Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars9
4.7 out of 5 stars
5 star
7
4 star
1
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Audio CDChange
Price:£19.99+ £1.26 shipping
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 September 2006
Probably the last really great BTS album, PFNO features none of the concise indie-pop numbers that made "there's nothing wrong with love" such a joy. Instead many songs build into great multi-segmented epics in true prog-fashion. The album is far more "produced" which suits the complex arrangements with a variety of classic keyboards, mellotron etc augmenting the guitars and cello of which there is less here. None of the songs have the messy feel of the earlier album and while none may quite hit the highs of TNWWL it also avoids its patchiness.

Opener "Rdndy Describes Eternity" simply builds on its initial refrain gradually piling on layer after layer of tremelo-mad guitar. "Made Up Dreams" starts with a high treble mixed acoustic guitar and vocal before the whole band swings in, an awesome moment. However it is the final two tracks that really kill it both of which launch into fantastic driving epic finales, and with the winsome lyric "we're special in other ways, ways our mothers appreciate" Doug manages to wear his heart on his sleeve and wink at the same time while his fantastic band roars around him.
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 October 2008
What is probably Built to Spills greatest album (just ahead of You In Reverse)is by no means an easy listen, but a rewarding one. The band give us just one song under the five minute mark, preferring instead to create multi layered and expansive guitar tracks. This is post-70s progressive rock at its best, deliciously self indulgent and spaced out. But all that of course means nothing unless the songs are strong and enjoyable, which they undoubtedly are. This is defiantly an album that needs close attention to be paid to it, but get into it and you will never stop listening.
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 May 2009
Built to Spill did a rare thing in using the opportunity of a major label début to make their most interesting album. Early promise for catchy melodies was shown on their previous work, but Perfect From Now On was beautiful in its ability to be epic without attempting to be overly anthemic, repetitive and clichéd.

Of the eight tracks, all are generous in melodic variation and although most clock in at well over 6 minutes, only the very longest track, 'Velvet Waltz', strains towards the end. Possibly the highlight within the album is 'I Would Hurt a Fly' although immediately following it is 'Stop the Show', which builts beautifully for a few minutes before vocals - almost certainly Doug Marsch's vocals are the weakest point of Built to Spill - kick in. It's climax is a short and dramatic riff towards the end which is repeated only a couple of times, but the brilliance of the guitar melody on offer here is exemplified by the fact that, personally speaking, I would happily listen to this for much, much longer. But Marsch knows, he has plenty more fantastic guitar riffs to offer.

Inevitably, Built to Spill's later albums didn't match this, even though the subsequent 'Keep It Like a Secret' is excellent, and perhaps 'Perfect From Now On' only rang true from the beginning to the end of this album. Still, that was accomplishment enough.
11 comment3 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 June 2001
When you consider the trauma that surrounded the making of this album, it's a miracle it came out at all - line up changes, best friends falling out, writers block, recording hassles. However, Doug n the boys came through and produced their finest album ever. This album sounds massive, each song a mini masterpiece falling somewhere between the smashing pumpkins, pavement and neil young. Whilst perhaps not as easily accessible as other bts lps, once you've got in to it you'll want to tell the world about the day Built to Spill entered your life...
0Comment5 of 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 March 2014
another amazing album from my favourite band. how come they are not better known? Every album of theirs is brilliant
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 July 2014
One of the best albums released by a very consistent group.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 May 2010
I bought this for my son as he requested it, I personally have never heard of them but he is delighted with the CD and the price was brilliant
0Comment1 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 October 2014
good
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 October 2005
The album does rock, there's no denying that the guys can put together a catchy tune. If you like their other albums then this should rate highly with you. I certainly wouldn't call it a terrible album, however...
The opening track to this album is Randy Describes Eternity; the lyrics from this track are reminiscent of the images used by a priest to illustrate eternity in the book A Portrait of the Artist as a Young Man. I think that sums up the lyrics on this album for me. I love Joyce, but I don't want references to him in the music I listen to. I think that too often Built to Spill have a cultured and well thought out point to make and unfortunately this makes the album seem pretentious. This is the problem I have with Built to Spill in general though. The name itself (I assume) is a kind of existential point: Man is built to spill, we are never satisfied or we are never 'nothing more than' the situation we are in. So we always overcome it or over flow from it. That's all very clever, but do you really want to listen to a band that's got an existential point to make?
0Comment2 of 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.