Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Time to Complete the Archives....
Surely, Charlie Rich was one the finest, in the field of the 'country fringe' genre.

This collection is filled with - fortunately, the ORIGINAL - recordings, from the 'Epic' era. Billy Sherrill put this wonderful earthy voice, together with strings, to highlight the peak of Rich's long career.
This collection includes one or two of the obvious - and, to me...
Published 17 months ago by Chase Review

versus
2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Ok ish
The CD is ok but I wish I had bought the behind closed doors album. My dad had that on an eight track and from what I remember it was much better
Published on 25 Feb. 2013 by flipflop


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Time to Complete the Archives...., 11 Sept. 2013
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
Surely, Charlie Rich was one the finest, in the field of the 'country fringe' genre.

This collection is filled with - fortunately, the ORIGINAL - recordings, from the 'Epic' era. Billy Sherrill put this wonderful earthy voice, together with strings, to highlight the peak of Rich's long career.
This collection includes one or two of the obvious - and, to me - now well-worn tracks, but that's to be expected of any 'Greatest Hits' product.

Individual taste is, perhaps, to be set aside when selecting the most popular, but it's frustrating to witness great songs lost in undeserved obscurity, for want of inclusion in 'Greatest' or 'Best of..' projects, so here's an opportunity to mention one or two 'Epic' gems that stand as candidates where compilations are concerned.

They are available, if you look, but, during that period, Charlie recorded the lamenting 'A Woman Left Lonely', 'Take Time to Love', a piece delivered so sensitively, on 'Very Special Love Songs' (an album equal to its immediate predecessor, 'Behind Closed Doors').'Pass On By' is a more soulful offering from the album 'Every Time You Touch Me' issued in 1975, now paired on C.D. with the original 'Silver Fox' album, which features a great alternative take of 'Feel Like Going Home'.

I retain many of my originally-purchased vinyl albums ( from all periods of Charlie's work ) but the most elusive item relating to the 'Epic' archives, remains 'A Part of Your Life', an earlier offering of the period, which featured on a 'Best of..' L.P. issued in 1972.This is, surely, one of THE best songs of Rich's career. (fortunately, I've acquired a digital recording, to replace a very poor tape!).
More 'Epic' material is lost...the album, 'Take Me', from 1977 is, again, only covered piece-meal on C.D. compilations, a policy which seems to merely 'random select'.
The C.D. compilation 'Country Classics', (EMI release, 1999) put together a pot pourri of Charlie's work with both 'United Artists' and 'Liberty', for some reason excluding the wonderful track, 'Heart', from 'Nobody But You'.

We're so near to complete availability. Perhaps a further 'trawl' is overdue, to make comprehensive, the Charlie Rich history?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars All the obvious hits, 27 July 2007
By 
Amazon Customer (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
I don't like Charlie Rich's music enough to purchase his studio albums, so this 'Greatest Hits' package was my best bet. The music here is traditional '70s country music, that was becoming increasingly popular in the UK at the time, and singers like Glen Campbell, Tammy Wynette and Dolly Parton were all having hits in Britain. Charlie Rich had several, all of which appear here, and these were the songs I wanted, although I have since found a few new favourites.

The biggest hit that Charlie had in the UK was 'The Most Beautiful Girl in the World', which is a nice song about a man who is pleading to let it be known that if people do see his ex girlfriend (''the most beautiful girl'') that they should let her know that he is sorry they are no longer together. Another country standard is 'Behind Closed Doors', another great with the truthful lyrics that you can never really know someone unless you see them in private. As good as these songs undoubtedly are, my favourite has always been 'A Very Special Love Song', which was Charlie's third US country number one, although it never charted in the UK.

The rest of this CD is made up of other great hits that Charlie had in the US, including 'My Elusive Dreams' and 'Every Time You Touch Me (I Get High)', as well standout album only tracks like 'Daddy Don't You Walk So Fast'.

This is a fine 16 track compilation displaying the talents of a great country artist with a fantastic voice, at the peak of his popularity. Country music can be so relaxing, and it doesn't get much better than this.

I noticed that tiny record companies have issued several Charlie Rich CDs, but the recordings used were not the originals, rest assured, the originals are what your getting here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Charlie Rich Greatest Hits, 15 Mar. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
Lovely. Perfect for an antedote to a stressful day. The lovely easy voice is smooth as silk and makes you take stock and think life's not so bad after all. Addictive in the car for the rat-race commute.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars RICH BUT RICH!!, 28 Feb. 2012
By 
D. Eastwood "AmFan" (North Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
CHARLIE RICH HAS A "RICH" BUT "RICH" DEEP TIMBERED GORGEOUSLY ATTRACTIVE VOICE!!!! I HAD THE ORIGINAL LP RECORD WHICH OF COURSE IS NOW LONG GONE AND THOUGHT I WOULD TREAT MYSELF TO THIS C.D IT IS GREAT TO HEAR CHARLIE AGAIN TAKEN ME BACK TO THE 1970'S WITH MUCH PLEASURE! I AM NOT A COUNTRY AND WESTERN FAN PER SE BUT I REALLY DO LOVE CHARLIE'S VOICE AND TRACKS/LYRICS. THIS C.D. CONTAINS ALL THE GREAT SONGS HE HIT STARDOM WITH "THE MOST BEAUTIFUL GIRL" " A SUNDAY KIND OF WOMAN" "VERY SPECIAL LOVE SONG" JUST GORGEOUS! TERRIFIC VALUE FOR MONEY AT THE PRICE AND FIRST CLASS SERVICE BY SELLER.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Charlie Rich --Greatest Hits, 30 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
Was very pleased with this CD, had this on vinyl,when we moved it got put in the attic,and hadn't listened to my crackely record for years, so was very pleased with the CD, would recommend this,Happy listening.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars WONDERFUL, 4 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
Loved this CD. For me a classic. All his hits. Pop/country themed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great country CD, 15 Jan. 2012
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
I was put on to Charlie from the Every Which Way But Loose films, which he appeared in live and I wasnt disappointed. This is a good country album for those who like pure, honest country. There are a few songs that drag along (isnt there on every CD)but there are also others that are classics such as "Behind Closed Doors" and " The Most Beautiful Girl in the World". Well worth a listen and a purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 27 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
Yes liked this CD had it on tape many years ago.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 4 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
I listen to this behind closed doors. lol
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Ok ish, 25 Feb. 2013
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
The CD is ok but I wish I had bought the behind closed doors album. My dad had that on an eight track and from what I remember it was much better
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Greatest Hits
Greatest Hits by Charlie Rich (Audio CD - 1998)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews