Customer Reviews


276 Reviews
5 star:
 (226)
4 star:
 (21)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (13)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars STILL ONE OF THE BEST ALBUMS EVER
It is not often that I feel compelled to write on a website but I have to say that this is Oasis at thier most amazing, ear shattering, melodic best. After this album things went seriously downhill and if Liam and Noel cannot even remeber recording this due to thier drug induced haze at the time my advice would be to go back to the drugs. For me the standout track isn;t...
Published on 12 Dec. 2006 by Mr. C. J. Williams

versus
10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Awesome classic album terrible remaster!
Of course this album is a Britpop classic par excellence all swagger attitude and tunes the soundtrack of a generation. Disc 2 and 3 are great collating all the b sides and rarities. But the remastering is awful. Everything has had the life compressed out of it another brickwall travesty. Noel's backing vocals and all the acoustic guitar tracks are just compressed into...
Published 5 months ago by Bad Monkey Mick


‹ Previous | 1 228 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars STILL ONE OF THE BEST ALBUMS EVER, 12 Dec. 2006
By 
Mr. C. J. Williams (Leicester United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
It is not often that I feel compelled to write on a website but I have to say that this is Oasis at thier most amazing, ear shattering, melodic best. After this album things went seriously downhill and if Liam and Noel cannot even remeber recording this due to thier drug induced haze at the time my advice would be to go back to the drugs. For me the standout track isn;t wonderwall (overated), nor don't look back in anger (still brilliant), it is track 5 - Hey Now! What an absolute stonker of a song still being played nearly every day on my ipod 12 years on and all for the last chorus which in terms of musical arrangement and pure emotion far surpasses any other rock track I have ever listened too. Listen to i again and I defy you not to get shivers up your spine. For that I thank Oasis, for Little James I stopped buying your records. If only they were writing stuff like this now....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Awesome classic album terrible remaster!, 30 Sept. 2014
Of course this album is a Britpop classic par excellence all swagger attitude and tunes the soundtrack of a generation. Disc 2 and 3 are great collating all the b sides and rarities. But the remastering is awful. Everything has had the life compressed out of it another brickwall travesty. Noel's backing vocals and all the acoustic guitar tracks are just compressed into background mush with very little definition. Liam's right how can you remaster something that has already been mastered correctly in the first place? Best version is an original vinyl with Bonehead's Bank Holiday. The SACD version is great too. Or just an original CD version. Still the extras on CD2 and 3 are great. Favourite being the Lynch Mob version of Champagne Supernova. I'm guessing the songs on CD2 and 3 have not been butchered by brick wall remastering as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars (What's The Story) a graphic equaliser reccomended to take the bass down, well worth the dosh just for discs 2 and 3!!!!!!!!!!!, 25 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As with the previous album the Definitely Maybe re-mastered the bass on this has been massively upped, to listen loud but in comfort you need to have either a pop setting or a graphic equaliser and take the bass right down. Other than that it's a good job done, the vocals have been greatly improved on both the original album re-master and the extra tracks, the clarity although better still means the original mater still has it's place, not everybody's cup of tea but don't let anything put you off buying this.

Disc's 2 and 3 are worth having even if you like the mix of the album re-master, I have most of the tracks on Japanese issues or rarities and re-mastered I found them a lot better clarity. Unlike DM I don't think most of these tracks are meant to played full pelt, it's nice to hear tracks like Talk Tonight, It's Better People, The Masterplan and Brendon Lynch's mix of Champagne Supernova and and able to hear the instruments separated, Paul Wellers lead sections on CS is fantastic hearing the solo's as they really should have been!!!!!!!!!!!! Overall well impressed with the work done on both re-masters!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Pure Joy To Listen To, 19 Jun. 2008
This review is from: (What's The Story) Morning Glory? (Audio CD)
Music toffs will always scoff at Oasis, but this album is simply irrisistable. First of, let's get some things straight here: This album is entirely unoriginal. There is nothing new here - you'll listen and you'll go 'oh, that sounds a bit like *INSERT CLASSIC BRITISH GUITAR ACT OF YESTERYEAR*'.

It doesn't seek to make an 'artistic point' either. No point in analysing the lyrics to the majority of these tunes. It would be best to look at their b-sides if you want heartfelt meaning to Oasis tunes.

But the fact is these things don't matter in the slightest - and the music toffs are far too narrow minded to realise this. The album is bursting with hooks and melodies that you'll be whistling to all day long. It's impossible not to be swept off your feet by the optimistic and all round positive feel of the album - it's gives you the urge to singalong to every tune.

The lesser known tunes such as Cast No Shadow and Hey Now are lyrically the best on the album and you actually make sense of them but for the most part it's all big, loud and fun. And it's all done with conviction. And it's heartfelt. There's nothing contrived or forced about these songs (which is what many rock acts do when they crace mainstream success - you can tell it's all forced... ahem, Kings of Leon). This makes you care for these songs and it makes you think Noel Gallagher was having as much fun and feeling the same emotions when he was writing the songs as it is to listen to them.

Vocals wise, Liam Gallagher just gets on top of the songs like no other singer in rock could. There's a snarling confidence to his voice without sounding confrontational.

It is justifiably one of the greatest albums of all time, and with their debut Definitely Maybe and their b-sides collection The Masterplan, this is one of those essential albums you have to own. Although it lacks the poignancy of Definitely Maybe and The Masterplan (due to the majority of banal lyrics on the album), it makes up for its sheer euphoric sound which no other mainstream rock act has been able to touch upon.

Were these songs written for stadiums? No I don't think so - rather, stadiums were built for these songs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A 90's classic, 26 April 2013
This review is from: (What's The Story) Morning Glory? (Audio CD)
In many ways I personally shouldn't particularly like this album. I'm not really a fan of the Gallagher's, as personalities, I shouldn't rate the vocals much either, but this is just one of those albums, that just seems to work. This is driven mainly by the quality of the actual music and whilst they will never rank among the great singers, somehow the vocal's seem to fit with the music perfectly.

"Hello" is an OK opener. However the album really comes to life with "Roll With It" followed by the excellant "Wonderwall" and "Don't Look Back In Anger". "Hey Now!" isn't quite as good, but still perfectly fine. This is followed by a little guitar break before Oasis crank up "Some Might Say". "Cast No Shadow" is a pretty good ballad. "She's Electric" has a really catchy tune. "Morning Glory" a short guitar break and the closing "Champagne Supernova" conclude the album with a nice balance.

Many drew comparisions between Oasis and The Beatles at the time, but for me their more rocky, bluesy sound is closer to The Rolling Stones. I wonder how many others would share this view?

Definately a 90's classiic then, although it shouldn't be my cup of tea, as an album it has to be 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Firstly excellent service from Amazon again, 3 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Firstly excellent service from Amazon again, free delivery on the release date, also I got a £7 refund as a pre-ordered for £26.99. As for the album, it is brilliant, a must have for sure. Classic Oasis at their best! The remastering gives slight improvements on some tracks but nothing major. Overall a great LP and a good price considering it includes a download code for the bonus discs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Beatless ?? Not Exactly, 11 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: (What's The Story) Morning Glory? (Audio CD)
I owned this CD over ten years ago and loved it. Loved Almost every track. A great CD to have in the car to give you some lively, energetic and melodic background music . Somewhere along the line, I lost my CD and just recently after all these years decided to re-purchase it again.

Still a great CD and even after all these years the music is still soulful and dare I say it "music to my ears". However, unlike the Beatles and other classic timeless songs of yester-year. I felt there was a tinge of "outdated-ness" about their music. After all these years it made me listen to the lyrics and the songs with fresh ears and whilst overall its good, hence the 4 stars, a couple of the songs on the CD are just so-so in my opinion. Oasis are and were trying to be too much like the Beatles and you can't help but feel that each song has some mixture of Beatle-ness about it.

But don't get me wrong, I think they are talented in their own rights and overall its a pretty good CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Album!, 12 Feb. 2013
By 
Amazon Customer (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: (What's The Story) Morning Glory? (Audio CD)
Please note: This review is for the standard original deluxe edition, and not for the recent 2014 re-issue.

With so many reviews (most of which are positive) for Oasis' second album already on here, it seems rather pointless to write another piece about how good the band's second album was. I would just like to add that '(What's The Story) Morning Glory?' deserves all of the acclaim that it received and is definitely one of the best albums to come from the 1990s.

With such great song writing and brilliant music, I think that '(What's the Story) Morning Glory?' will be still selling copies in another 20 years time. The tracks were so good that the four singles released in the UK all peaked within the top 2, two of them went to number one.

Very rarely do I say this, but there really isn't a bad track on here (well, apart from the pointless melodies 'Track 6' which is like an interlude, and 'Track 11' which feels like a built up to the next song). 'Roll With It' is a classic, and probably the most widely known song, it is very catchy, 'Wonderwall' is another classic, which to me is the band's finest hour, with Liam Gallagher's vocals at a peak. Then of course there is 'Don't Look Back in Anger' and 'Champagne Supernova', a mixture of hard-rock with a beautiful melody, which are my personal favourites, the latter being the perfect way to finish the album.

Timeless, and highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


59 of 73 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars (What's the story) Morning Glory?, 23 July 2002
I could take hours just briefly summing up the brilliance and pure talent which have been packed into an album which displays the talent of Oasis. 1995's "(What's the Story) Morning Glory" was without doubt, the best album released by Oasis to date. It has everything - a vast blend of tinny, acoustic riffs, marvellous ballads, and the trademark voice of Liam Gallagher.
For once, an album I've bought has the perfect mix of various styles of music, squeezed into just twelve tracks. Every track on this album is excellent - it's not one of those albums which has one or two tracks which could have been produced better. Tracks such as "Wonderwall", "Don't look back in anger", and "Champagne Supernova" are simply brilliant - these tracks built foundations for the success of Oasis, which have become one of Britain's most popular bands in recent years.
Track 1: Hello
With the beginning of "Wonderwall" floating at the beginning of this track, the immediate use of crunching guitar solos make this a marvellous start to the album. The lyrics are extremely clever - they tell it like it is!
Track 2: Roll With It
A superb track, which proves variety as well as quality in the album. The straining vocals of Liam Gallagher make this track marvellous, and the occasional guitar solo from Noel Gallagher improves the track further.
Track 3: Wonderwall
This is one of my favourite records of all time. A beginning which blends tinny, acoustic steel-string guitars with Double-bass and drums is genius, the lyrics are very clever, and Liam's vocals are perfect for the track. You should buy the album just plainly for this track.
Track 4: Don't Look Back In Anger
A mix of John Lennon, and Noel Gallagher at the beginning of the track gets it off to a flying start. Once again, guitars, drums, piano, bass guitars, all mixed into one beautiful Oasis classic. Lyrics famously used on the terraces in football grounds across the world - unbelievable.
Track 5: Hey Now
Not saying that this track is bad, but compared to the other tracks on the album, this is probably the worst song on the album. It seems a track which has been slightly rushed, but it's still very good. The vocals of the belting Liam Gallagher remain strong.
Track 6:
Very short, simple guitar.
Track 7: Some Might Say
A classic track which combines powerful vocals and lyrics with beautiful guitar distortion. Lyrics are all cleverly written (once again) but this time have the ability to touch everyone in a certain way.
Track 8: Cast no Shadow
How do you some up a track like this? A smooth, easy-listening track which is calm, relaxed and harmonic. Beautiful vocals and backing vocals - this track displays a soft, smooth, romantic side to Oasis.
Track 9: She's Electric
It starts brilliantly, it ends perfectly. A great mix of jazz piano and guitar, rolled into one track which lasts only three minutes and forty seconds. The lyrics are hilarious, easy to remember, and one of those tracks you are not ashamed to perform at a karaoke evening. The backing vocals are similar to the last track.
Track 10: Morning Glory
You'll remember this track for a long time. Guitar solos, powerful lyrics and vocals, and a beautifully paced tempo. This track is one that reveals a rash, dirty side to Oasis.
Track 11:
Quick track, which shows the talent of Oasis guitarist Noel Gallagher.
Track 12: Champagne Supernova
This is one of the most beautiful, soothing records ever churned out by Oasis. A blend of guitar fuelled agression, which is evident from the beginning of the track. It's seven minutes of pure genius, as Oasis end an album which will be remembered forever.
A marvellous album, which is a must-buy CD for any Oasis fan. A marvellous, challenging mix of guitar, intense drumming, and powerful vocals. I can't explain the feeling you receive when you listen to an album of such quality. I seriously doubt Oasis will ever match the quality of "(What's the Story) Morning Glory?" again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best album i've ever heard, just brilliant!, 21 Jan. 2004
If there is 1 album you absolutely must own it is this one. All 10 tracks are stunning (track 6 and 11 are samples from The Swamp Song, found on The Masterplan). No one can mock this album, as every single track on here could have been a single. How many albums can live up to that? Not many! Any artist would have given their right hand to have written any one of these songs. Liam's voice is breathtaking, as is Noel's on the famous Don't Look Back In Anger.
Hello - A great intro to the album, loud and brilliant lyrics
and you will be singing the chorus over and over.
Roll With It - Very catchy lyrics and great music. A bit repetetive in places but the tune is so good you don't care.
Wonderwall - This is the first of three tracks which stand out on this album. Very meaningful lyrics and great acoustic guitar and drums. You will love this song it is quite simply stunning.
Don't Look Back In Anger - Another stand out track. Noel sings this one and his effort shines through. This song will give you shivers down your spine, it is very uplifting and superb from start to finish.
Hey Now - Not one of the best songs, but still great non the less. Drags on a bit but the lyrics are good.
Some Might Say - Now this is Rock'n'Roll! Brilliant lyrics combined with stunnig guitar riffs, their first Number 1 single.
Cast no Shadow - A sad slow song to listen to when you're depressed it will cheer you up. Liam's voice is superb on this song.
She's Electric - More pop than Rock'nRoll but extremely catchy. This is the type of song you would know all the words to when you were a kid and would sing over and over again!
Morning Glory - The title track and the anthem of the album. Brilliant intro and it just gets better from there. Powerful lyrics, this song is loud!
Champagen Supernova - The last track and one of the standout tracks aswell. Over 7 minutes long but it only feels like 3! It has a very relaxing verse before building up to a heavy chorus and the lyrics are just superb. Why didn't they release this as a single?!
I've only given this 5 stars because i can't give it 500 stars. The combination of great lyrics combined with the sheer brilliance of the music make this is the best album i have ever heard, and ever will hear in my entire life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 228 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

(What's The Story) Morning Glory?
(What's The Story) Morning Glory? by Oasis (Audio CD - 2010)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews