Customer Reviews


45 Reviews
5 star:
 (34)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Page & Plant produce a thoughtful and mature offering for the adventurous musical palette
Originally released in 1994 `No Quarter' contains 14 musical pieces, mostly intelligent and imaginative re-works of songs written jointly by Page and Plant and recorded by Led Zeppelin in the 1970s. Most buyers interested in this collection will be Zeppelin fans and very familiar with all the `originals' from Zep's back catalogue.

One of the reasons Page and...
Published 22 months ago by The Guardian

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars a bit of ok
Not the greatest, used to think these guys were brill, but this is just an ok recording, i suppose i must have expected a lot more
Published 22 months ago by hendo


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Page & Plant produce a thoughtful and mature offering for the adventurous musical palette, 19 May 2013
By 
The Guardian (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: No Quarter (Audio CD)
Originally released in 1994 `No Quarter' contains 14 musical pieces, mostly intelligent and imaginative re-works of songs written jointly by Page and Plant and recorded by Led Zeppelin in the 1970s. Most buyers interested in this collection will be Zeppelin fans and very familiar with all the `originals' from Zep's back catalogue.

One of the reasons Page and Plant hit it off when they met in 1968 was that they shared wide-ranging musical interests, and their subsequent joint-compositions incorporated ideas from North African and Indian music (check out Page's frequently unconventional guitar tunings) as well as Mississippi Delta blues, Appalachian mountain music and the folk traditions of the British Isles.

On this album the duo perform some of their best songs with new arrangements backed by 7 musicians playing variously banjo, mandolin, bodhran and hurdy-gurdy as well as bass and percussion. To add further spice to the mix, a traditional Egyptian 11-piece musical ensemble is deployed on many of the tracks, and - on those recorded in Marrakech - 4 Moroccan musicians. To top it all off, the entire string section from The London Metropolitan Orchestra (violins, violas and cellos) guest on a brand new interpretation of the Zep classic `Kashmir' to close the album.

Some of the songs on the album are performed in front of a live audience and some are studio recordings; some recorded in Marrakech in the open air and some at a cottage in Snowdonia. Overall the result is a very rich musical experience, more complex and varied than any one of Zeppelin's glorious albums to which this collection will inevitably be compared. One or two songs - `Since I've been loving you', `That's the way' and `Battle of Evermore' - don't really get the full exotic treatment but are re-worked in a more conventional manner, and improved on nevertheless.

Overall this is a truly excellent and mature piece of work which will appeal to any Zeppelin fan, and also to any open-minded listener with wider musical horizons who wants to hear something a bit different. Production values are exemplary, giving a rich and satisfying sound where no instrument or voice dominates the action, but where everything is in fine balance.

Consider also checking out the DVD of the same title, which incorporates all the music on the CD plus more (performances of `The Rain Song', `When the Levee breaks' and `What is and what should never be'); showcases the performances in London, Morocco and Wales; includes interviews with Page & Plant and other extras.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars No Quarter, 23 Jan. 2009
By 
Spider Monkey (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: No Quarter (Audio CD)
`No Quarter' is one of those albums that is best listened to in a dark room, with a glass of red wine and letting the music wash over you. If it hits you just right you will find yourself both mesmerised and moved. This has a fine selection of tracks, including many Led Zeppelin tracks, and makes for some fine listening. Recorded with both Egyptian and Moroccan musicians, this album has a wonderfully middle eastern feel and often enhances previously known and loved tracks like `Kashmir'. `Since I've Been Loving You' has a great bluesy feel and `Wonderful One' stands out amidst the other gems on this CD. `Kashmir' is the ultimate album closer and that driving riff coupled with the middle eastern music makes for powerful listening. A great album from two legendary artists and although this album is nearly 14 years old (at the time of writing this review), it stills sounds fresh and inspiring. Well worth a try if you're a fan of Led zeppelin or not.

Feel free to check out my blog which can be found on my profile page.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Led Zeppelin songs blended with Eastern rhythms and sounds, 7 April 2004
By 
Lawrance Bernabo (The Zenith City, Duluth, Minnesota) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Calling this album by the video title of "Unleded," as a takeoff on "Unplugged," sorely misses the point of why "No Quarter" is not just Jimmy Page and Robert Plant doing acoustic versions of Led Zeppelin songs. The primary attraction of this album is the infusion of Eastern rhythms and sounds into their old songs. The Egyptian Ensemble's percussion section uses instruments you just do not hear on rock 'n' roll albums: Dobolla, Duf, Bendir, Reque, Merwas, Nay and Finger Cymbals (for good measure the back up band includes a Bodhran and Hurdy Gurdy). As soon as you hearing the opening of "Nobody's Fault But Mine" you know that there is an exotic twist to these songs this time around. "No Quarter," "Friends," "The Battle for Evermore," "Gallows Pole" and "Four Sticks" all benefit from this fresh approach. Then, just to make things really interesting, we get the string section of the London Metropolitan Orchestra to come in on the awesome version of "Kashmir" that ends the album. Consequently, the songs were we do not really get the full flavor of this exotic twist, such as "Thank You," That's the Way" and "Since I've Been Loving You," seem a bit out of place. It would be hard to argue that Plant's voice is everything it once was, but ultimately he is just another instrument on this mix. I have always appreciated the mixing of musical styles, whether it is Paul Simon and Peter Gabriel using South African influences or Loreena McKennitt blending Celtic and Eastern music together, so I certainly consider "No Quarter" to be in that successful vein. The fact that these are Led Zeppelin songs just makes this album that much better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazingly Brilliant And 100% Not LedZep, 26 Dec. 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: No Quarter (MP3 Download)
If you are expecting Led Zeppelin then you are looking in the wrong place. These two guys went and grew up and so did their music. This is a much more interesting affair. I love Led Zeppelin, don't get me wrong, but it is young men making testosterone soaked music with massive talent. This is grown men making amazing music with massive talent and huge experience.

Some tracks:

"Since I've Been Love' You" is a straight replay of the original. However, the guitar work puts the original recordings to shame. Jimmy Page is proving he still has it in does so with flying colours. Listening to this track is exhausting because it is so powerful.

"Friends" is amazing because it mixes the musical styles of Morocco with those of Anglo/American tradition. This works very well as Page and Plant are sympathetic to the different keys and temperament of the Moroccan music. The effect is hypnotic and moving.

I love this album. I bought it as mp3s and have now ordered the CD to squeeze those last few bits of resolution from the music. I would highly recommend this to anyone interesting in very good music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enjoy forever, 15 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: No Quarter (Audio CD)
Could never get bored of this album, beautifully crafted. Rock gods making heavenly music!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great reworking of some Led Zep classics, 16 Dec. 2011
This review is from: No Quarter (Audio CD)
This album contains a superb and ambitious re-working of some classic Zep songs such as Kashmir, No Quarter and Four Sticks. This is a more mature and refined sound than the original Led Zeppelin songs while retaining the tightness and intensity of the originals.

In the Zep days, the dyanmic duo were influenced by Arabic and Indian music to the extent that Page frequently used unconventional guitar tunings in some of his songs. But in this album they have brought their Eastern influences to the forefront by incorporating an Egyptian orchestra. This works exceptionally well with several tracks, which they have taken to new heights and directions.

While remaining grounded in their Blues roots, they also pay homage to their eastern influences by recording informal sessions with Egyptian musicians which adds a touch of simplicity and mysticism.

Plant's voice is as strong and bluesy as ever (check out Nobody's Fault But Mine) and Page's guitar solos are inspired and played from a place "deep down inside" (check out Thank You).

We're not talking about your average rock-stars here - never content with resting on their laurels, the album bursts with creativity, originality and ambition. From the haunting and vibrant No Quarter to the East-West fusion of Kashmir, P&P inspire, delight and take their classic songs to parts very few rock bands have reached, and beyond.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Don't listen to this with a tea cosy on your head !, 27 Sept. 2012
This review is from: No Quarter (Audio CD)
When asked which is your favourite cd of all time i reply without hesitation. I say No Quarter by Page and Plant. I loved it the first time i heard it and still do.You Don't know what you are missing if you have not listened to this. Go on you know you want to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What a bargain., 23 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: No Quarter (Audio CD)
What an excellent album, Robert Plant and Jimmy Page at there best.Recommend to all Zep and Plant fans out there.Again cd arrived very quickly and in excellent condition. Many thanks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 2 Oct. 2002
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: No Quarter (Audio CD)
I believe this is one of the best CDs I have in my collection. The blend of Led Zeppelin and that Egyptian orchestra creates an incredible sound. These new versions of Led Zeppelin songs are as superb as the originals. Highly recommended. It is just a must!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars No Quarter - just the whole thing, 28 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: No Quarter (Audio CD)
As a long time fan I'm a bit blinkered I suppose, but this is my sort of music sung by my sort of artistes. Objectively, you should have this in your collection
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

No Quarter
No Quarter by Robert Plant (Audio CD - 2001)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews