Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars More rock opera from the master of the genre
I guess the follow-up to the mammoth epic that was "Bat out of Hell 2" was always going to be hard work. Fortunately, Mr Loaf and the gang didn't just try and reproduce the preceding album, but instead opted for a more eclectic approach to rock-opera, borrowing songs not just from the ubiquitous Jim Steinman but from Diane Warren, Paul Jacobs/Sarah Durkee, and even Tom...
Published on 17 Jan 2003

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Average
Bit disapointed with this album. It seems like an album of 'b' sides, all OK but nothing apart from one or two tracks worth remembering.
Published on 13 Mar 2012 by Mr Stone


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars More rock opera from the master of the genre, 17 Jan 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Welcome To The Neighbourhood (Audio CD)
I guess the follow-up to the mammoth epic that was "Bat out of Hell 2" was always going to be hard work. Fortunately, Mr Loaf and the gang didn't just try and reproduce the preceding album, but instead opted for a more eclectic approach to rock-opera, borrowing songs not just from the ubiquitous Jim Steinman but from Diane Warren, Paul Jacobs/Sarah Durkee, and even Tom Waits. The result is a collection of very fine, preposterous, overblown songs in the grand Meat Loaf tradition - but each one knows exactly when and how to stop. The variety of songwriters lends this album a similar atmosphere to "Bad Attitude", as does the wonderful B-movie-inspired artwork that adorns the album. Not many of the songs are real stand-outs - possible exceptions include the long-awaited interpretation of the Steinman classic "Left in the Dark", and the beautiful Tom Waits ballad "Martha" - one or two even fall a bit flat ("Original Sin" is nowhere near as good as the Pandora's Box original) - but every one is a good, solid, classic Meat Loaf performance and it's wellnigh impossible to complain about that! The singles "I'd Lie for You" and "Not a Dry Eye in the House" are just catchy enough to lodge firmly in your head too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Second only to "Bat Out Of Hell" - and only just!, 30 Oct 2000
By 
What can I say? You've got to hear it! Words don't come even come close. Every track (with the exception of number 6 - the Mexican one) is a classic. From the immense "I'd Lie For You (And That's The Truth)" to the sensouos little "45 Seconds Of Ecstacy"(that's how it's spelled on the CD), every track is a revelation. Get it - or forever be the poorer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A FANTASTIC COLLECTORS EDITION, 22 Jun 2011
By 
Rebecca Thompson (Sheffield, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having already purchased this cd several years ago I was bit reluctant to purchase it again but I am so glad I did. I am a huge Meat Loaf fan (having seen him in concert three times) and this is one of my all time favourite Meat Loaf cds.
As well as the original Welcome To The Neighbourhood album you also get a live Cd which is great but for me the best part was the bonus dvd which is approx 45 minutes long.
It features the full length videos for Not a Dry Eye In The House and I'd Lie For You And That's The Truth as well as Meat Loaf Performing these 2 songs on Top Of The Pops.
Also included is a breif interview with Meat Loaf where he talks about how he came up with the idea for the album.
Worth buying just for the dvd. I love Meat Loaf and I would really like to see him bring out a dvd with all of his music videos on. Until then I'm happy to have this dvd and think the CD is great value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bat Out Of Hell 2 and a half., 11 Nov 2006
This review is from: Welcome To The Neighbourhood (Audio CD)
Released relatively soon (2 years; quite quick for Mr. Loaf) after Meat's previous album, Bat II, this album could have been Bat Out Of Hell III as, so I've read, Jim and Meat were discussing the idea, but Jim did not have the material. Meat wrote that this album is a guy's life story from his first date ('When The Rubber Meets The Road'). Although there are some (already recorded) Steinman songs on here, this is esentially a non Steinman album but is one of Meat's very best. Steinman's songs are standout tracks, especially the superb 'Left In The Dark' which Steinman had recorded on 'Bad For Good'; obviously a Meat song from the start. However, this is the first time that we hear the non Steinman songs starting to sound as if they are Steinman songs. This is especially the case with the excellent 'I'd Lie For You (And That's The Truth)'. The title alone sounds as if it could be Steinman. The actual song itself does, as well. And it's 6 and a half minutes long! But it was written by Dianne Warren. It was also a successful single. The funny seagues both work well, and all in all, it's a very satisfying listen, and the quality of the songs is maintained throughout. Meat is in excellent voice, and the album rocks throughout very nicely. It's one of Meat's best, and is up there with the Bat stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wow, 27 April 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Welcome To The Neighbourhood (Audio CD)
Only one way to describe this CD. WOW. Even without the work of JimSteinman for most of the album, it still hits all the right notes andmakes for very good listening. Another smash under Meatloaf's belt.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great album, 19 April 2013
By 
James Walls (Nr Stroud, Gloucester) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
And worth it for the "bonus" tracks alone which is basically a live "best of" album.
The original album itself is very good, it's not Bat out of Hell, but the ballad rock factor is there and that is what I wanted it for. Great listen
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Fantastic Collectors Edition for Meat Loaf Fans, 21 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
After the collectors edition of Bat Out Of Hell 2, Virgin records has decided to re-release Meat's only other studio album from the 90's "welcome to the neighbourhood" in a deluxe 3 disc edition, very simular to the previous Bat 2 release. As with the previous deluxe edition you get a DVD that contains all the promo videos that were made for the album as well 2 top of the pops performances and a sort promo press kit made for the release of the album back in the day, it is great to finally get dvd quality videos of "i'd lie for you" and "not a dry eye in the house" to go with the videos from Bat 2 and the hits out of hell dvd collection. Unfortunately the dvd is house in the side cardboard sleeve so be careful or you might scratch the disc.

Alot of attenion has been paid to the packaging to this release when you open the cardboard case you are greeted with the set list for the tour that went with this album and when you fully open the sleeve's it shows the picture sleevs to the cd singles that were released to promote the album and have also been included as bonus tracks at the end of the cd1, which also includes the fantastic single "is nothing sacred" the duet edition which you could only get either on the vh1 story tellers disc or the original 1999 single. The linner booklet also includes expanded notes like seen in the Bat 2 release which inculdes some good stories about the build up to the making of the album and also antidotes that can be found in Meats book to hell and back.

Also like the Bat 2 release this set also includes a live CD which is fantastic and I was eager to hear running for the red light live but this was not the case it sounds just like the version that is found on the studio album so this was one of the only miss-leading things about this set, the only thing that would have made this set complete would have been a live concert dvd that is shown in the press kit would have made it complete.

For the price of 5 for a 3 disc deluxe edition set like this don't think about it just buy it and enjoy Meat Loaf at his prime and best with some great rock tracks and haunting ballads that can bring a tear to your eye.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Review of Collector's Edition & DVD, 24 Jun 2011
By 
eastvillage (Greenleaf, Utah) - See all my reviews
Yes, the DVD is playable on American players, but no, it is not 45 min. like the other reviewer said, more like 25 min. and the two live performances are lipsynced, but that's ok because I don't think Meat sounds good live. Spectacular collection. Well worth the money especially for the bonus tracks, two by Lennon/McCartney and one by Rodgers & Hammerstein. Correction: it says that "Is Nothing Sacred" is the full version, but this is incorrect. It's actually the longer single edit. The full studio version is about a minute longer and can be found on "The Very Best Of Meat Loaf," but without Patti Russo. The booklet is pretty dense which is good. Long story short, this edition is a MUST for Meat fans.

FYI: This edition was on the UK iTunes store for a few days then it was taken down. Hope everything's ok legally.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Welcome To the Neighbourhood, 31 Mar 2009
By 
Mr. O. C. Tipler "Chubby" (Northampton, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Welcome To The Neighbourhood (Audio CD)
Welcome To The Neighbourhood was originally meant to be Bat III but at the last minute the name changed.
If you want to hear some of Meat Loaf's best songs. Buy this album. Every song captures your mind and drags it into the imaginary world where vivid imagery runs through your mind and makes the album a world and you can see what happens through each event of a song.
If you find yourself singing along after a couple of times of hearing the album dont resist. Just let yourself go and feel the album how Meat feels it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What "Bat Out Of Hell 2" Should've Been Like..., 8 Nov 2001
By A Customer
If, like me, you were disappointed with MeatLoaf's "Bat Out Of Hell II: Back Into Hell" CD, do yourself a favour and go buy this album. Quite simply, this should've been "Bat II". The songs are better, the production isn't OTT and it's more enjoyable.
"I'd Lie For You (And That's The Truth") is similar in many ways to "I'll Do Anything For Love (But I Won't Do That)", only better. "Not A Dry Eye In The House" is one of Meat's best ballad's, whereas "If This Is The Last Kiss...." is just awesome. One of my favourite tracks is the one used to end this rock opera: "Where Angels Sing". Sheer class!
"Welcome To The Neighbourhood" may be shadowed by it's predecessor "Bat Out Of Hell II", but the more I listen to this CD, the more I'm beginning to like it better.
Jon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Welcome To The Neighbourhood
Welcome To The Neighbourhood by Meat Loaf (Audio CD - 1995)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews