Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply The Best !
Lady Day sings from the soul on this album, I have many Billie Holiday albums, but this is simply exceptional, with full orchestral support Miss Holiday pours out her soul through her voice on this album, you can feel the emotion and sadness in her voice, along with some "outtake" bonus tracks in which you can get a real feel for her mood, it makes this an album...
Published on 23 Aug 2001

versus
3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Uncomfortable Listening
Billie had to struggle to make this recording and it shows. As a Billie Holiday fan, this is probably the recording I like the least. OK it is wracked with emotion, but then a lot of her latter day recordings were. What makes this one so stark, is that any flicker of optimism has been completely eradicated. It is painful to hear her sing 'For all we Know'(we may never...
Published on 13 Jun 2008 by Mr. Kenneth J. Hodges


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply The Best !, 23 Aug 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Lady In Satin (Audio CD)
Lady Day sings from the soul on this album, I have many Billie Holiday albums, but this is simply exceptional, with full orchestral support Miss Holiday pours out her soul through her voice on this album, you can feel the emotion and sadness in her voice, along with some "outtake" bonus tracks in which you can get a real feel for her mood, it makes this an album not to have missing from your Billie Holiday collection...buy it now !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beauty comes in many forms... even croaking!, 16 Aug 2003
This review is from: Lady In Satin (Audio CD)
AS nearly everybody sees fit to note Billie Holiday's voice on this her favourite recording was not 'what it used to be'... However personally, this is exactly what makes this my favourite of all her albums.
There are those who want us to believe that they 'know' beauty... that it lies in some kind of technical proficiency, in hitting all the right notes or or in some kind of vocal dexterity (although one would have presumed that Ms Carey and Ms Dion had proven this to be false beyond all scientific reason?!)... they maintain that lists can be made that objectively rank the beauty of this or that song or artwork, and that on some objective level this Billie Holiday album can be dismissed as one of those unfortunate anticlimaxes to a legendary career.
If however you believe that beauty is ultimately in the ear of the listener and not purely in the inanimate object... if you believe it is the unclassifiable product of the rapport and intimacy that builds up between the mood of the listener and the mood and tone of the artist... if you believe the beauty of a song to be dependant on an unlimited number of variables such as: mood, location, memory etc... then you may find as many others have that 'Lady in Satin' provides a fitting finale to one of the most intriguing figures in 20th century music.
If you want vocal dexterity above all else then maybe you should go for one of Billie Holiday's earlier collections.. if however you think you may want to hear Lady Day wistfully croak twelve wonderful melodies (yes croak - after all Louis Armstrong croaked some of the most beautiful sounds every known!!), then purchase this album, go straight to song three (my personal fav) and sit back and get to know a whole new Billie and a whole new world...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Lady sings as only she knows how....the rest is history, 4 Aug 2001
This review is from: Lady In Satin (Audio CD)
Miss Holiday crawled through some bad times, sometimes of her choosing, mostly not. Always she sang like no other jazz singer, and never more so than on this recording. She is not just singing lyrics and trying to be what we expect from a jazz singer. This is real time. Forever time. The Lady sings the Blues and we will never hear someone like this again. Ever. Over 30 years span her recording career, until this. Her finest hour. The Lady sings as only she knows how...the rest is history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BILLIE'S ART TRANSCENDED HER PROBLEMS, 19 July 2008
By 
Barry McCanna (Normandy, France) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Lady In Satin (Audio CD)
It isn't just the haunting quality of Billie Holiday's voice that captivates the listener, but the unique way she manoeuvred it between and around the written notes in a way that gave an added dimension to everything she sang, whilst respecting the songwriter's intentions. So it is here, in these late recordings, made less than eighteen months before her untimely death. It's short measure, but 45 minutes was fairly standard for an LP when these tracks were recorded, and what could you add that would not detract from what is here? Of course the voice is not the glorious instrument it once was, but to criticise these recordings for that decline is to miss the point. Here was a supreme artist, singing with a degree of poignancy it would be hard to surpass. It's part of her canon, and deserves its place in any collection worthy of the name.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lady in Satin, 15 May 2007
By 
M. N. Pearson "Malcolm" (Malvern UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Lady In Satin (Audio CD)
Her finest hour ? No I don`t think so but a great great album . It makes me cry but I may be crying for me , she does that to you . The greatest female artist of any genre ever .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lady's favourite, 15 Jun 2003
By 
Mr. Andrew Allison (Hull, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Lady In Satin (Audio CD)
Billie Holiday led four lives in one. And that is saying something considering she never made her 45th birthday! She was raped at an early age, spent time involved in prostitution,and was a drug addict. She probably had just about every vice that anyone could have.
Yet she was a beautiful lady, although she had a reputation for being very difficult, and had one of the most distinctive voices of the twentieth century. Yes, by the time she recorded her last album just over a year before her death, her voice was no way near what it was in her prime. But to leave it like that is missing the point.
In her later years Billie Holiday's voice contained all the experiences of life and it was enriched for this. It had a certain timbre and you immidiately sympathise. The songs that she sung reflected this and the quality of the arrangements and the musicians around her are first rate and seem to put a comforting arm around her.
Listening to some songs on this recording reduce me to tears. Tears more for her than anything else. As I said, the songs are so well selected that they seem autobiographical. This album was her favourite and it's one that should be in everyones collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb Lady in Satin, 16 Feb 2009
By 
This review is from: Lady In Satin (Audio CD)
Although I wasn't familiar with all the songs on this CD at first it just gets better every time I listen to it. What a unique voice she just sounds like she's living every minute of the song.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Priceless Gift, 21 Feb 2014
By 
This review is from: Lady In Satin (Audio CD)
It is useless to attempt a review of these sublime performances
You either dig jazz and revel in its many different forms or you do not.
It has been said if you need an explanation of jazz then you do not dig and never will.
I consider myself fortunate to have been born when I was and to be gifted unforgettable performances such as these.
A tribute to the songwriters art,the recording technicians skill,the arrangers understanding and the ability to interpret a lyric.
Billie Holiday was a towering giant and these performances unique in her stunning catalog.
This reissue is as fine an issue of the material as we are ever going to see and Columbia Legacy deserve our thanks
I have grown up through records on 78rpm shellac through vinyl LP's Mp3 files and digital downloads.
I can remember when this material was first issued it was hard to come by and expensive.
I have worn out, loaned, argued over copies of the material countless times over the years.
I never tire of it and never will.
Nothing remotely like it was attempted before or has been equaled since.
Now the C/D can be purchased for less than a fiver but the performances shimmer now as they did way back then.
They will be played thought about argued over and enjoyed for as long as music lives
Billie Holiday has enriched my life and I for one and am grateful for the privilege
Buy the disc listen and offer Billie Holiday the homage she deserves
Keith
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Billie Holiday breaking up, 1 Feb 2011
This review is from: Lady In Satin (Audio CD)
Billie Holiday is heartbreaking on this late recording. You can hear the pain in her voice and it is extremely moving. She makes you cry!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Lady in Satin, 30 Dec 2009
By 
This review is from: Lady In Satin (Audio CD)
I bought this CD after hearing I am a fool.. on a TV advert. I have Billie Holiday CDs already and do enjoy her voice.

This CD while having a selection of songs on it that I have not heard before that are great, also include a track that allows to hear the making of a couple of her songs. Her singing on it, making mistakes, the orchestra on their own. It is interestering for the first couple of times, but if you are going to use the CD for a quiet back music for dinner and drinkie poos, I would suggest that you programme your player not to include those tracks.

Overall, I like it and if you like Billie Holiday then buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Lady In Satin
Lady In Satin by Billie Holiday (Audio CD - 1997)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews