Customer Reviews


87 Reviews
5 star:
 (68)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


33 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Maybe not his best album, but by far his most important
HIStory starts with fifteen greatest hits, and has the curse that only genius can suffer; there aren't enough! Where is Smooth Criminal, Will You Be There, Leave Me Alone, Who Is It... Some greatest hits albums resort to fillers, but HIStory Begins could have been bigger and better and still left you complaining that it wasn't enough!
HIStory Continues, the second...
Published on 23 Nov 2000

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting, very underrated record
This album is the last bit of greatness from MJ. Its not a five star record but I love it because its realy interesting lyrically. I realy like how he almost makes a concept album about everything that has been pissing him off, child abuse and all. Critics dont seem to realise that its actually pretty daring for someone this successful to come out with an album like this...
Published 5 months ago by jamo


‹ Previous | 16 7 8 9 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Michael Jackson - History CD, 8 Nov 2009
This review is from: HIStory - Past, Present and Future Book 1 (Audio CD)
Excellent service arrived very quickly - very impressed.History - Past, Present And Future - Book I
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Speechless..., 28 Oct 2009
By 
Jacob Job Schot "Alex CTE" (Sotogrande, Spain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: History (Audio CD)
This piece of art is just amazing and it is a must have for anybody if you have been a long time fan or not this is just amazing with a nice commodorative booklet including photos.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars History Album - Michael Jackson, 29 Sep 2009
This review is from: HIStory - Past, Present and Future Book 1 (Audio CD)
I absolutely adore this album!!n It has lots of MJ's old hits and several new ones, although I have to say that the "rap" tracks aren't my favourite, and I think it's a shame MJ felt he had to try and "modernise" his work by working with rappers and new boy bands.

Having said that, this is probably one of the best MJ albums I've bought.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars one of the best, 24 Sep 2009
By 
G. Atkins "Badger four" (EAST ANGLIA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: HIStory - Past, Present and Future Book 1 (Audio CD)
Followed Michael Jackson since he started his solo career. Yes, it was a tragedy when he passed away. What ever the cause his music will live on. This CD, History Past Present and Future Book 1 confirms the talent of this wonderful entertainer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best Album, 8 Aug 2009
By 
This review is from: HIStory - Past, Present and Future Book 1 (Audio CD)
I have always liked MJ and I think this is the best album that I have bought. Great selection of songs sung as only MJ could.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of his best, 4 Aug 2009
This review is from: HIStory - Past, Present and Future Book 1 (Audio CD)
I love this album which spans a lot of Michael Jacksons albums. I had this originally as a 2 cassette box set. This is one of his best
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amasing album!!!!, 20 July 2009
By 
Ms. Maria Abrantes "Mabrantes17" (Greater London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: HIStory - Past, Present and Future Book 1 (Audio CD)
Ordered this fantastic album after MJ's death just to have some of his best songs in one or 2 CDs... Loved it! We'll miss you, MJ!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars HIStory in the making..., 12 May 2006
By 
This review is from: History (Audio CD)
Firstly, I'll only review the new material on HIStory. You all know what CD 1 is about, it goes without saying.

So, firstly, it must be said that HIStory doesn't make for a pleasant listen. Not a pleasant listen at all. But I don't necessarily mean that the music quality is poor.

The following words spring to mind when listening to HIStory; bleak, dark, scary, painful, apocalyptic, melancholy, thoughtful, sad, venomous...it really isn't a pretty picture.

Yet despite all this, it's a strangely compulsive album, not least because it's all delivered with such flair; a beat to dance to here, a chorus to sing (or scream) along to here, a soft string arrangement to tug at the heartstrings now and then.

Before HIStory, Michael was criticised for making music that was good, yet soulless and without conviction. Here, HIStory's themes are so close to Michael that he almost has the opposite problem - he really pours his heart into the music, seething with such anger that you fear you CD player could explode. But the music itself does seem to suffer as a result. Whoever listens to HIStory clearly has a liking for MJ; Micheal's audio-unloading of bile onto the listener kind of makes you feel 'hey what did I do wrong?'

Yet that's maybe where the power of HIStory lies. From the sheer fury of Scream and They Don't Care About Us, to the haunting beauty of Stranger in Moscow and Childhood, to the cool sneer of Money and 2 Bad, to the disturbing Little Susie and Smile, and of course Earth Song, Michael will grab you from start to finish, force you to listen to this, and whether you enjoy it or not, your opinion of Michael will have changed.

It must be heard to be understood.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars OUT OF THIS AND ANY OTHER WORLD!!!!, 23 Jan 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: HIStory - Past, Present and Future Book 1 (Audio CD)
Michael Jackson has proved all the press wrong and silenced his critics with a sheer masterpiece. Starting off with an epic greatest hits, with all your faves such as Thriller, Bille Jean and Bad, it goes on to the main event, the new CD. Complete with 13 out of 15 STUNNING tracks, this album is one you will never forget. From the heart-warming ballads (Stranger in Moscow, Earth Song, You are not alone), to the rip-roaring up-beat tracks ( Scream, DS) to the all new RNB tracks (This time around, Money), this album is full of surprises. He also goes for three big band and classical numbers.The only one which works is the classic History, with Smile and Little Susie becoming instantly forgetable, but that is a slight smudge on the King of Pop's best album since Thriller!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The new stuff alone would get 3 stars., 22 July 2009
This review is from: HIStory - Past, Present and Future Book 1 (Audio CD)
This was a massively important record for Michael. It was his first after the Jordan Chandler allegations and he had to really remind the world why they loved him. Hence why the record company I presume packaged it with a greatest hits Disc too, which at the time was the first compilation (of many) available of his hits, which in a time before itunes playlists was a much in demand disc..

The publicity around this record was incredible, MJ floated giant 30 foot statues of himself down the River Thames in London i remember.. and the video for the first single, Scream, was the most expensive video ever and the launch of it almost brought the country to a stand still..

But what of the music??

Well firstly, disc 1 - like many have mentioned here.. why the omissions of so many great tracks? I know MJ could never just put out one CD of hits and satisfy us all but, no Smooth Criminal, Leave me alone or Will you be there?? - anyway, still a good disc, still a 5 stars no question.

And disc 2...? Right well it started with what at the time was a track I absolutly loved, Scream, it was so exciting to finally hear him duet with Janet (another gimmick to sell it?) and it is a good track. It's probably the most overlooked song of his.. is it ever included on new compilations? Its an up beat heavy sound full of funk and hooks.

I remember the day it was released I loved track 2, they don't care about us, a great great track and so too is the beautiful Stranger in moscow.. Earth songs also fantastic. But then the great tracks become rather sparse.

A lot of tracks vent MJ's anger at his accusers with differing levels of success. D.S isn't a good song, nor really is Tabloid Junkie.. although a catchy chorus, for an MJ song, its below par.. This time around is weak compared to similar tracks on Dangerous.

Money and 2bad however are two tracks that in the years since I've found myself returning too. Their funky beats and great vocals make them compulsive and still fresh and surprisingly good, underated tunes.

Come Togethers obviously a Beatles cover and although not better than the original does a job. It's fine.

Childhood and You are not alone are two that i'm sure you know and for a certain market I'm sure are great, for me though too soft. I like Mj with balls and these two are two of MJ's softest ballads really.

and then for the last three.. what a mess frankly.

History a strange mix of Heal the World crossed Scream.. it kinda works.. Little susie is draped in Strings and is really a bizarre track and Smile too, far too over produced with strings etc.. would have been far nicer with a simpler production.

All in all a really mixed bag of new material. Songs I return too today are Scream, They don't care about us, Stranger in moscow, Earth song, Money, 2bad and maybe Come together - thats only 7/15!! this an MJ record where usually every song is a favourite!

Overall i'd say that now you don't have to buy the album just for disc 1, the tracks alone on disc 2 would deem this MJ's worst output of original stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 16 7 8 9 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

HIStory - Past, Present and Future Book 1
HIStory - Past, Present and Future Book 1 by Michael Jackson (Audio CD - 1995)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews