Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars36
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£3.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 29 November 1999
Who says that this isn't one of the best Modern-ish Jazz Cd's on the market? Whoever it is, you've got a worst enemy. This is just an absolute must for any Jazz CD collector!!!!!!!!
Just treat yourself & get yourself a copy now, 'cos this is the best you can get. So there, 'cos I've got a copy of this cool brill fab CD. Get on those sunglasses this minute!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 March 2013
Four truly funky jazz grooves on one classic Herbie Hancock album. If you have only heard the more commercial version of "Watermelon Man" the album version will be a revelation. If you like funk jazz then this is a must have. If you don't, buy this and be converted.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 May 2016
I'm a bit young for this kind of stuff and only really got into buying my own records in 1977. Anway, I grew up, and saw it in more sophisticated Houses than mine. Anyway, I like the blissed out, laid-back grooves. Very Relaxing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 May 2014
Years ago I played a cover of Chameleon in band after the drummer gave me a music score with the main riff on it. I never actually heard the original, so about 18 years later I bought the album. It is good - a classic.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 January 2008
If you are not much into jazz, art, inovation, genius or music
AVOID this album.
Saw this album reviewed in a mag, bought it! BIG BIG mistake

I am now a smooth jazz Funk junky, I know nothing of jazz, smooth sounds but lovein it.
It will change your take on music. So if your safe in your bubble stay there, if you want to start a musical journey, start here.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 January 2014
Arrived quickly in excellent condition thanks. Replaces old vinyl LP nicely. I love it but wife hates jazz so I have to listen alone.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 April 2014
Was everything I was wanting. Just gotten myself into Herbie Hancock and this album is a perfect start. Loving listening to it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 October 2014
Fantastic classic album. A must even if not just for Watermelon Man.. Mason is as good as ever. Everything else has been said.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 January 2016
Yes just as I remembered this on LP way back .Excellent tracks try this.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 July 2000
You don't have to be a jazz fan to love this album - just someone who wants some funky sunlight in their lives, and who wouldn't mind finding some of the roots of hip-hop too. Layers of funk stack up, then switch direction and back again. Worth buying just for the first two tracks (chameleon is 15 mins long!). Mmmmm.... NICE!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£3.99
£3.99
£6.35

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)