Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Shakira - Consistently unpredictable!
If you are acquainted with the album 'Dondé están los Ladrones', this album may still surprise you. If your only previous experience of Shakira's music is the singles taken from her most recent release 'Laundry Service', then this could come as a shock.
Like 'Dondé...' it is entirely in Spanish, but this time her distinctive, versatile and...
Published on 17 July 2002 by R. P. Greenhalgh

versus
7 of 25 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Truthfully NOT great at all...
I am a great fan of Shakira and her music and I really like "Laundry Service" and "Donde Estan...". However, when I bought and listened to "Pies Descalzos" (the only one I bought without having listened to it first), I have to say, I was disappointed. Shakira's earliest major album is by far her weakest. Most of the tracks are very average,...
Published on 21 April 2002


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Shakira - Consistently unpredictable!, 17 July 2002
By 
R. P. Greenhalgh "Richard P. Greenhalgh" (Frome, Somerset, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Pies Descalzos (Audio CD)
If you are acquainted with the album 'Dondé están los Ladrones', this album may still surprise you. If your only previous experience of Shakira's music is the singles taken from her most recent release 'Laundry Service', then this could come as a shock.
Like 'Dondé...' it is entirely in Spanish, but this time her distinctive, versatile and emotive vocals are set against a largely acoustic background. Occasionally the more robust 'rock' influences, so much in evidence on the later albums, are detectable (in fact, Estoy Aquí, the opening track on this album appears again on 'Dondé...'. At others she seems to be heading towards the realms of acoustic folk. If that wasn't enough, the tracks 'Un Poco de Amor' and 'Vuelve' have influences as strange as they are inventive.
I heard Shakira interviewed on the radio recently. Talking about 'Laundry Service', she said that her songs had a mix of styles and influences. That is true of all the albums, so she is certainly truthfully consistent - consistently unpredictable. 'Pies Descalzos' was written seven years ago, and though this album is unlikely to become a bestseller now, at least it is available to us. It is certainly worthwhile listening, and far more than a warm-up act for someone who has just recently become headline news over here.
In any case it is her third solo album - though as far as I know, the first two 'Pelligro' and 'Magia' have never seen the light of day over here.
I hope she hasn't forgotten how to write songs like the best of those on this album. The diversity of her songwriting and the music which complements it can, combined with her vocals, be breathtaking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the beginning..., 12 April 2002
This review is from: Pies Descalzos (Audio CD)
This was Shakira's first widely released album from 1995, when she was only 18 years old, and managed to sell 4 million copies despite only being released to latin markets. Now we've finally got the opportunity to get our hands on it in the UK, I'd just like to recommend it to everyone who bought Laundry Service and is intrigued to find out more about Shaki's past work.
The album itself is a little different to her current material- there's the obvious language difference, but the musical style is also a little more acoustic and earthy. This is a CD full of simple production across all styles. I should point out that these styles are quite varied, ranging from dancey pop (Estoy Aqui) to reggae (Un Poco de Amor). However, the vast majority of music here is guitar driven songwriter fare, and not that different from what you might hear from your average US artist. But don't let that detract from the quality of the songs- they're very competently written and produced, and Shaki's own unique and powerful way of singing is very prominent here.
Basically, this is a guitar pop, in the loosest sense of the word, record. The songs are growers and often only reveal how catchy they really are after a few listens. Lyrically they are also great- translations are easily found on the web if you don't speak spanish, and even without it's easy to feel the song through the emotion in her voice.
I can only totally recommend this record, and say that it is one of the few CDs I have ever owned that actually improves on each listen. Both Shaki fans and anyone who has an interest in intelligent female singers will enjoy this. It's a fantastic buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another great album by Shaki!, 11 April 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Pies Descalzos (Audio CD)
Fantastic! If you like Donde Estan Los Ladrones then this is the album for you. Although slightly more acoustic than Donde.... there are still hints at rock, for example on the track "Vuelve". Again, Shakira shows her creative lyrics and mix of rock/pop/world music can't fail to get your toes tapping.
Songs to look out for are the reggae infused "Un Poco De Amor", "Te Necesito" (impossibly catchy chorus), "Te Espero Sentada" with it's jazzy style ending, the title track "Pies Descalzos, Suenos Blancos" and the almost bagpipe like sounds of "se Quiere Se Mata". Saying that, all the tracks are great!
One song that does stray a tiny bit from the Shakira we know and love is "Pienso En Ti". This song has hardly any backing music and is almost purely Shaki's voice and nothing else. Listen to this if you're in a reflective mood, and marvel at how different her voice is to anyone else's. Though it's not your usual Shakira, it's still brilliant.
All Shakira fans need to add this to their collection, and if you just want to listen to something original and catchy, i recommend this fully!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I liked these songs immediately, 14 May 2006
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pies Descalzos (Audio CD)
The songs on Pies Descalzos are lively and beautiful with some great chorus lines to sing along to.Musically,Pies Descalzos is not as sophisticated as her later album "Donde Estan Los Ladrones" (which has exceptional songs like Ojos Asi on it) but I still find myself listening to it time after time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Shakira's First and Best, 23 Jun. 2002
By 
This review is from: Pies Descalzos (Audio CD)
I bought this CD in 1995 when it was released in Spain and bought it for one track only which was a hit at the time "Un Poco De Amor". I absolutely love this album and rate it as her best. Both this and the MTV Unplugged are two classic albums. A lot of people didn't know about Shakira before "Laundry Service" was released and since that release, the world has gone Shakira mad. Please don't just rate "Laundry Service". You have to buy her other albums first before you can judge it. I currently have all 5 albums in my collection and this one is the First and Best in my opinion
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Music, Well Sung, and Good for Learning Spanish!, 6 Jun. 2014
By 
Mark Syder (Prescot, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pies Descalzos (Audio CD)
Having studied Spanish using a CD course I am amazed at how many words I understood on first listen. I assure you, I am not bragging about my linguistic skills - that comment is to praise Shakira on the clarity of her voice.

Moving on to the music, which I am sure is of more interest to you than how clearly Shakira sings, the disc starts with Estoy Aqui. For this listener this is the true highlight of the album. Please don't take that as an indication that it goes downhill from track 2 - every track is good: it just happens to start with the best one.

Shakira is never a singer who can be pigeon-holed. This disc contains an excellent mix of soft and upbeat music, and a good mix of Latin instruments and more usual Rock/pop instruments. As a former percussionist myself, I enjoyed hearing bongos and timbales on this CD. The music covers several different styles, including Shakira's trademark blend of Latin music with Rock. As others have mentioned, there is also a Reggae song on here.

I have three minor quibbles (but they're too minor to justify deducting a star):

1. The tracklisting on the CD cover is less than 100% accurate. The tracks are listed out of order and when I convert them to MP3 at least two of them have the wrong name. I definitely can't deduct a star for that, as it's possible that not all pressings of the CD have this fault.

2. Un Poco De Amor is a good song, but it would be better without the backing vocals.

3. The chorus of Quiero sounds similar to Estoy Aqui (we're talking about a few notes, so again it would be unfair to deduct a star).

For me, the other highlights were Te Espero Sentada, which blends Latin music and Rock seamlessly; Vuelve, a slow Rock song; and Se Quiere Se Mata, another Rock song.

Listen to Estoy Aqui and marvel at how she sings the chorus so fast - I couldn't sing that fast in English!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Barefoot, 29 Dec. 2009
By 
A. G. Lockhart (Northants, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pies Descalzos (Audio CD)
This is an early recording by Shakira, at the age of 18, before she became an international star. Although the production does not have the glamour and sparkle of later discs, it is a must for anyone who enjoys Shakira's music. The numbers on this CD demonstrate, if any demonstration is needed, that Shakira is at her best in her native language.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A real talent, 5 April 2011
This review is from: Pies Descalzos (Audio CD)
Shakira's first album already shows all the talent she has. Her sound is new and original and her voice unique.
Maybe more acoustic and pop than the rest of her albums. "Pies Descalzos" contains some of shakira's classic, such as "Donde estas Corazon, Estoy Aqui, Un Poco de Amor"

For a start, it is a reallyyy good album
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of her best, 15 Dec. 2009
By 
Ms. S. M. Menezes "Susana" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Pies Descalzos (Audio CD)
This is Shakira before she surrendered to silicone ease of the US market. Deep thoughtfull and even socially charged songs from a great singer/ song writter. This is why I fell in love with her music and why I still go back to buy album after album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Latin, 31 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pies Descalzos (Audio CD)
This lady can'y do wrong!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Pies Descalzos
Pies Descalzos by Shakira (Audio CD - 2002)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews