Customer Reviews
Now


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Saving grace
Paul Rodgers is, surely unquestionably, the greatest rock-blues singer these islands have ever produced.
This is PR in heavy rock mode, and it can all seem a little overdone and overproduced on first hearing, but I`d suggest to any potential buyer that he/she listens to track 4, Saving Grace, play loud, and then tell me if this man doesn`t have the most exciting...
Published on 9 July 2011 by GlynLuke

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, but not a classic
Paul Rodgers is one of the most recognised voices in British Rock Music. Fronting the bands Free and Bad Company in the 60s and 70s, he was constantly voted best vocalist in magazine polls and rightly so. Listening to this album, it is clear that the voice remains undiminished. He can still rock with the best of them and sing those lilting ballads to perfection. However...
Published on 13 Dec 2006 by P. Thompson


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Saving grace, 9 July 2011
By 
GlynLuke (York UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Now (Audio CD)
Paul Rodgers is, surely unquestionably, the greatest rock-blues singer these islands have ever produced.
This is PR in heavy rock mode, and it can all seem a little overdone and overproduced on first hearing, but I`d suggest to any potential buyer that he/she listens to track 4, Saving Grace, play loud, and then tell me if this man doesn`t have the most exciting voice you`ve ever heard. I love Bob Seger, Steve Marriott, and the classic soul singers, but there`s one man who has it all, and his name is Paul Rodgers. Resistance is futile.
What you get is 55 mins of Sir Paul of Rodgers in grandstanding mood, hollering out some heavy duty rock `n blues to the backing of a muscular band, that voice - that voice! - in its pitch-perfect splendour singing eleven undemanding songs for the sheer hell of singing. That`s what PR does. He sings. And he`s the greatest at what he does. What more can I say?
Apart from the mighty Saving Grace (which I freely admit I`ve gone mad to in the privacy of my room, and yes, it did involve air guitar) there`s a terrific
number called Love Is All I need with a pleasantly and surprisingly apt female choral backing, followed by the soulful Nights Like This.
PR wrote or co-wrote all the songs and they play to his strengths. Let`s not forget that this man`s back catalogue includes many of the songs of both Free and Bad Company, two of the best rock bands ever to strut the planet - Free being beyond praise in my not so humble opinion.
Face it, if you love Paul Rodgers you`ll have to have this almost great album.
I was going to give it a careful four stars but I`m playing it as I type, and
witholding a star now seems pointless. Not every song is particularly inspired, some of it sounds a bit like generic rock, but this is a Paul Rodgers CD, and he`s still singing like a man who invented it. So, nine out of ten.
Paul Rodgers - the greatest. Now and always.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still brilliant after all these years, 27 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Now (Audio CD)
Paul Rodgers was and is one of the greatest rock stars since the early seventies. This album was released in 1997 and contains eleven tracks that I had not previously heard but it's all good!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars PAUL RODGERS AND A CLASSIC ALBUM !, 3 Dec 2012
By 
pete clack - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Now (Audio CD)
This albums now been around quite awhile but still remains for me his best solo album.Bought the album,saw the tour,bought the tee shirt, and continue to enjoy a rock classic by one of the finest voices rocks ever had, and this release still renains as fresh as the day it was first released.Not a dud song,every one a masterclass in all that's great about rock,Quite simply an album every,yes every fan of great music should never be without.
This one will be played as long as there's rock music.File Under ESSENTIAL !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Worth a treat, 13 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Now (Audio CD)
I'm a free fan, and always like listening to Paul's voice ., have to write more to quit the box
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, but not a classic, 13 Dec 2006
By 
P. Thompson "Tommo1957" (Durham, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Now (Audio CD)
Paul Rodgers is one of the most recognised voices in British Rock Music. Fronting the bands Free and Bad Company in the 60s and 70s, he was constantly voted best vocalist in magazine polls and rightly so. Listening to this album, it is clear that the voice remains undiminished. He can still rock with the best of them and sing those lilting ballads to perfection. However as good as Rodgers is, there are no real memorable tracks on this cd. Some ok rockers and melodic slow numbers, but nothing that really grabs you. All in all an Ok album, but its not Tons of Sobs or Straight Shooter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Free revisited, 12 Dec 2000
By 
Laurence Greer "Leprechaun" (Cheadle Hulme, Cheshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Now (Audio CD)
This album brings back memories of the original Free days and also Bad Company. Paul's strong voice shines throughout and for any young rock follower they could do worse than use this album as a review of what rock has been and can still.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 4 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Now (Audio CD)
Excellent ! JN
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Now
Now by Paul Rodgers (Audio CD - 2010)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews