still write a great lyric and is easily the best song on the album. The album closer "There's a Place in Hell for Me and My Friend" while not being really special is a good song which ends the album at the about the same quality at which it started.

It baffles me how someone as amazing as Morrissey could struggle so much to write 33 minutes of good music, half the album is not even good, and it only really has 2 great songs.

If you want to get into Morrissey please don't buy this album, any of his other albums or his albums with the Smiths are much better. If you want to complete your Morrissey collection then by all means pick this album up just don't expect to be blown away. And for the casual Morrissey fan try and get a hold of "(I'm) The End of the Family Line" it's the only really essential Morrissey song on the album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best tales from despair, loneliness and sadness :), 4 Dec 2004
By 
P. Gaspar "JM" (Vila Nova de Gaia Portugal) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Kill Unkle [Us Import] (Audio CD)
This is a great album.Of course not Morrissey's best album, but in fact there are good songs inside.
Songs such as SING YOUR LIFE (one of Morrissey's best songs ever written),while others like DRIVING YOUR GIRLFRIEND HOME, FOUND FOUND FOUND and I'M THE END OF THE FAMILY LINE represent all the despair,sadness,and above all, the loneliness that we all bring inside of us. This is not a list of happy songs for happy people.This album is recommended for people with personal problems, with a sad personal life.But it's a marvellous good album.One of Morrissey's most depressive cd's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Kill Uncle
Kill Uncle by Morrissey (Audio CD - 2003)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews