Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The coolest album....ever.
If there was ever an introduction that embodied the complete essence of its album, it must be the famous bass line that begins Chameleon. From the opening note, a sense of cool is established that never lets up but for the furious solos on Sly.

Where do you start with Chameleon? It is a staple of funk music, a tune that is known to people who have never...
Published on 12 Oct 2006 by The Fish

versus
3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars What the funk?
My 2004 edition of The Penguin Guide to Jazz tells me this is `the biggest selling jazz record of all time`. My question is: why?
I`ve tried and tried over the years with this `73 album from a man whom I admire and respect as much as almost any jazz musician - the genius who gave us Maiden Voyage and Empyrean Isles a decade earlier - but I simply don`t hear what is...
Published 24 months ago by GlynLuke


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Jazz sound cool again., 3 Aug 2013
This review is from: Head Hunters (Audio CD)
While this album is responsible for me getting into jazz-funk and is wonderful in a number of places, I feel that it is almost a little too catchy for its own good. I'm thinking of the bass line to Chameleon, for instance. For the first few days of listening to this piece, I was literally in seventh heaven but, then after another couple of days of listening, it was getting on my nerves. Catchy tunes are a little bit like addictive drugs - great short term high, terrible long term low.

I think the problem could have been easily rectified if Herbie Hancock had considered abbreviating each of the four tunes and adding maybe two or three more. After all, there is only so far a fixed groove can take you. Actually, I listened to the single version of Chameleon (which is only three and a half minutes) and I didn't feel like the song lost anything for the fact that it had lost over ten minutes!

However, I still feel like this album is outstanding because of the fact that it broke out of the over-serious nature of some of the avant-garde jazz that had come just a few years before. Suddenly, with this album, jazz sounds cool again. And, with Hancock's electro-funk phase of the 80s, it would get even cooler!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 22 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Head Hunters (Audio CD)
Saw Herbie live at the Festival Hall in London last year and am a huge fan. LOVED this cd. Extremely groovy! Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Still sounding good thirty years on., 8 Aug 2004
By 
Ian Thumwood "ian17577" (Winchester) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Head Hunters (Audio CD)
The 1970's probably represented the low point in jazz for this reviewer. I had been put off adding this celebrated CD to my collection after being unimpressed by similar efforts by Chick Corea from the same era that now appeared very dated. On top of this , I must admit to not being a great fan of Wayne Shorter and Joe Zawinal's Weather Report either, even though I prefer Wayne to 'Trane as a soloist. So how did this other ex-Miles man fair with his ventures into jazz-rock?
With the opening track "Chamelion", Herbie Hancock introduced one of the baddest and fattest funk grooves ever. This is a fair represntation of what the music on the CD is all about. The tunes are all very simple (the aforementioned number being based upon a rudimentary b flat minor to e flat seventh progression) and this makes the music very accessible whilst affording the musician the scope to really stretch out. One of the highlights of the disc is Maupin's soprano solo on "Sly", all based on one chord, with the drums and percussion creating a storm behind. The star of the proceedings is obviously the leader, stretching the harmonies into ever more complex direction whilst stabbing riffs on a different keyboard to grab the listener's ear. All in all, there is still alot of good jazz within these four, long tracks.
In my opinion, Herbie is , perhaps, the greatest pianist in the history of jazz, if not, atleast one of the most versatile. On "Chameleon", there is sufficient to please both casual and fanatical jazz fans. Once heard, it will be difficult to get the groove on "Chameleon" out of your head. Forget the comments about being dated as the music still sounds relevant today. Hugely enjoyable, if unlikely to reach the level of creativity displayed on his masterpiece acoustic recording, "Maiden Voyage."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Seminal, 7 Dec 2004
This review is from: Head Hunters (Audio CD)
This is indeed a seminal jazz album... may I correct "Top 500 reviewer" going by the name of "ian17577" - 'Chameleon' is not Bb minor to Eb 7 it is A minor to D7. A mistake that no doubt has annoyed more than a few passing musicians. Thanks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars er..yes it is, 7 Aug 2006
By 
Mark J. Lewis "Mark" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Head Hunters (Audio CD)
Just checked on my iPod, and my version of Chameleon definatly is Bbm to Eb7.

Oh by the way, great album!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 66 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Dated by recording quality and style 1973., 21 Mar 2002
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Head Hunters (Audio CD)
Sad to say, I didn't spot the date before purchase and was disappointed both with the quality of the recording and the repetititous over use of the guitar wah wah pedal. Tempo breaks were also very in vogue at the time. The brilliant keyboard playing gets lost in the melee and no "real" accoustic piano at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Head Hunters
Head Hunters by Herbie Hancock (Audio CD - 1997)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews