Customer Reviews


51 Reviews
5 star:
 (30)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An Incomplete 'Legacy'
DISC 1

The first disc features the long out-of-print Bowie mix of the album and it never sounded better; certainly, this re-mastering is a vast improvement over the previous CD version, being far clearer and with a better lower-end response than before. Of course, it could never reach the bass intensity of the more up until now readily available Iggy Pop remix...
Published on 1 May 2010 by Charles Miller

versus
25 of 28 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Iggy Makes The Stooges Normal
Amazon seems to be using these Raw Power reviews for a number of different versions of the album, so to be clear, I'm reviewing the 1997 CD release remixed by Iggy Pop (COL 4851762).

Now. As a consequence of Pop's remix of this album, everything which made the original Raw Power so unique - and so "off the wall" - has been destroyed. Everything.

In...
Published on 8 Oct 2011 by XBBX


‹ Previous | 14 5 6 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Raw, Rough & Raucous Power, 20 Dec 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Raw Power (Audio CD)
Iggy And The Stooges
Raw Power (1997 reissue)
(Legacy 1973/1997)

Vs.

Iggy And The Stooges
Raw Power (Legacy 2CD Edition)
(Legacy 1973/2010)

The question is which to take home, Iggy Pop's 1997 super-loud remix or the tinnier, ropier remastered 'original' Bowie mix?
The Legacy Edition's stereo channels are more separated (on occasion enabling you to pick out elements a little easier such as tambourine on `Your Pretty Face Is Going To Hell'). The echo delay between duplicated snare beats on `Penetration' is a little annoying and different from the 97 version. But one can't deny that the newest release is cleaner. As far as the bonuses included, the new one is disappointing. What could have been included are all the classic pre-Raw Power fan favourites, including the best versions of `I Got A right', `Gimme Some Skin', `I'm Sick Of You'. Quite obviously Sony want you to shell out for the not-so-complete 3 disc deluxe version!

In the 1997 mix, the stereo channels are more integrated and balanced, bassier. With headphones you'll notice this mix is a more full frontal attack. The problem is it's definitely more distorted, over-driven, buzzier, rougher, regardless of how unfinished the source material is. It is as if you've got a loose speaker cable connection, like the crackly static on the guitar intro the `Penetration'.

Sorry, but we need a third mix! So, you'll have to take both home. I've devised a thoroughly un-punk equation to resolve the problem between the two CD versions: (clarity of 1997 mix)x(attack of + balance of 2010 mix)=Raw Power
1997 CD Rating ****
2010 CD Rating ***

Raw Power-era rarities on CD:
Original Punks: In The Studio & On Stage (2CD)
Heavy Liquid (6CD)
Penetration: the Best of the Legendary Demo & Rehearsal Recordings (CD)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brutal new version of a classic album, 10 Jun 2009
This review is from: Raw Power (Audio CD)
If (like me) you're very familiar with the original version of this album, then this teeth-rattlingly loud remastering might just make you fall in love with it all over again. Compared to, say, the unforgiveably lame remastering that was administered to AC/DC's rough and ready Let There Be Rock album, this a shining example of what can be done by someone who actually cares about the finished product.

Iggy mentions in the sleevenotes that the original mix made the band sound "frail"; hardly a word you would use to describe this mix. It sounds as though every instrument has been cranked up to 11 with all the ensuing distortion you would expect. What surprised me is how much had been lost in the original Bowie mix. All sorts of vocal and guitar nuances that were somehow ironed out are now as clear as a bell, and Bowie's irritating habit of fading out every song (regardless of suitability) has here been reversed - the result is that most of the songs have an extra 30 seconds or so that you won't have heard before! It's almost as though the whole album has been re-recorded, it sounds that fresh.

I really can't recommend this highly enough. If you've never heard Raw Power before, you'll love it. If you have, you'll still love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jon Savage said in England's Dreaming "if you only hear two punk records make it Never Mind The Bollocks and this one..", 17 Nov 2008
By 
martin_peg (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Raw Power (Audio CD)
This record is brutal. This record comes smashing up through the floor boards. This record is essential.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the best rock album ever. EVER., 21 Feb 2008
This review is from: Raw Power (Audio CD)
all im going to say is this is 3. buy it, you really wont be disappointed. and if in the unlikely case that you are.... you've only spent the aforementioned 3. buy it now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I AM the world's forgotten boy..., 28 Mar 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Raw Power (Audio CD)
The one who serches, searches to destroy. This is the first real punk album after the Stooges invented it in the first place (The Stooges, 1968, I Wanna Be Your Dog). This outstrips every album ever in terms of loudness, bile and raw power. You heard Primal Scream's 'Accelerator'? You think it's loud? Try 'Search and Destroy' or 'Your Pretty Face Is Going To Hell' - then you'll know what rock n roll is. Best album ever for getting drunk to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars RAW POWER - legacy 2 disc., 9 Sep 2010
Anything less than 5 stars for this set is criminal!!

Okay -IGGY vs BOWIE mix???
Well I have both and truthfully I don't have a strong opinion either way, tho would prob just favour the Ig. The Iggy version is eq'd on the treble to the max.
The Bowie take still sounds metallic and is still a very ballsey affair!!!! Whatever version you listen to -
RAW POWER ROCKS!!!
-that's my view anyhoo.

The Live show-
Iggy is off on one prior to Gimmie Danger!!!
Elsewhere a woman in the audience can be heard saying
'I don't think he likes us very much!'
You gotta love that - it must have been unbelievable to see Iggy perform back then!!!
Lot's folk love him now - that is obviously not the case then.
And sitting listening the first time , I was sorta waiting to hear what would happen next!!! That's what Iggy was like live. The music itself is ace.
It's a very good performance and a good audio recording.

Packaging great.

In closing -

RAW POWER - Not a bad song on it.

Seminal record - Seminal band.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Forget "The Who" and "Deep Purple", The Stooges were clearly the loudest band to exist..., 18 Jan 2012
This review is from: Raw Power (Audio CD)
...and there ain't no better album to show this then Raw Power. I can't think of another album title that better expressed itself. It does what it says on the tin, and this is essentially Raw Power. It's sheer intensity and brutal riffs just show how energetic and hungry Iggy Pop's band were. The lyrics are just in your face, and definitely suits the tone of the melodies perfectly. Every track is fantastic, and I find myself changing my favourite song evertime I listen to the album. At the moment, "I Need Somebody" is just mindblowing. It's a change from traditional Stooges. Rather than the typical "go all out" Stooges style, they decide to go all hypnotic, and slow the tempo a little, whilst still retaining that hostile, intimidating approach. Also, recently, I've found "Penetration" to be a definite Stooges song. It's one of the dirtiest, violating songs ever. And that cowbell? Holy f***! Apart from a certain track called "TV Eye", the most loudest and ear popping stuff The Stooges ever did can be found on this very album.

Key track: Search and Destroy
Personal faves: I Need Somebody, Raw Power, Gimme Danger
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars STOP! You NEED to know this!, 28 April 2010
By 
This review is from: RAW POWER (Audio CD)
This is the original Bowie mix, not the Iggy '97 remix.

So what does that mean? Crudely put, this mix is like listening to the album through a telephone line. The power of the bass, crushing guitars and drums are gone. Raw Power without the Raw part is simply Power-less. Playing the Iggy mix next to the Bowie mix is an eye-opener. Don't get me wrong; I am not rubbishing this version, but if you want the true Raw in Raw Power get the Iggy mix. Try Raw Power - Rock Box Series (Tin). I'll stop here as there are people far more qualified than me to discuss the merits and demerits together with the mythologising around this record, but this is assuredly the poor cousin of the Iggy mix.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not As Described, 8 Jun 2007
By 
J. Newman (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Raw Power [VINYL] (Vinyl)
Although the item description states this is the Simply Vinyl release, it is not; I was sent the Columbia records pressing on far inferior vinyl. I am now awaiting my refund.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Classic, cover..... swift word to the wise., 8 Jun 2010
By 
M. Winter "MAW" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Truly a punk pre-cursor and it's never more evident than on the accompanying live disc..... a must have for the library !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 14 5 6 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Raw Power
Raw Power by Iggy & The Stooges (Audio CD - 1997)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews