Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brightener
"Brighten the Corners" remains Pavement's most settled, accessable rock record, but the band doesn't eschew their musical sound or their indie roots. Rather, they just polish up the howly vocals and multilayered musical arrangements, and the result is pretty mellow and pleasant.

It starts off with the intermittently bombastic "Stereo," before...
Published on 18 Jan 2006 by E. A Solinas

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars theres no coast of nebraska
'whats your favourite pavement album?' is a rhetorical question for me, i mean if push came to shove, i guess ill listen to crooked rain crooked rain the most, but brighten the corners is a cryptic record, that really does seem to change everytime you listen to it. Lyrically its just fantastical-SM's bizzare phrasing is not only highly original but the unpredictability...
Published on 17 Mar 2007 by Cliford Peter Clarke


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brightener, 18 Jan 2006
By 
E. A Solinas "ea_solinas" (MD USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Brighten The Corners (Audio CD)
"Brighten the Corners" remains Pavement's most settled, accessable rock record, but the band doesn't eschew their musical sound or their indie roots. Rather, they just polish up the howly vocals and multilayered musical arrangements, and the result is pretty mellow and pleasant.

It starts off with the intermittently bombastic "Stereo," before shifting to the mellower "Shady Lane" and uplifted sound of "Transport is Arranged." A more raw sound enters with the fun rockers "Date with IKEA" and lighthearted "Embassy Road," while a plaintive confusion arrives with "Old to Begin." The remaining songs harken back to their indie roots, with the monotone jazziness of "Blue Hawaiian" and the weirdness of "We Are Underused" and "Passat Dream." It ends on a pretty strong note with the vaguely ominous "Fin," in which Malkmus requests, "I trust you will tell me/if I am making a fool of myself..."

"Brighten the Corners" serves to connect the lo-fi scratchiness of their early work to a more polished sound. Sure, there are some cries of "sell-out." But Pavement's sound transfers to the smooth studio sound without losing its complexity or raw magic.

The guitar riffs are as good as ever, starting and stopping one moment, and whirling around Malkmus's vocals the next; the percussion is a solid backdrop. There are also some coy beepy-bleepy snatches of mellotron, as well as what sounds like a wavery flute, giving a feeling of vague vulnerability to the lost-soul-type songs.

Malkmus will never sing in the opera, but his soulful monotone is wonderfully well-suited to the music. The songs themselves have a certain feeling of confusion, as if the world is bewildering and chaotic. "I heard what you said/the leaders are dead/now they're robbing the skies/you can hear the followers cry..."

Pavement was still in solid form in "Brighten the Corners." While it may not be the best, the mix of complex rock and thoughtful singing is enough to make it another budding classic by Pavement.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You can't help but smile throughout., 15 Feb 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Brighten The Corners (Audio CD)
Brighten the corners is one of those albums. Most will listen but not understand, it is their loss. The album is a true masterpiece in every way. Those not used to the vocal style of Stephen Malkmus will argue that he cannot sing. Somehow though the wonky wisdom he preaches draws together the music in a spell bounding way. I have never smiled so much listening to an album. If you could bottle happiness its in this album. Lyrically odd, quirky and highly original, its not like your typical indie rock, not like anything else. If you have not heard Pavement before, this album is a great starting point. After a few listens if you are not a fan then you don't like music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Genius relaxing at the top of its form, 6 April 2009
Another embarassment of riches from Pavement. Many fans will have the original album and possibly many of the other tracks on CD singles. What separates these reissues from the pack however is the fantastic packaging - collecting photos, illustrations and anecdotes contemporary to the album's original release.

It has been said that this is the sound of Pavement unwinding - the gradual spiral down to the over produced and underwhelming Terror Twilight. I disagree. If Wowee Zowee is the sound of Pavement trying (and succeeding) to escape the bonds that constrain most guitar based bands the BTC is the sound of them orbiting rock kicking back at the top of their game.

The second disc is characteristicly choc full of treasures. Alternate versions of The Hexx and Tan lines among others shimmer so brightly that most bands would kill for a slice of their genius. Things went south from here but at this point Pavement had the world at their feet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolute magic. Pure audio bliss., 30 Oct 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Brighten The Corners (Audio CD)
In my opinion Pavement's finest album. From the first track Stereo to the last track Infinite Spark. A pure masterpiece. It's very mellow and peaceful at times as well and a great album to sing along to if you like that sort of thing (I know I do). Definitely one of my favorite all time albums. My favorite songs on there are Stereo, Shady Lane / J vs. S, Transport Is Arranged, Type Slowly, We Are Underused and Starlings Of The Slipstream.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Three cheers for the gentlemen from America, 21 Jan 2009
I know we've still got Terror Twilight to go, but I can't wait any longer. Since the first re-issues of the Pavement back catalogue appeared a few years ago, this has become a sort of, every-year-to-eighteen-month ritual: buying each two-disc special.

This is how re-issues should be done.

Will the SM's first solo effort get the same treatment. Can't wait!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Magical!, 5 Oct 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Brighten the Corners (Audio CD)
This band possesses some kind of magical halo that know one cantouch. You know when you've found something special when you can't compare them to anyone else, Pavement are in a class of their own. They show their magical colour's 'Stereo' the best song on the album which you may hear on the radio now and then. They remind the listener now and then that at any moment they could explode or just let you listen to the joy of a matured band. Other good songs are 'Ode to Begin and Embassy Row'. The music is colourful and bright this time around.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wildly erattic joyous mayhem!, 21 Sep 2000
This review is from: Brighten The Corners (Audio CD)
Pavement, the queens of modern American Lo-Fi! This eclectic offering brings a refreshing wave of mayhem from the minute you press play. 'Bighten the Corners opens with the aptly named 'Stereo', a song by all contrasts giving the listener a full flavour of the very stuff that is Pavement. With the all time great line - "what about the voice of Gedi Lee, I wonder if he speaks like an ordinary guy; I know him and he does". This wonderful nonsense prevails throughout with the lyrical timbre ranging from the absurd to the absurder! Musically the 3 minute form is stretched out of all recognition, with half finished themes rolling into neatly explored phrases to downright heavenly 'noise'.

Lo-Fi has never had it so good, a co-hesive blend of disonance and tongue - in - cheek harmoniousness. The album moves swiftly without peaks and troughs, just one long high ride! If you have not ventured into Pavement territory, this is the album to familiarise yourself with. For those veteran fans, a culmination of anarchistic adolescence metamorphosising into a Utopia of sound and fable.

Go Buy It!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars theres no coast of nebraska, 17 Mar 2007
By 
Cliford Peter Clarke (england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Brighten The Corners (Audio CD)
'whats your favourite pavement album?' is a rhetorical question for me, i mean if push came to shove, i guess ill listen to crooked rain crooked rain the most, but brighten the corners is a cryptic record, that really does seem to change everytime you listen to it. Lyrically its just fantastical-SM's bizzare phrasing is not only highly original but the unpredictability makes every listen seem different. and what a range of songs on offer here! so different, even though the album is bought together by a strange and slightly disturbing undercurrent. I always think of this album as the personality fight we all endure within ourselves, the conflicting emotions that at times make us feel literally insane.

anyways, highlights include- shady lane - transport is arranged-passat dream-starlings in the slipstream-blue hawiian and date with ikea is awsome too.

one of those special albums, that reminds you just how complicated it is to be human sometimes- the comedy, and the tragedy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I'm sick of being misread, 20 April 2001
By 
knowledeayton (Hereford, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Brighten The Corners (Audio CD)
After the haphazard, awkward beauty of Pavement's first three LPs, the initial overriding impression of BTC to fans of the band was that the sound had been smoothed over to its detriment. Thing is, Stephen Malkmus always was a great songwriter (and a fantastic lyricist), and one never really appreciated that the wilfully lo-fi production that characterised their earlier sound was probably holding them back somewhat. So, yeah, it took a fair while for me to appreciate this LP fully. I always enjoyed the singles Stereo and Shady Lane, but now I hear tracks like the totally sublime Type Slowly (sample lyric: "One of us is a cigar stand / And one of us is a lovely blue incandescent guillotine") and go all goose-pimply.

Their final masterpiece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Masterpiece? I'd say!, 21 Nov 2004
By 
Sam Bennis "shammyb" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Brighten The Corners (Audio CD)
This is definetly the best Pavement album. A lot of people would say that 'Slanted....' is, but I couldn't see how. As a whole, its perfect and the songs individually are the best. Its a lot more accessible than the others, so everyone can enjoy it, plus it has 'Transport Is Arranged' on it. The riff that I can't stop rocking to every time I hear it. Along with that track it also contains 'Stereo', 'Type Slowly' and the sublime 'Embassy Row'. What more could you want.
But don't get me wrong, the other albums are fantastic...but just aren't as incredible as this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Brighten The Corners
Brighten The Corners by Pavement (Audio CD - 2001)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews