Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Why is the genius of Chris Difford still unacknowledged?
This album follows in a long line of Squeeze products that have not been given the recognition it deserves. The tracks form part of the most outstanding songs they have ever written. Ridiculous consists of upbeat melodies such as Electric Trains and This Summer to the beautifully harmonies as Temptation For Love and especially Heaven Knows. Heaven Knows is probably my...
Published on 19 Nov 2000 by natbagsd@aol.com

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A lucky Dip of an Album
I have to agree and disagree with the other reviewers of this album. Yes, "This Summer" is a great track, and should have been a huge hit single. Yes, "Electric Trains" is an excellent track, but not quite immediate enough to have been the hit single A&M clearly wanted it to be - largely because the verses are too long and they got the mix wrong.

"Daphne" is a...
Published on 10 April 2011 by AlanMusicMan


Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Why is the genius of Chris Difford still unacknowledged?, 19 Nov 2000
This review is from: Ridiculous (Audio CD)
This album follows in a long line of Squeeze products that have not been given the recognition it deserves. The tracks form part of the most outstanding songs they have ever written. Ridiculous consists of upbeat melodies such as Electric Trains and This Summer to the beautifully harmonies as Temptation For Love and especially Heaven Knows. Heaven Knows is probably my favourite track. The contrast of Difford's soothing and extremely sexy voice with the emotional strength of Tilbrook's. One thing that really stands out on this album is the strength and quality of the songs themselves. When will Difford and Tilbrook ever receive the lifetime achievement award that they surely deserve by now? After all they ain't no spring chickens to the business. Superb.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Saving the best 'till last (nearly), 14 Feb 2008
By 
Well, I haven't got the re-mastered version yet, but I did buy this when it was released and still play it regularly.
This came out after the much praised Some Fantastic Place, but in my opinion it stands up to that very nicely.
Containing some of Difford and Tilbrook's finest 'later period' songwriting, ths is no longer the chirpy chappies of old, but more Chris Difford's examination of a world weary older man, going, as we now know, through some qute painfull mid-life crises.
It always used to surprise me that Squeeze didn't continue their run of hit singles for longer, and the single 'This Summer' MAY have been a bigger hit if it hadn't been released in September.
This also has one of my all time faves, 'Grouch Of The Day', a song that apparently summed of his wife's opinion of the lyricist. It can certainly be about me on a bad day.
This was the last great Squeeze album, and believe me it IS a great album. Some very ill advised line-up changes and a truly dreadfull last album (Domino) did for the band, but having attended their recent live shows with a much better line-up than possibly they've ever had, maybe, on a small scale, the good times, and good tunes, will return.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't be so cavalier, all that you want is here!, 15 April 2009
By 
Buy this album - it's brilliant.

I'm not such a fan of the single "Electric Trains" - it's a little too heavy-handedly adult-oriented for me (it always sounds punchier done live), but maybe that's why it's track one: the whole album seems to deal with, or skirt around issues of, getting older. "Electric Trains", "Grouch of the Day", the brilliant "Walk Away", all seem to refer directly to not being young anymore, in one way or another.

This isn't surprising, considering the band have been around for so long, but what is perhaps surprising is that they manage to make such an album sound so fresh and vibrant, with springs in nearly every step.

The bonus track "This Road" seems to follow "Electric Trains" musically, but produces a far more energetic and up-beat performance; "This Summer" is a brilliant piece of pop music, chords going wonderfully all over the place but the melody staying true, harmonies working perfectly and a chorus so catchy you wonder why it didn't become an instant top-ten (the answer is probably because it's a song about summer, but wasn't released until autumn, perversely); "Daphne", "Grouch of the Day" and "Walk Away" all add to a piece of work that was obviously, at some point by some marketing exec, going to be placed alongside the Britpop movement epitomised by Blur ("Summer that began to blur/ has put us on the calendar"...)

The slower tracks also carry themselves well - "Heaven Knows" is gorgeous, and while it would have seemed an obvious move to put the single on the reissued album, I'm glad they didn't, as it seemed to lose a lot of the eccentricity and character that made the album version so unique (I heard them play the album version at a gig in Cardiff and that's what made me go out and buy the record). It sends shivers down my spine even now, and the lines "sometimes I think life crawls like a snail/ and all our dreams become the wind in your sails" must rank among some of the most heartfelt they've ever written. Similar to "Heaven Knows" is "I Want You", another lovely, wry track that never loses grip on an ironic humour (and incidentally, Difford and Tilbrook prefered it to "Heaven Knows"). But by the time we get to "Temptation For Love", we're treated to such a delicately beautiful song that it's nearly impossible to see how there weren't five or six hit singles from this album in the charts at any one time. Maybe, thinking back to the album's 'theme', the British public simply didn't have an appetite for grown-ups and their music.

Other songs worth mentioning are "Great Escape", which seems to echo "King George Street" from "Cos Fan Tutti Frutti", and the fabulously conflicted "Fingertips", which reminds me of whiskey blues but caused a friend of mine to comment that it sounded like porn music.

This album hangs together almost perfectly. Perhaps there'll always be debates regarding which songs should be included or left out of a reissue, and I love getting involved in them, but whatever your views on the subject, it would be difficult to claim that "Ridiculous" is less than brilliant. An album of gems.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "RIDICULOUS IS SUBLIME!", 22 July 2012
By 
G. M. Twitchett "gazzymodo" (london) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ridiculous (Audio CD)
Along with "Some Fantastic Place", "Ridiculous is Squeeze's Finest Hour. The songs are Rich in melody, lyrical content, playing and production. Glenn Tilbrook's voice has never been better. The emotion of his vocals on songs such as "Walk Away", "I Want You", "Heaven Knows" and "Temptation for Love" are simply Stunning !! Both "Electric Trains" and "Grouch of the day" boast clever witty lyrics, Great Melodies, and Wonderful Harmony and backing vocal work. I have all the Band's albums, time and time again i listen to their 1991-95 period. They Blossomed Beautifully and those albums are Pure Classic Pop Music at it's Absolute Best !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A lucky Dip of an Album, 10 April 2011
By 
AlanMusicMan (North Cornwall) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Ridiculous (Audio CD)
I have to agree and disagree with the other reviewers of this album. Yes, "This Summer" is a great track, and should have been a huge hit single. Yes, "Electric Trains" is an excellent track, but not quite immediate enough to have been the hit single A&M clearly wanted it to be - largely because the verses are too long and they got the mix wrong.

"Daphne" is a good track that revisits "Labelled with love" territory, but adds little other than some nice whimsy.

For me, the stand out track is "Grouch of the Day" - should have been a big hit single - everything about that is spot on (except the ragged ending). Should have been a big-un, though I don't think A&M even released it as a single - did they? Foolish fellows!!

However, as for the rest. Well, "Lost for Words" is good as far as it goes, but sounds unfinished and with a little more work could have been a great track. I personally never 'got' "Heaven Knows" - I was surprised when it was issued as a single. The rest of the tracks sound to me more or less like fillers or also rans.

IMHO therefore, this last proper Squeeze album is a mixed bag - not surprising given the stresses and strains on the band at the time.

Alan T
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars THE GRUMPY UNCLES OF BRITPOP, 19 Mar 2008
Squeeze's final record for A&M in 1995. 'Ridiculous' saw the band at their most polished and mainstream and, following the glorious 'Some Fantastic Place', they once again had the critics on side. The likes of Blur & Elastica were citing Difford & Tilbrook as influences, and their Beatles/Kinks sound had never been more 'hip'.
Of course the problem was that the band had been around for nearly 20 years and, despite releasing consistently well received material, they were, at the end of the day, a bunch of media shy blokes pushing 40 with a record company rapidly losing interest.
Which makes this record even more of a gem - simply because it has some great songs on it, and at least two outright D&T classics. It's overlong and could have done with some pruning 'Sound Asleep' and 'Fingertips' are lazy filler, but the sound is clear and the arrangements, as always, inventive.
'Electric Trains' is a wonderful opener with the second best Difford lyric of the 90's (SFP wins that accolade), and the Beatlesque hit single 'This Summer' is still impossibly catchy. 'Grouch Of the Day' is a bouncing John Lennon homage, 'I Want You' a lovely slowbulding blinder with a tremendous Tilbrook vocal and 'Temptation For Love' a beautiful duet with songstress Cathy Dennis. Bassist Keith Wilkinson also comes up trumps with the fine 'Got To Me' and Difford gives a great vocal performance on the dancey 'Longface'.
The star of the show though is 'Daphne' an oddball little song that manages to be both moving and funny at the same time. It sums up Squeeze in 4 minutes - they never took themselves too seriously and never dumbed down for their audience.
There aren't many extras of note on this reissue except for 'This Road' which sees the basic chord structure and backing track of 'Electric Trains' in it's original form. Where is the magnificent 'Periscope' or the catchy 'Sweet As A Nut' - and why no single edit of 'Heaven Knows' ?
Still as swangsong albums go this is one of the best - (lets just ignore Domino).

cw
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A missed opportunity, 4 Feb 2009
By 
Laurent (Bordeaux, France) - See all my reviews
Ridiculous is an excellent album, the remastering job is very good, not too loud / too compressed like all other reissues out there, but this reissue is really a missed opportunity. With all the live tracks and excellently produced demos released on the CD singles at the time, this should really have been a 2 CD reissue. Instead of this, the bonus tracks waste time and space with a demo of Fingertips that is already available on Tilbrook's demo collection, and a remix of This Summer that is really impossible to tell from the album mix. But the only true leftover from the Ridiculous sessions, the excellent Periscope, is omitted, and you'll still have to buy The Big Squeeze to hear it. What's the point?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ridiculous
Ridiculous by Squeeze (Audio CD - 1997)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews