Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A decent follow up to Oxygene
Two decades after the release of Oxygene, Jarre has delivered a follow up that to my taste certainly has a right for being here. Adapted to technology and style of this day and age, but nevertheless Jarre's unmistakable, melodious, mysterious, mesmeric and inventive style is still present.
I consider the first three parts of this album appropiately different from the...
Published on 31 July 2004 by Serpentor

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ersatz
I grew up to and love the original Oxygene, one of my albums for the desert island. I bought the rerecorded Oxygene last year and saw Jean-Michel perform it live in the Albert Hall. An experience I will always treasure.

So I figured I ought to complete the set and give this a try, despite resisting for many years. My resistance was based on a fear that it would...
Published on 12 Mar 2009 by Peter Counter


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A decent follow up to Oxygene, 31 July 2004
By 
Serpentor (Groesbeek, Netherlands) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Oxygene 7 - 13 (Audio CD)
Two decades after the release of Oxygene, Jarre has delivered a follow up that to my taste certainly has a right for being here. Adapted to technology and style of this day and age, but nevertheless Jarre's unmistakable, melodious, mysterious, mesmeric and inventive style is still present.
I consider the first three parts of this album appropiately different from the '76 original Oxygene, and not a moment less captivating. It contains the same well calculated transitions between movements and Part 8 is a melodic danceable track that's by no means inferior to part 4 from the original Oxygene. Part 9 is a clear memory to the opening of Oxygene '76, but again the musical experience differs and is placed in a correct new context, which never gives me the feeling Jarre simply recycled some passages.
As from part 10, this album, to my taste, goes downhill. True, the musical experience of these tracks can be overwhelming, but they never meet the same degree of inventive discipline or subtle transistion and colour found in the first parts of this album. Part 10 is most disappointing, I consider it one of his most cheapest achievements which quite spoils the momentum created in the previous parts. Part 11 and 12 are of a very lively nature, with sizzling synths and effects, but again I miss the control and soul Jarre brought to the beginning of the album. Part 13 is a sentimental and quite decent conclusion which reminds me of the last part of the original Oxygene.
Summarised... is this his best achievement? No it isn't. With the exception of the second half of this album, he creates a world of music and suggestion that quite outranks his achievements made in albums such as Chronologie, Revolutions and Rendez-Vous. Jarre to me is at his best when he captivates my mind, placing it for a moment in a completely different universe, like he does with his essential masterpieces Equinox, Oxygene and Magnetic Fields... if he had treated the second half of Oxygene 7-13 with the same mix of discipline, inventive and controlled way of composing, this could well have been a 5 star ranking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Music - Buy it!, 19 Sep 2003
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oxygene 7 - 13 (Audio CD)
I haven't bought a JMJ album since Equinoxe all those years ago, and it was a nice surprise to see that he had decided to create this album, and as I was impressed by the sound samples, I bought the album and I am delighted by it.
It is much more than a tired rehash of Oxygene, there are a lot of new ideas and new ways of hearing old familiar sounds and moods from the original album. The first two tracks are just amazing to hear, tantalizingly like bits of the original. The rest of the album is well worth hearing, too.
My only gripe - well, I would have liked something more in the sleeve than a lot of artwork and a list of instruments and who helped him out: perhaps something about why and how he decided to return to his roots here? And I hope this album's success isn't the only excuse for Oxygene 14-20: if he does it, it has to be different again or it's not worth doing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Treads old ground, but it's very pleasant..., 1 Aug 2006
By 
DSR (out beyond the sticks) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Oxygene 7-13 (Audio CD)
I remember reading comments about whether Tangerine Dream should try to re-capture the wondrous early "Virgin" years (1973 - 80) and recall a comment about "Wheelchair Rubycon"...

Well, JMJ has just gone and done that, more or less, by recreating as best as possible, the vibes of his first, charming LP "Oxygene". This release shows the two edged sword this can be.

In no way does this CD replace, or even really add to, the magic of the (now) thirty year old original. Even the sound lacks the warm, "analogue" richness of the original.

Later on, it sounds like he's re-creating Tangerine Dream instead (Pt11 could almost have been lifted fron "Encore", Pt12 from "Stratosfear")...

An enjoyable listen, but it shows the danger of trying to please fans (and record companies ?) by re-treading old ground.

If you have the original (and Equinox), then you'll love this...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The variations continue, 9 Dec 2001
By 
Steve Benner "Stonegnome" (Lancaster, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Oxygene 7 - 13 (Audio CD)
"Oxygene 7-13" is not really anything new. Rather, it is the original "Oxygene" revisited and prepared for a new millennium, with 70's analogue sounds treated to late 90's digital recording techniques. It is much more than simply a remix, though. What we have here is a rethinking of the original materials, recomposed by an older, more experienced, Jean Michel Jarre. He has taken his original material apart completely, and reconstructed from the components (together with material borrowed from other sources) something that is recognisably the same, whilst at the same time appearing fresh and totally different. In many ways, it really does pick up, twenty-odd years on, just where the old "Oxygene 6" left off, way back in 1976.
The sound quality on this new version (or continuation, depending on your point of view) of the original old master is fabulous. With its 24-bit mastering, and its lush, analogue textures, augmented by fresh digital samples of real-world sounds, this work comes across as a fully up-to-date and more mature rendition, whilst remaining entirely faithful to the original idea. (Edgar Froese, please take note!) I particularly liked the passing nods to other (more serious) contemporary French composers, like François Bayle. Sure, the album has commercial exploitation potential in plenty. But then, we live in an age of exploitation and, hey, an artist has to eat!
My only criticism of this release is of its length. Really, in this day and age, there is no excuse for releasing a 40-minute CD. That apart, as a J-M Jarre classic, this album really cannot be faulted - whether or not you were a fan of the original. If you have the original, this release complements it nicely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great music, wrong title?, 29 July 2002
By 
Amazon Customer (West Midlands, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Oxygene 7 - 13 (Audio CD)
This album ties with Chronologie for the honour of being my favourite Jarre album. Stunning 70s electronic instruments used to create more a more modern style of music, it just blows the mind.
Highlight of the album has to be Oxygene 12, which is a rousing dialogue between two distinct synths, set to a fast paced background. Get your headphones on, and listen to this in its full glory, it's one of the best pieces of music I've ever heard. With Oxygene 13 to bring you drifting back to Earth, it's a breathtaking finale to the album.
There's just one thing. I don't like the fact that it carries the Oxygene title. Unlike Mike Oldfield's Tubular Bells 2, which brilliantly walks the tightrope between being too close to the original and too far away, Oxygene 7-13 switches between blatant rip-offs of earlier Oxygene tracks (much of pt9 is a rip-off of pt1), while much of the album is of a style completely different to the original album.
Unlike the Tubular Bells albums, the nature of the title suggests that it starts where the first album finishes. The trouble is that the albums don't compliment each other in this way. You can't listen to the two albums together, as the join sticks out like sore thumb. It seems that the album carries the Oxygene name mainly for commercial reasons, which is a shame.
If you listen to the album in isolation, it is superb. Get too caught up in the Oxygene name and you start to see the cracks. The fact remains that the music itself is incredible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars In one word: A Classic!!, 16 Nov 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Oxygene 7 - 13 (Audio CD)
I cannot believe this has not been reviewed!!! Oxygene 7-13 has to be JMJ's greatest album. As soon as I bought it I knew that it would become my favourite album of all time. Sorry if I'm getting a little excited, but this album has to be bought. The album's tracks have a quality to them that is highly unique. The final track on the album is exquisite, a very emotional score, and is great to listen to when feeling a bit down. It is physical evidence that JMJ has to be one of the greatest composers of music of all time. Need I say more?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ersatz, 12 Mar 2009
By 
Peter Counter (Great Britain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oxygene 7-13 (Audio CD)
I grew up to and love the original Oxygene, one of my albums for the desert island. I bought the rerecorded Oxygene last year and saw Jean-Michel perform it live in the Albert Hall. An experience I will always treasure.

So I figured I ought to complete the set and give this a try, despite resisting for many years. My resistance was based on a fear that it would somehow undermine the original, spoil the experience as it were.

So it was with some trepidation that I put this silver disk in the player and sat back expecting the worst. However, whilst in no way as inspired as the original, and not as interesting as the rerecording, this almost stands in its own right. You can't help thinking of the original as you listen to this but it does not debase that experience. This is like going to Knossos and as impressed as you are remembering you are seeing a reconstruction of the masterpiece and not the full grandeur of the original.

Good but not great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lacks originality, but marks a return to popular Jarre, 16 Jun 2001
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oxygene 7 - 13 (Audio CD)
Jarre seemed to have lost his way in the eighties and nineties, turning out discs that were great works of unconventional Gallic art -- music that singularly failed to impress devotees or capture the imagination of his many younger fans, who had long since turned to other, more exciting dance-oriented forms of electronica. However, this album shows a welcome return to form, and while many of the tracks are quite obviously hybrids of old masterpieces (the album is, after all, called Oxygene -- what should one expect?), it nonetheless remains a traditionally "easy" Jarre album to listen to, either as background music or turned up in the car. If you recall the feelings on hearing Equinox or Magnetic Fields for the first time, with their rich analogue sounds, swirling harmonies and low-key beat, stick this in your checkout now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Jarre Album in the World Ever, 12 Mar 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Oxygene 7 - 13 (Audio CD)
This album is the best album to date that JMJ has created. It follows on perfectly from his debut album, but it is by far his best.
It captures the original 'feel' of his first album, but greatly improves upon it. It keeps your interest throughout, superb...
Every track on this CD is a winner. If you like Jarre, then do not hesitate, it will be the best CD you will have bought for a long time, and worth every penny.
JMJ should be ranked among the classic composers like Beethoven and Mozart. He truly is a musical genius, and it is captured on this CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brill, 5 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oxygene 7 - 13 (Audio CD)
Big fan of jean Michel jarre and this is a great addition to my collection it is a very good buy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Oxygene 7 - 13
Oxygene 7 - 13 by Jean Michel Jarre (Audio CD - 1997)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews