Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Intense, chilling and extremely 'ear-catching'
A real personal favourite, and full of emotion, Heather sings from the heart, with 'Island' you find a wrenching song that's despairing, lonely and haunting. 'Verona' is so catchy, while 'Blue Black' twists with an intoxicating chorus. 'Throwing Fire at the Sun' has it's commercial side, and it's brilliant, with many levels-Heather's voice once again stirring emotions...
Published on 21 Jun 2001

versus
9 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good harmonies, good lyrics, bad final product
This was my first taste of Heather Nova. Being an avid fan of Jewel, I trawled through Amazon to find similar artists, found some clips of Heather's music, wasn't convinced and eventually picked up a random album after a day of unsuccessful shopping.
The best thing I like about the album is the passionate melodies and harmonies that reflect the haunting and...
Published on 26 Aug 2003 by addled adder


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Intense, chilling and extremely 'ear-catching', 21 Jun 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Oyster (Audio CD)
A real personal favourite, and full of emotion, Heather sings from the heart, with 'Island' you find a wrenching song that's despairing, lonely and haunting. 'Verona' is so catchy, while 'Blue Black' twists with an intoxicating chorus. 'Throwing Fire at the Sun' has it's commercial side, and it's brilliant, with many levels-Heather's voice once again stirring emotions galore, painting many pictures, and always grabbing the listener's attention. There is an almost archaelogical quality to 'Oyster', which I've not found elsewhere, and this album, more than any other I've heard, opens up in a way that connects with people. It's very deep, and constantly moving. The lyrics never stay still, ('Maybe an Angel'), and if 'Oyster' doesn't touch your soul, nothing will!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Powered rock, 1 May 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Oyster (Audio CD)
This album was my introduction to Heather Nova. It didn't strike a chord with me straight away, but it grew on me fast. Heather demonstrates the ability to be eclectic, to sing varied themes and experiment with different sounds. 'Walk with Me' is a rock anthemn,with a powerful chorus, 'Island' is a regretful song of sorrow, 'Heal' is a beautiful lament,it is one of my favourite tracks, 'Throwing Fire At The Sun' is a strong rock based song,sung with force, 'Blue Black' is incredibly catchy, a song of remorse.'Walking Higher' demonstrates Heather's ability to reach high notes and still sound great. 'Verona' is lively and well written, likely to play itself over in your head. 'Doubled Up' is a slow, simple but enchanting ballad, a truly beautiful song.
This is a good and powerful introduction to the striking talent of a relatively unknown artist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars In love, 19 Mar 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Oyster (Audio CD)
I only picked up this CD from chance when i saw it in town today, and boy am i glad. I had never heard a song of hers in my life, and as i was bored with the constant Britney Clones, i just scanned for a cd....and i found Heather. I fell instantly in love with it, its lyrics blew my mind, each word placed exactly in the right place and spoken amazingly. I cannot name a song i do not like...they are all seriously beautiful. Keep recording Heather, we need you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars How can anyone criticize this?, 22 Nov 2004
By 
R. Walker "Miss R.oach" (Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Oyster (Audio CD)
Just absolutely outstandingly beautiful. I first bought Siren, and fell in love with "Blood of me" and "Winterblue" - they're such haunting songs that stay in your mind for days later... Heather's songs are a million steps up from the horribly cheesy pop that just keeps coming and coming...I just wish she was more well-known,she deserves more credit.
"Oyster" is another album which is just great. First of all my favourite tracks were "Walk this world" and "Island", which seem to stand out so much, but you really have to listen to it over... "Heal" is SO haunting and powerful, the mix of the magical lyrics and beautiful melody and harmony almost make me wanna cry! It sounds so stupid but her music is just so emotional. "Doubled up" is another great one, as is "Verona"...well they all are. There are some songs that I don't listen to as much as others, but hey, you get that on most albums...I'd buy this album just to hear "Heal"...give it a chance, if you're anything like me you'll absolutely love it. She's just brilliant - no other word could describe her. xxxx
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, 12 Jun 2003
By 
Oswald Muerner "New Age-Punk" (Bern, Schweiz) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Oyster (Audio CD)
First studio album of Heather Nova. Very touching songs of great intensity and intimacy, all written by herself. Just wonderful. My favourite songs are „Walk This World", „Sugar", „Truth And Bone", „Blue Black" and „Doubled Up". I give to this album five stars, because there are not more to be given. But actually it would deserve ten stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Poetic rock, 4 Mar 2007
By 
Pieter Uys "Toypom" (Johannesburg) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Oyster (Audio CD)
Oyster opens with the brooding mid tempo rock number Walk This World, Heal is a tender ballad with lovely acoustic guitar whilst Island is a long passionate rock song with great vocals and evocative imagery. Love ballads like Light Years, Verona and Maybe An Angel are found alongside surges of aggressive rock. Sugar has plenty of tempo variation, starting out slow and atmospheric like a spoken poem, then developing into a full-blown rock number. I like the solemn drums and interesting arrangement of Throwing Fire At The Sun. A highlight of Oyster is the melodic pop song Truth And Bone with its poetic lyrics and hypnotic chorus. The poignant and tuneful Doubled Up In Love that concludes the album is my favorite. Nova seems to prefer complex arrangements where tender balladeering alternates with uptempo, powerful rock sections in many of her songs. Her music reminds me of both Sheryl Crow and Alanis Morissette. The style is an appealing blend of rock and pop and the album contains some exceptional songs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heather's best., 6 July 2005
This review is from: Oyster (Audio CD)
This album has stood the test of time, truely. 11 years later, and this album can still turn someones head. More band-driven than her other albums, this one is -so far- her best.
Opening with lead single "Walk this world." Heather imediatly rocks. She introduces her powerful voice and her wonderful song writing ability. A strong opener and a well-recieved single. Many people know this song, just not who poor Heather is. (Though this album had sold over 700,000 copies by 1998.)
Next up is "Heal", probably my least favourite track on the album, a glittering song about regaining energy to be able to heal ourselves. "Island" the third track from the album, is a highlight. A tragic tale of Domestic violence, which starts with a soft and loud wail from Heather and then starts slow, till after another set of beautiful wails, when the song explodes with sound. The song seems to follow the flow of an arguement...slow intro, till an explosion of violence..to the quiet intesity of the aftermath.
"Throwing fire at the sun" is infectious. With a clever tribal beat, the song climbs into your skull and dances away. Her vocals shimmer and on the bridge sound almost unhumanly. The lyrics are honest and memorable. "Maybe an angel" the second single, is such a self-assured rocker which shimmers with Heather's powerful voice. I love the lyrics to this one. "Sugar" is the next track. A song that begins slow, till it erupts a fast and loud chorus. Then when it calms down, the song slows then breaks out once more with the rocky chorus. The lyrics are really visual and intresting.
The next track "Truth and bone" has some of the best lyrics of the album. The song is peformed stunningly well, especially the sweet and confident bridge. A highlight. The same with "Blue black" which seems to be about a victim of rape, but still has her "virgin heart." This is another album highlight.
"Walking higher" is a sad and mournful song about losing someone to death. The singing is beautiful, as well as the stream of cello running through it. The lyrics are mournful but at the same time, say the victim will never be forgotten.."The bones they buried will feed the trees, but every word you ever spoke is still in me."
"Light years" is a self confessed weird song. Claiming it is the "Strangest song I ever heard." The song is very strong vocally and its ending is awesome as Heather's voice completely lets go and erupts in a gathering of wails and harmonies. Beautiful.
"Verona" is one of my favourite tracks. Layered with wonderful lyrics and Heather's switching between spoken word and singing. This is one of the best tracks, easily. Especially lyrically - as it creates vivid dreamy imagery and I feel it has subliminal messages of suicide and aching.
"Doubled up" is a soft and fitting ending. A tale of love from the ever romantic Heather.
Overall, I'd give this album 10 out of 10. The lyrics are very visual, honest and raw. Heather's voice is beautiful and probably the strongest singing voice I've ever heard. She's probably, along with Tori Amos, one of the most talented singer songwriters ever. Keep it up!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic CD, 1 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oyster (Audio CD)
I saw this lady back in 1995 at Reading Festival in a small tent for around 200 people. I could hear her from outside and was wondering what this beautiful music was. Fantastic went out and bought the tape back then and was blown away by how good she is live. Thanks for taking me back down memory lane.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Pretty good., 9 Dec 2012
By 
dan (north ayrshire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oyster (Audio CD)
This album is not so powerful as Siren, being more laid back and easy going. Still good stuff though. Thoughtful music and good tunes, with that distinctive Heather Nova vocal sound.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Doesn't get much better than this, 3 Feb 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oyster (Audio CD)
Oyster follows a similar vein to the equally brilliant Siren - slightly rocky, complex but subtle arrangements and infused with Ms Nova's haunting vocals. Indie folk/rock doesn't get much better than this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Oyster
Oyster by Heather Nova (Audio CD - 1995)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews