Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Boos go POP! And they do it brilliantly...
3 and a half minutes is all it takes. Wake Up Boo! is one of the greatest pop songs of the last ten years, and anyone who disagrees is a curmudgeonly old fool, frankly, who must be too dull and old and po-faced to be seduced by it's perfectly Motown-tastic brass and breezy Autumn-morning chorus. But don't be fooled - there may well be loads of hooks and choruses on this...
Published on 3 Feb 2001 by Sick Mouthy

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Wake Up
Loved this album when it first came out. Very average now and has dated badly. Sounds rather trite and whimsical. You see hundreds of copies of this album in charity shops, so buy it there if you really have to.
Published on 1 Nov 2009 by Mr. Np Chambers


Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Boos go POP! And they do it brilliantly..., 3 Feb 2001
By 
Sick Mouthy (Exeter, Devon) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Wake Up! (Audio CD)
3 and a half minutes is all it takes. Wake Up Boo! is one of the greatest pop songs of the last ten years, and anyone who disagrees is a curmudgeonly old fool, frankly, who must be too dull and old and po-faced to be seduced by it's perfectly Motown-tastic brass and breezy Autumn-morning chorus. But don't be fooled - there may well be loads of hooks and choruses on this LP, but it's still the Boos, and those hooks and choruses are still tied to psychedelic guitar abuse and deeply touching sentiment. If you think Wake Up Boo! is all this album, or indeed, the Boos, are about, then you are very much mistaken. Check out Wilder and Twinside. Sod it, just buy this album. And Giant Steps too. You bloody deserve it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great value for money, 24 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wake Up! (Audio CD)
Great condition, prompt delivery, brilliant service. I bought this item for my niece's naming day. It was to play at the ceremony as her nickname is Boo
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Wake Up, 1 Nov 2009
By 
This review is from: Wake Up! (Audio CD)
Loved this album when it first came out. Very average now and has dated badly. Sounds rather trite and whimsical. You see hundreds of copies of this album in charity shops, so buy it there if you really have to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I wouldn't start from here if I were you, 17 Jan 2005
By 
Mr. P. J. Snow "snowman" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Wake Up! (Audio CD)
Having just returned to this album for a first listen in a couple of years, it has become apparent why it's the Boo Radleys album that I listen to least of them all.
Compared to the colossal achievements of Giant Steps and Kingsize - two of the finest albums in my collection - this is a weak album. Perhaps it's that it is too commercial but when the most commercial track on the album is the wonderful Wake Up Boo! I don't think that it's that. Maybe it was just recorded in a period when Martin Carr's light of inspiration was a little dimmed.
That's not to say that the album doesn't have its merits; the aforementioned Wake Up Boo, Stuck on Amber, Wilder and Reaching Out From Here are all tracks that wouldn't look out of place on their better albums. But if you are looking for a place to start discovering the qualities that made the Boo Radleys one of the best bands of the 90s then in the words of the old joke - I wouldn't start from here if I were you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's easier to drink than to think, 23 Mar 2001
By 
knowledeayton (Hereford, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Wake Up! (Audio CD)
The album where the Boo Radleys realised their dreams of pop stardom...the Wake Up Boo! single went Top 10 and propelled this LP to number one...it all seems faintly unreal in retrospect.

The superficial cheeriness of Wake Up Boo! is not indicative of the rest of the LP; generally, the theme throughout is typically downbeat. The Boos always sounded best when they were simply wallowing in self-pity (try the brilliant Stuck On Amber for size) or, to coin a phrase, being experi-mental (e.g. the alarming change of tempo midway through Joel).

Unfortunately, Wake Up!'s highs are tempered by other less inspired moments - the attempts to replicate Wake Up Boo!'s blatantly radio-friendly sound on a number of other tracks, notably its follow-up singles Find The Answer Within and It's Lulu, are considerably less successful, while Charles Bukowski Is Dead is, frankly, a waste of time.

Overall, Wake Up! is both confused and confusing, unsure whether it wants to be one thing or another, and as such is probably the Boos' weakest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Wake up goo., 31 Aug 2012
By 
Richard "Not here." (London, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Wake Up! (Audio CD)
Based upon having heard only one song from this album (the title) and a slew of favourable (rave actually) reports as to the genuine credentials of this band as acid rockers par excellence of their generation, prior to purchasing a copy, I approached it with a very positive attitude. Unfortunately. about a quarter of the way into the album that feeling began to fade as the realisation gradually dawned that the texture of the production was not going to vary. The band seems to have been given it's head throughout; which should have been a good thing given that they can play and have some songwriting ability --though not exceptional based upon this disc. Unfortunately, they appear to have assumed that that a thousand layers make for a better cake than three or two even when it comes to psychedelia. Consequently for this listener, the entire enterprise sinks into ever deepening lysergic queasiness as you progress through the disc. It's all too much.

On the one hand I found myself admiring the dedication to detail in the production which I assume indicates a passionate acid-head commitment of sorts, but the lack of perspective overall undermines the entire thing. This album is one massively over-egged concoction. I assume these blokes are big fans of Sgt. Pepper and Piper at the gates of dawn --so why didn't they absorb the lessons of sonic clarity and dynamic variety evident on those psych masterpieces? The Super Furry Animals seemed to have. So why not these guys, if they are supposed to be be such great space hoppers?

The sunny high of the opening title song bodes well for the rest of the trip, but the other songs don't really deliver on that initial promise. Certainly they are all melodic in character but nothing stands out as being an exceptionally pretty or catchy song on first run-through. Maybe they are growers with repetition. But after the initial listen I didn't find myself keen to try that out. Whatever, there isn't another tune on there better than the title song and indeed, not all that much variation in general melodic character throughout either. Maybe the idea was that the album was an expression in variations of the initial musical statement. Whatever, the end result is certainly a bit samey.

This album is no crystal trip. It's as if instead of dropping acid, these boys mostly mixed dope and alcohol to get their inspirational high for the outing. Either that or youthful enthusiasm overwhelmed musical vision. But it's certainly no psych classic. It's too gooey for that and unremarkable in its songwriting character too. What a pity, because they clearly had the talent to do something much better. I'm told that they went onto to do precisely that on their next three albums and based upon the enthusiastic commitment and basic musical ability they show on this one, I intend giving them the benefit of doubt and checking those out. But it won't surprise me if they turn out to be underwhelming having heard this fairly decent, but disappointing effort.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic, 27 April 2010
By 
J. Everington (Nottingham, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Wake Up! (Audio CD)
This isn't the Boo Radleys at their best, but it's not far off, and still deserving off five-stars. Billed as the Boo Radleys's 'pop' album, this probably caused some confusion for the 90s indiepop kids who bought it on the strength of 'Wake Up Boo'...

WUB is a great pop song in its way, as are the other singles from the album: 'It's Lulu' and 'Find The Answer Within'. However this is a genuine album with little filler, and the best tracks are the slower, more downbeat, or just plain odd ones: 'Joel' is about four songs in one, 'Martin Doom' is great, catchy but very odd, and 'Wilder' is one of the most beautiful sad songs you're ever likely to hear. Many of these songs are sad, underneath - not angsty, or enraged, or anything so teenage, but genuinely sad.

A little gem of a record, drowned out by the lead-single's catchiness and popularity. Try it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars g, 8 July 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wake Up! (Audio CD)
I've had no problems with regard to the ordering and receipt of this item. I only bought it so i could wake up to its a beautiful morning being played to me when my radio alarm goes off!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Wake Up!
Wake Up! by Boo Radleys (Audio CD - 1995)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews