Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You can't help but smile throughout.
Brighten the corners is one of those albums. Most will listen but not understand, it is their loss. The album is a true masterpiece in every way. Those not used to the vocal style of Stephen Malkmus will argue that he cannot sing. Somehow though the wonky wisdom he preaches draws together the music in a spell bounding way. I have never smiled so much listening to an...
Published on 15 Feb 2000

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars theres no coast of nebraska
'whats your favourite pavement album?' is a rhetorical question for me, i mean if push came to shove, i guess ill listen to crooked rain crooked rain the most, but brighten the corners is a cryptic record, that really does seem to change everytime you listen to it. Lyrically its just fantastical-SM's bizzare phrasing is not only highly original but the unpredictability...
Published on 17 Mar 2007 by Cliford Peter Clarke


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You can't help but smile throughout., 15 Feb 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Brighten The Corners (Audio CD)
Brighten the corners is one of those albums. Most will listen but not understand, it is their loss. The album is a true masterpiece in every way. Those not used to the vocal style of Stephen Malkmus will argue that he cannot sing. Somehow though the wonky wisdom he preaches draws together the music in a spell bounding way. I have never smiled so much listening to an album. If you could bottle happiness its in this album. Lyrically odd, quirky and highly original, its not like your typical indie rock, not like anything else. If you have not heard Pavement before, this album is a great starting point. After a few listens if you are not a fan then you don't like music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Genius relaxing at the top of its form, 6 April 2009
Another embarassment of riches from Pavement. Many fans will have the original album and possibly many of the other tracks on CD singles. What separates these reissues from the pack however is the fantastic packaging - collecting photos, illustrations and anecdotes contemporary to the album's original release.

It has been said that this is the sound of Pavement unwinding - the gradual spiral down to the over produced and underwhelming Terror Twilight. I disagree. If Wowee Zowee is the sound of Pavement trying (and succeeding) to escape the bonds that constrain most guitar based bands the BTC is the sound of them orbiting rock kicking back at the top of their game.

The second disc is characteristicly choc full of treasures. Alternate versions of The Hexx and Tan lines among others shimmer so brightly that most bands would kill for a slice of their genius. Things went south from here but at this point Pavement had the world at their feet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Three cheers for the gentlemen from America, 21 Jan 2009
I know we've still got Terror Twilight to go, but I can't wait any longer. Since the first re-issues of the Pavement back catalogue appeared a few years ago, this has become a sort of, every-year-to-eighteen-month ritual: buying each two-disc special.

This is how re-issues should be done.

Will the SM's first solo effort get the same treatment. Can't wait!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brightener, 18 Jan 2006
By 
E. A Solinas "ea_solinas" (MD USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Brighten The Corners (Audio CD)
"Brighten the Corners" remains Pavement's most settled, accessable rock record, but the band doesn't eschew their musical sound or their indie roots. Rather, they just polish up the howly vocals and multilayered musical arrangements, and the result is pretty mellow and pleasant.

It starts off with the intermittently bombastic "Stereo," before shifting to the mellower "Shady Lane" and uplifted sound of "Transport is Arranged." A more raw sound enters with the fun rockers "Date with IKEA" and lighthearted "Embassy Road," while a plaintive confusion arrives with "Old to Begin." The remaining songs harken back to their indie roots, with the monotone jazziness of "Blue Hawaiian" and the weirdness of "We Are Underused" and "Passat Dream." It ends on a pretty strong note with the vaguely ominous "Fin," in which Malkmus requests, "I trust you will tell me/if I am making a fool of myself..."

"Brighten the Corners" serves to connect the lo-fi scratchiness of their early work to a more polished sound. Sure, there are some cries of "sell-out." But Pavement's sound transfers to the smooth studio sound without losing its complexity or raw magic.

The guitar riffs are as good as ever, starting and stopping one moment, and whirling around Malkmus's vocals the next; the percussion is a solid backdrop. There are also some coy beepy-bleepy snatches of mellotron, as well as what sounds like a wavery flute, giving a feeling of vague vulnerability to the lost-soul-type songs.

Malkmus will never sing in the opera, but his soulful monotone is wonderfully well-suited to the music. The songs themselves have a certain feeling of confusion, as if the world is bewildering and chaotic. "I heard what you said/the leaders are dead/now they're robbing the skies/you can hear the followers cry..."

Pavement was still in solid form in "Brighten the Corners." While it may not be the best, the mix of complex rock and thoughtful singing is enough to make it another budding classic by Pavement.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolute magic. Pure audio bliss., 30 Oct 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Brighten The Corners (Audio CD)
In my opinion Pavement's finest album. From the first track Stereo to the last track Infinite Spark. A pure masterpiece. It's very mellow and peaceful at times as well and a great album to sing along to if you like that sort of thing (I know I do). Definitely one of my favorite all time albums. My favorite songs on there are Stereo, Shady Lane / J vs. S, Transport Is Arranged, Type Slowly, We Are Underused and Starlings Of The Slipstream.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pavement's Infinite Spark, 11 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Brighten the Corners possesses cool cover with art which reminds me of Ka-Zar (a sort of land that time forgot pre-historic Tarzan with a sabre-toothed tiger as his best friend) one of my favourite Marvel comic book characters of my childhood. Three songs, which occur at the start, mid and end point of the album define this album for me.
o Stereo kicks off the album and references Geddy Lee and from there on in catapults me back to the late 70s when I was immersed in prog rock, and to the first album I really loved, the space opera 2112, which was seldom off my stereo.
o Type Slowly starts with you waking up with shafts of sunlight coming through the window, and lyrics which paint a surreal half dream, half-conscious state, before gently stating its quiet manifesto of resistance in the urge to type slowly.
o From the initial dead man walking drum roll every note of Fin contributes to a growing sense of melancholy & resignation, even has it diverts along the line of a Shawshank Redemption-like escape, and then the song finds release in the form of a beautiful, fractured guitar solo which goes somewhere cosmic before leaving you behind in a reference to its alternative track title, Infinite Spark.

My re-introduction, following a long absence, to Pavement. Also my favourite Pavement album!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nicene Creedance Extras, 18 Dec 2008
This is not my favourite album by Pavement but this deluxe edition has some brilliant extra tracks. Notably the rocking No Tan Lines and Harness Your Hopes a song like a distillation of the Pavement essence. Also the harmonica powered Roll With the Wind is a corker.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Magical!, 5 Oct 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Brighten the Corners (Audio CD)
This band possesses some kind of magical halo that know one cantouch. You know when you've found something special when you can't compare them to anyone else, Pavement are in a class of their own. They show their magical colour's 'Stereo' the best song on the album which you may hear on the radio now and then. They remind the listener now and then that at any moment they could explode or just let you listen to the joy of a matured band. Other good songs are 'Ode to Begin and Embassy Row'. The music is colourful and bright this time around.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars theres no coast of nebraska, 17 Mar 2007
By 
Cliford Peter Clarke (england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Brighten The Corners (Audio CD)
'whats your favourite pavement album?' is a rhetorical question for me, i mean if push came to shove, i guess ill listen to crooked rain crooked rain the most, but brighten the corners is a cryptic record, that really does seem to change everytime you listen to it. Lyrically its just fantastical-SM's bizzare phrasing is not only highly original but the unpredictability makes every listen seem different. and what a range of songs on offer here! so different, even though the album is bought together by a strange and slightly disturbing undercurrent. I always think of this album as the personality fight we all endure within ourselves, the conflicting emotions that at times make us feel literally insane.

anyways, highlights include- shady lane - transport is arranged-passat dream-starlings in the slipstream-blue hawiian and date with ikea is awsome too.

one of those special albums, that reminds you just how complicated it is to be human sometimes- the comedy, and the tragedy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Masterpiece? I'd say!, 21 Nov 2004
By 
Sam Bennis "shammyb" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Brighten The Corners (Audio CD)
This is definetly the best Pavement album. A lot of people would say that 'Slanted....' is, but I couldn't see how. As a whole, its perfect and the songs individually are the best. Its a lot more accessible than the others, so everyone can enjoy it, plus it has 'Transport Is Arranged' on it. The riff that I can't stop rocking to every time I hear it. Along with that track it also contains 'Stereo', 'Type Slowly' and the sublime 'Embassy Row'. What more could you want.
But don't get me wrong, the other albums are fantastic...but just aren't as incredible as this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Brighten The Corners
Brighten The Corners by Pavement (Audio CD - 2001)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews