Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Their best ever album. Truly a future sound!
This has to be one of the best ambient albums constructed with a wide variety of moods, from the thumping Track 4 (Slider) to the whale sounding 'Eyes pop skin explodes everybody dead' (Track 7). Throughout the album the incorporated samples accompanied by Eastern vocals sound to me like music that would be ideal for a Bladerunner like landscape. In one line: Eastern...
Published on 6 Jan 2000 by Oliver Elstob

versus
5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Earth calling...
FSOL had obviously been spending far too much time noodling at home with their new studio toys before this came out. Far more evolved in range and scope than their earlier work. Much, much stranger. Not necessarily in a bad way, although some of the swirling ambient randomness does grate a little - problem looking for a solution anyone? However the less experimental dance...
Published on 23 Sep 2004 by Chris Dardis


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Their best ever album. Truly a future sound!, 6 Jan 2000
By 
Oliver Elstob (Port Sunlight, Wirral United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: I.S.D.N (Audio CD)
This has to be one of the best ambient albums constructed with a wide variety of moods, from the thumping Track 4 (Slider) to the whale sounding 'Eyes pop skin explodes everybody dead' (Track 7). Throughout the album the incorporated samples accompanied by Eastern vocals sound to me like music that would be ideal for a Bladerunner like landscape. In one line: Eastern influence dark distorted ambient techno. Don't miss this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FSOL in the extreme., 2 Feb 2004
By 
M. J. Jenkins (Surrey, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Isdn [VINYL] (Vinyl)
FSOL are too far ahead for their own good. This album released and deleted on the same day is an amazing feat of ultra mellow and sometimes bizarre music. The packaging is also very impressive - my copy folding out to reveal a Lifeforms/My Kingdom picture.
The music may not be as accessible as other of their offerings as it falls fully within the experimental sphere, but it is still superb. On one of the tracks there is a bass sound that comes from the depths of space - very impressive and a touch disconcerting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mind Blowing, 12 May 2009
By 
Steven Roberts (Manchester,UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Isness (Audio CD)
Never heard this album before this week, i feel really ashamed as it is absolute pyschedelice masterpiece. Nuff said.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars vastly different, 26 July 2007
By 
M. Davidson (Southampton) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: I.S.D.N (Audio CD)
I have been a fsol fan for ages and this albumn is my favourite. For anyone who does not know fsol they are to me a good sample/computer type of dance music that give a slow but strong and very dark vibe. I think that they have a very dim view of the future and they reflect this in their music.
The albumn (as most albumns do) has some filler but these keep in touch with the feel of the stronger songs (tracks) they just do not progress as well as they could. The stronger tracks are me real hidden classics that match Aphex Twins or the orbs best.
If you are of like mind you may, like me, find this albumn to be a permanent space in an mp3.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars IT'S UNIQUE, 25 April 2006
This review is from: I.S.D.N (Audio CD)
In reponse to the it's it's awful comment - it's different.

Music does not have to be poptastic, it can be based around sounds and rhythms.

And these guys know how to put together amazing examples of audio you will not here anywhere else on this earth.

I cannot reccomend this duo enough however read the previous post, and if you can't appreciate the genre O.K.

It's worth the try, and you'll never look back.

Absolutely awesome, mind blowing, get it and if you wish for a gentle start to the FSOl experience go for lifeforms.

Get them all, theyr're all interesting and a sonic fantasyland.

Unbelievable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A mysterious journey through dark sounds, 5 Jun 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: I.S.D.N (Audio CD)
One of those albums that you need to sit in the dark to listen to. An excellent mellow chill-out listen with an acid bite. Still sounds great after 5 years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well worth the money, 21 Nov 2004
By 
Master B. J. Bateson "el cid" (Isle of Man) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: I.S.D.N (Audio CD)
FSOL were a pretty new thing to me when i bought this - i bought the album because it was cheap and i knew it was like a lot of the other stuff i listen to (leftfield, faithless etc). A particularly good album for chilling out to - makes good background music for a party or just for lying in bed if you feel ill or want to get to sleep. Well worth a buy, it only costs a few quid. Especially like the far-out son of lung and the ramblings of a madman.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Different flavour, same quality, 25 May 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: I.S.D.N (Audio CD)
Performed by ISDN lines during "live" shows, these tracks form a compilation of their 1994 world tour, and show the band are as good in the studio as they are in...the studio. erm. more trip-hop and jazz based. the original versions on the live shows are actually superior, though - here, Dirty Shadows lacks the guitar textures of Fripp and the 8 minute version of It's My Mind That Works which graced our radios all those years ago. that aside, the album is an outstanding 75 minutes of top quality music
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Top quality, 26 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: ISDN (Audio CD)
I wasnt sure about this on my first listen but I put that down to my mood at the time, its quality from start to finish buy it and you wont be disappointed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Earth calling..., 23 Sep 2004
By 
Chris Dardis - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: I.S.D.N (Audio CD)
FSOL had obviously been spending far too much time noodling at home with their new studio toys before this came out. Far more evolved in range and scope than their earlier work. Much, much stranger. Not necessarily in a bad way, although some of the swirling ambient randomness does grate a little - problem looking for a solution anyone? However the less experimental dance tracks on this are absolute stormers and will still merrily blow a floor away and would merrit 5 stars if it wasn't for the interspersed interludes. I particularly admire 'far out son of a lung...' for writing in a 3/4 rhythm, not too common a thing in a techno style... Tried playing the whole ablum through at a party once, and these were pretty open minded folk, but I'm afraid it all got to be a bit much about halfway through... The good material is the best they've ever done, but you do need to bear with the rest of it at times... For not much over a fiver you're not going to go far wrong here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

I.S.D.N
I.S.D.N by Future Sound of London (Audio CD - 1995)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews