Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle  Learn more Countdown to Prime Day Shop now Shop now

  • Glow
  • Customer Reviews

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars21
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£3.05+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 10 October 2000
This is such a great album! I didn't appreciate it much in 97, but I bought it the other week for Place Your Hands and it is such a fantastic album. In places they sound funky like the Red Hot Chili Peppers and in others they have some excellent slowies! I can't believe I've missed out on this for 3 years, it's so good. Yer Old, Summer's In Bloom and Lullaby are all great songs nobody should miss out on. This is a great album by a great band!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 December 2004
Reefs' 'Glow' is a quality album. Full stop. Produced at the peak of the bands career, it contains the more comercially recognised tunes such as, 'Place Your Hands', 'Come Back Brighter' and 'Higher Vibration' whilst combining the less recognised stompers such as 'I Would Have Left You' and 'Lately Stomping'to name a couple. The percussion is brilliant, the vocals from Gary Stringer are EXCELLENT and the whole album creates a soulful, 'surf-rock' sound that merges 'bluesy guitar riffs with ORIGINAL, yet CLASSIC rock/indie ANTHEMS. This album will always remain a classic.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
REEF are it ! On *first listen* I was awestruck. Unlike some British bands, they don't try to make every song sound like an anthem. Taking over where Soundgarden left off, they manage to evoke shades of Led Zeppelin (do I detect a tribute in the significantly placed Track 2, _I Would Have Left You_ ?), Nazareth (_Consideration_ ) and a clear nod to the Red Hot Chili Peppers in _Lately Stomping_. _Come Back Brighter_ is my feelgood song of the century. (Nirvana heritage evident here - in vocals and lilt, if not in mood !) And in case you think they're, like, impressionists or something (!) - listen to _Summer's in Bloom_. A work of originality and genius. Enough said. There's not a weak moment on this album.
The 1990s began with The Stone Roses clearly spearheading British indie rock - notwithstanding genre resistance of course - into the decade. Here's to Reef doing the same in 2000 !
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 July 2007
I used to love Reef, but then I got caught up in all the new and up and coming bands of the moment and forget about all the great tunes that have gone before.
I was clearing out some old CDs and discovered this, once played I realised how much I missed them, every tune is excellent and still refreshing, this doesn't sound ten yrs old at all. This is proper chill out beach rock, the rifts are awesome. If you are interested in this band then I suggest you try their first album Replenish as well, you won't be disapointed.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 2 February 2001
'Glow' has all the big hits - 'Place Your Hands', 'Come Back Brighter', etc and while follow up albums 'Rides' and 'Getaway' may be under-rated, this remains their best material. Even better it's just been reissued and you can even get it in this limited 2cd edition. Whatever, just get it.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 October 2007
Man alive, the riff is well and truly dead. Don't get me wrong, I like the Arctic Monkeys and Kings of Leon's of the world, but these guys new how to groove, and their positive vibe would be very much welcome in the current fey singer/songwriter climate... Check this out, but none of their albums could stand alone to define Reef. Their debut was raw, this is funky, and Rides was more experimental, but all are worthy of your time and money.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 January 2014
This is a fantabulous album by Reef. An absolute stonker. Anyone who disagrees simply has no clue regarding music. Yeah, that's right, I may be pissed. But hey, that's the way to listen to this album. This is truly a great "summer album". This reaches legendary status for me. Love it. Attitude, funk, riffs, vocals...nuff said. Must have for any music lover. I'm currently strutting about the room like an animated turkey and I love it! Haha
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 June 2010
"Place your hands up, Place your hands up"

The albums starts with a bang, party style!!

Reef have got guitar busting rhythmns and good lyrics. Consideration is the best track for me on the album, it maybe an old album, but its one of the best!!!

GO AND BUY REEF, SO THAT YOUR IPOD OR IPHONE CAN BUST OUT AND GIVE YOU MUSICAL PLEASURE, AND THROW YOUR HANDS UP, ITS NOT SIMON SAYS, BUT GARY SAYS!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 July 2001
Reefs second album follows a similar style to their first with the raw energy still present. However, there is a slight move towards the pop scene. There are some excellent tracks on this album but it is let down slightly by some below par songs. 'Summer's in Bloom', 'Lately stomping', 'Consideration' and 'Yer Old' are the finest tracks on the album. It is slightly let down by tracks such as 'robot riff', which although very good, does tend to drag on a bit (the b-side 'Robot part' is much better'). On the whole though it is an excellent album but just does not live up to their debut 'Replenish'.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 March 2004
Glow is Reef's second album and what an album it is.
Beginning with the well known hit 'Place your Hands'
and progressing to the rockier sounds of 'I Would Have
Left You','Summers In Bloom' and 'Lately'
Stomping' the album has an innate originality and is
a superb follow up to their excellent first outing
'Replenish'. The vocals from Gary Stringer are
outstanding, the guitar riffs mix elements of roots
and blues while keeping that rock edge and the
percussion stays true to form. Track 5 'Consideration'
changes the tempo and, reminiscent of Mellow (Replenish),
it demonstrates the quality of Reef and of both their
acoustic and vocal talents. The album continues with
the classic Reef sounding 'Don't You Like It', the
probably more well known 'Come Back Brighter' and
'Higher Vibration' and a few slightly faster paced
tracks before concluding with the very mellow
'Lullaby'. This track is a tribute to the skill every
good band should have; the ability to switch from
one end of the spectrum to the other. Overall this
CD, especially at the price it's at on this site!,
is a classic album and a 'must have' for any Rock or
Indie fan, let alone a follower of the band. I have
owned it for 6 years now and still return. Sheer Quality.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)