Customer Reviews
On


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Things!
When I first heard Echobelly back in the mid-nineties, I wasn't that impressed. There were so many excellent indie bands around at the time and I unfairly categorised and dismissed Sonya Madan and the group as average Sleeper-like bandwagon jumpers. However, as I worked in a music store at the time, several of the singles, which were on heavy rotation, started to work...
Published 19 months ago by Andy Sweeney

versus
2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Reasonable indie
This is an OK album.
Lots of overdriven guitar chords, a decent drummer, and a good female vocalist, for the uninitiated.
Two hit singles spawned from this release (Great Things and King of the Curb), which are very good tunes with solid choruses, and there are a couple of other songs that aren't bad, but there are too many fillers included for my taste - an...
Published on 22 Nov 2002 by Dr Nick


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Things!, 6 Jun 2013
By 
Andy Sweeney "music was my first love" (Brighton, East Sussex) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: On (Audio CD)
When I first heard Echobelly back in the mid-nineties, I wasn't that impressed. There were so many excellent indie bands around at the time and I unfairly categorised and dismissed Sonya Madan and the group as average Sleeper-like bandwagon jumpers. However, as I worked in a music store at the time, several of the singles, which were on heavy rotation, started to work their way into my mind and, eventually, I relented and bought this album. It was one of those albums that I was almost annoyed to admit that I really liked, but I did - and I still do. Although this is very much an album of the time, released when "Britpop" was very much the big thing (about the only time in my personal history when my musical taste has been remotely mainstream), listening to it now still reveals it to be a very melodic, energetic, enjoyable experience. The big singles (the maddeningly catchy "King Of The Kerb, the irrepressibly upbeat "Great Things" and the quietly epic "Dark Therapy") are all superb, but this release is much more than just a few good singles with a lot of padding - "On" is also a very good album in pretty much its entirety and there are another handful of tracks which could also easily have been singles.

I don't think this is just nostalgia talking, either. "Go Away" has a great winding riff, "Pantyhose & Roses" is a great little kitchen-sink drama, the way the album opener, "Car Fiction", immediately builds the tension is an excellent statement of intent, "Natural Animal" boasts a powerful chorus with a great vocal performance and "Something Hot In A Cold Country" is a beautifully dreamy piece with a memorable chorus. The nearest the album gets to throwaway indie is "Four Letter Word" which does, sadly, seem to go through the motions and convinces far less than the rest of their second album. I have to admit that it loses points for a slight lack of originality, but the songs are strong enough to sound fantastic nearly two decades after its release, the band are tight, Sonya's voice is likeable, expressive and always just the right side of twee. Although I can't quite say that this album is one of the greatest ever made and that it's an absolutely essential purchase, it's extremely good. If you enjoy listening to indie bands from the mid and late nineties, then I would hazard a guess that "On" would be a very welcome addition to your collection. Listening to it today, it still sounds as excellent as it always did and, quite honestly, it's all rather fulfilling... no empty feeling inside at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Memory of a great year, 14 Jan 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: On (Audio CD)
The years 1995-96 were the best ever, and "Great Things", "Dark Therapy" and "King of the Kerb" soundtracked some great moments. "Something Hot in a Cold Country" is a song that I played over and over again at a time when I was being trawled through the mud.... This is one of my special albums.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Im ON-board, 9 Mar 2009
By 
NCA "NCA" (Southampton, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: On (Audio CD)
A great female fronted band.A good consistent album, all good tunes with a 90's feel.

This still stands up way past the 90's and hopefully will continue to do so....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Music, 2 Mar 2014
By 
Mr. J. Cooper "big ears" (maidstone kent uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: On (Audio CD)
Arrived in good time and in good condition and apparently the music is great according to my music mad idiot of a son whom i do the ordering for i'm just pleased for everyone that he lives on his own and never plays his music when my wife and i visit anyway thanks it keeps him quiet
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great, great album, 10 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: On (Audio CD)
Just love this Album. It's bordering on radio friendly but has enough 'indy' in it to satisfy. If you came to it because of 'Dark Therapy' you'll stay for the rest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Part Of The 1990s Britpop Canon, 16 Jan 2012
By 
A. Marczak "mazzarak" (Mordor) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: On (Audio CD)
In the mid 1990s, there was a big fight going on in the music industry, between Blur and Oasis. You'd be forgiven for thinking that there was nothing else going on but, quietly in the background, plenty of other bands were getting a lot of attention as the Britpop phenomenon grew.

Amongst them were Echobelly, rare as a female fronted Britpop band. Sonja Madan was never a riot grrl or arch-feminist, but her distinctive voice and lyrical style helped them stand out from the wannabees and put them at the forefront of the britpop era. "ON" was their defining album, a foot-tapping combination of jangling guitars, singalong choruses and uplifting lyrics.

Stand out tracks for me, even now, are Dark Therapy and Great Things. The latter is a forward looking, positive thinking jump about kind of song. The former is a lazy, trippy, close your eyes and I will take you all the way kind of song.

If you like your Britpop straight down the middle of the road, this is a great addition to your collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant - what can I say!, 4 Dec 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: On (Audio CD)
This is one of my favourite albums of all time. Although quite short at 45 mins ish it's worth it for the quality. Much better than Lustra!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It's better to burn out than it is to rust, 13 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: On (Audio CD)
A great album by a band who deserved to be huge. Some great tracks in here, natural animal, something hot, dark therapy...and more...buy it buy it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a dynamic sound, an inteligent force, an optomistic rebelion, 22 Jan 2001
This review is from: On (Audio CD)
this is the 2nd L.P. from the dynamic artragious band ECHOBELLY, who have maintained their fresh, direct life-force that made them outstanding from the first. They've got thing's to say and they've got the style to say it with and it hit's you right between the eyes. Rockin' guitar, direct and poinient lyrics and a fresh and optomistic vocal makes them shine out in a music world full of dull banal comparisions attempting at the same effect. The themes are varied, but the identity of this record is about survival of the human spirit, "a natural animal bent by the rules". Critics will hammer it for it's flaws in places of poetical inconsitency, but no! this only makes the production more real, more personal. It's busting with energy and vitality, it's "something hot in a cold country". every human being in england with a record player should own a copy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Reasonable indie, 22 Nov 2002
By 
Dr Nick "Dr Nick" (Sheffield, S Yorks United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: On (Audio CD)
This is an OK album.
Lots of overdriven guitar chords, a decent drummer, and a good female vocalist, for the uninitiated.
Two hit singles spawned from this release (Great Things and King of the Curb), which are very good tunes with solid choruses, and there are a couple of other songs that aren't bad, but there are too many fillers included for my taste - an album should be more than an alternative way of presenting the singles, there should be substance to the whole thing.
I'm sure indie fans can get a lot out of this, but for me it's not quite the complete article.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

On
On by Echobelly (Audio CD - 1995)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews