Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A decent follow up to Oxygene
Two decades after the release of Oxygene, Jarre has delivered a follow up that to my taste certainly has a right for being here. Adapted to technology and style of this day and age, but nevertheless Jarre's unmistakable, melodious, mysterious, mesmeric and inventive style is still present.
I consider the first three parts of this album appropiately different from the...
Published on 31 July 2004 by Serpentor

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ersatz
I grew up to and love the original Oxygene, one of my albums for the desert island. I bought the rerecorded Oxygene last year and saw Jean-Michel perform it live in the Albert Hall. An experience I will always treasure.

So I figured I ought to complete the set and give this a try, despite resisting for many years. My resistance was based on a fear that it would...
Published on 12 Mar 2009 by Peter Counter


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Love is like Oxygene!, 27 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oxygene 7-13 (Audio CD)
A big fan of his work, I jumped at the chance to buy this album after failing to do so from another website who took months before admitting it was out of stock.

No such worries from Amazon!

Anyone who has Oxygene will appreciate this album and find it worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Better than Expectations, 17 Mar 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oxygene 7-13 (Audio CD)
oh wow .. did not expect this to be as good as this.
done with the same (but tweaked and added to) sound bank. you could play this album straight after oxygene 1-6 and think it was one huge album even though they are seperated by 20 years . amazing . the musical genius does it again .. does not have stand out tracks like oxygene 2 & 4 but very very listenable indeed. the music changes and swirls as the effects and filters are tweaked and modified. every now and then a little rift punches out of the music like a ghostly echo of its older brother . if you loved the first album you will love this album . any fan of electronic music would love this !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This is an updated Jarre and much better than Metamorphoses which is pretty abysmal bar 2 tracks, 1 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oxygene 7-13 (Audio CD)
Different to Oxygene but on a par musically. This is an updated Jarre and much better than Metamorphoses which is pretty abysmal bar 2 tracks. This is up there with but not as good as (in my opinion) the first 3 albums
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars slots nicely in between oxygene and equinoxe, 3 Oct 2007
This review is from: Oxygene 7-13 (Audio CD)
Are you going to like oxygene 7-13 ? The answer is straight forward enough. You will probably like or dislike it to the same degree that you like or dislike oxygene and equinoxe. Its as simple as that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars also fantastic, 29 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oxygene 7 - 13 (Audio CD)
plus a free disc from a national paper sentr with this disc. Unexpected, also fantastic
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Jean Michel Jarre - OXYGENE 7 - 13, 3 July 2009
By 
E. Cheyne - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Oxygène 7 - 13 (MP3 Download)
I already had OXYGENE 1 - 6 and was curious to see what the additional tracks were like. If you have the first part and like listening to it, I would recommend this second disc without hesitation. It sort of rounds the whole experience up!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 20 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Oxygene-starved, 28 Feb 2005
This review is from: Oxygene 7 - 13 (Audio CD)
Method: Take a monster, genre defining album you recorded over 15 years ago, borrow the voicings, polyrhythms and sound effects, rearrange them to slightly (but not *that*) different tunes, crib the album art (cheesy then; cheesier now) and re-release.
The point? Well, to The Man, it's obvious. There's one born every minute. But for genuine, discerning afficionados of electronica? Search me. Like a good souffle, it was better the first time.
Indeed, inventing Oxygene Parts 7 - 13 is almost as pointless an exercise as going back and re-recording the original album from scratch. And guess what turned out to be Jarre's next project?
Whoops! Writer's block, perchance?
Olly Buxton
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Jean Michel Jarre's weakest work, 13 Dec 2000
This review is from: Oxygene 7 - 13 (Audio CD)
The original "Oxygene" released in 1976 was a groundbreaking album for Jean Michel Jarre.
Sadly this "follow-up" release from 1997 pales into insignificance in comparison. Unfortunately, this album lacks the originality of Jarre's previous work, and surprisingly the compositions lack inspiration.
Unfortunately this album will never work in it's own right as it will forever be considered a poor sequel. However, it also fails as a continuation, as the style of the opening track fails to acknowledge the final track of the original Oxygene.
Jean Michel Jarre should stick to creating new refreshing albums, rather than treading over old ground.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Oxygene 7 - 13
Oxygene 7 - 13 by Jean Michel Jarre (Audio CD - 1997)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews