Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars simply sublime
In the sleeve notes Part writes about his music being 'white' so that the listener can bring his own 'colours' to it. Exactly. The three versions of spiegel im spiegel are almost transcendental and they are very difficult to get out of your head after you've listened to them, and even then never completely. Norman Lebrecht, in the latest edition of his book on 20th...
Published on 31 Jan 2000 by lawrences@eggconnect.net

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A mistake
I failed to look at the content (tracks) before ordering and was disappointed to find there were basically only two: one repeated three times with almost indiscernable variations, the other twice.

My fault.

Amazon's delivery, packaging etc, as ever, superb.
Published 8 months ago by rambler


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars simply sublime, 31 Jan 2000
By 
lawrences@eggconnect.net (Southampton, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Pärt: Alina (Audio CD)
In the sleeve notes Part writes about his music being 'white' so that the listener can bring his own 'colours' to it. Exactly. The three versions of spiegel im spiegel are almost transcendental and they are very difficult to get out of your head after you've listened to them, and even then never completely. Norman Lebrecht, in the latest edition of his book on 20th century music, is so dismissive of the piece that one wonders if the man had his wits about him when he was listening to it. I do not understand why there aren't more opportunities to hear Part's stuff live. I once had the unexpected pleasure of hearing, at Southampton University's Turner Sims, a small string ensemble perform a piece which I had only previously heard with piano and violin. To hear a piece one knows and loves played ever so slightly differently is quite something, as this record perfectly demonstrates.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spellbinding simplicity, 4 Dec 1999
By 
This review is from: Pärt: Alina (Audio CD)
There are five tracks on this disc but in a sense only two pieces of music; but this is more than a smart piece of conmanship on the part of ECM. This is minimalist music and here the idea of a mirror comes into play. There are differences in the performance of each piece, each time it appears and given the relative simplicity of each piece the differences prove to be crucial. I am a Part fan but even by his standards this is distilled to the nth degree. The piano piece (Fur Alina) is seminal here, ushering in Part's obsession with bell-like sounds. The sheet music for the piece is baffling at first - it looks so spare, is technically so easy to play, but what does it mean? Listen to these performances and be spellbound. A seeming paucity of musical material does not lead to boredom. On the contrary I had to time the disc to ensure that it is the length stated on the cover. If you give yourself and your fullest attention to this music it becomes something of a meditation - certainly for me time both stands still and flashes by while listening to it. A superb disc with ECM's customary attention to detail both in terms of presentation and performance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simplicity defeats a giant., 7 Oct 2002
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pärt: Alina (Audio CD)
I have always been one for Rachmaninov myself, but on hearing this delightful work, I think I may of changed my mind. You might even say that I had forgotten how beautiful simplicity could be, without ornamentation, without a lush embrace of a 20+ note chord (part dissonance, part assonance) filling space with a ring of grandeur. These 5 pieces each have their own grandeur, their own pride, which is realised through the sparcity of colour.
Do sit quietly and listen to this work. Listen to the silences, the breaths between the notes, the expression in the phrases. I am sure if you do, you will be rewarded with a pleasure which only good music can bring you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Music is meditative and reach's for the subconcious., 6 Mar 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Pärt: Alina (Audio CD)
Slow,sublime and meditative.This album will grow on you the more you listen.Piano music is achingly beautiful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Soothes the soul, 19 Jan 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Pärt: Alina (Audio CD)
From the first plangent notes, this CD had the effect of completely chilling me out. I could feel my shoulders dropping as it flowed over me. It's deceptively simple, and works both as an intense listening experience but also as background music to work by. I loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Music to play in Heaven, 2 Dec 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Pärt: Alina (Audio CD)
I find this recording magical, the repetition of the pieces adds to the mystique, the cello version being my favourite. Perfect for relieving stress on a Friday evening, either on the M25, or at home.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars minimalist beauty, 19 Jan 2009
By 
Mr. K. Hubbard "kevinatkhco" (Glastonbury) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Pärt: Alina (Audio CD)
I've listened to many of the Arvo Part CDs, and have to say I don't take to his orchestral and/or choral works .... they are too disjointed and not sufficiently flowing for my taste. Also, I don't tend to like music with a huge range of volume, from o to 11 on the volume scale, as I'm looking for something hypnotic from this type of minimalist "spiritual" music. But this CD is just perfect. It's ideal if you want to be transported into silence. Reminds me somewhat of Keith Jarrett at his sublime best, and also has some of the quality of Renaissance church music, such as Taverner, Tallis and Palestrina, but pared down to its absolute basics. It's beautiful simplicity at its best. Definitely worth buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Harmonic cloudscape, 11 July 2002
By 
Dobester (Istanbul, Turkey) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pärt: Alina (Audio CD)
Indescribably beautiful music, strengthened rather than weakened by the repetition of the pieces. The differing instrumentations bring out the simple, limpid beauty of Pärt's compositions. The disc has an almost overpowering spiritual resonance. Despite not being explicitly devotional music, Pärt's religious beliefs seem to inform every note and pause on the record. Music to die to, rather than for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The prism of the spirit, 11 Dec 2008
By 
Jon Chambers (Birmingham, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Pärt: Alina (Audio CD)
Arvo Pärt is one of those rare contemporary composers whose works are immediately accessible and (probably for the same reason) whose output manages to attract the kind of audience that would otherwise give contemporary 'serious' music a wide berth.

Both pieces on this CD, Spiegel im Spiegel and Für Alina, exert a hypnotic pull on the listener. As far as the traditional musical ingredients are concerned (harmony, melody etc.), there isn't an awful lot going on. But what does happen contributes to an artfully designed sound that is meditative, introspective and unique.

Despite the possible perception of poor value (the five tracks are, in essence, just two works in varied guise) there are two very good reasons for opting for this CD over rival versions. First is the violin playing of Vladimir Spivakov. His sparing vibrato makes his style particularly well suited to such an ascetically spiritual piece. The second is an absorbing essay on Pärt's musical aesthetic (by Hermann Conen). It begins with a quotation in which Pärt compares his music to white light. Only a prism can divide the colours, he says, and the spirit of the listener is the prism for his music's whiteness. And if this sounds like nothing so much as hocus pocus, the proof is in the listening.

As with Bach's Prelude No 1 for keyboard or the Prelude to his First Cello Suite, Pärt offers a simplicity that is self-sufficient.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Resonates with the soul, 23 Jun 2010
By 
SH_ (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Pärt: Alina (Audio CD)
I suspect that the reason so many people find this simple music has a magical effect on them is that it perfectly resonates with that still centre of self that we barely recognise and to which we are reaching when we use the word "soul". Sitting with this music is transforming and healing, far more so than with Part's busy hermaphrodite choirs and the dripping religious stuff. This is where he really hits what he was looking for, well outside of Christianity and the medieval Church, in a timeless, sect-less, open, infinite space. Shame he didn't write much more like this but there's always Sibelius chamber music and Philip Glass and the Durutti Column.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Pärt: Alina
Pärt: Alina by Arvo Pärt (Audio CD - 2008)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews