Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars36
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£2.85+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

This is a really good overview of Aerosmith's first ten years with Geffen Records.
Three (generally very good) new songs were supposed to lure fans who already had this material into buying it again, and a lot of them did, but the newer double-disc anthology "Young Lust - The Aerosmith Anthology", which also chronicles the Geffen years, has made this compilation pretty much obsolete.
"Young Lust" includes all of these songs, including the new ones, and 19 more, and if you're looking for the best possible overview of latter-day Aerosmith, that's the one you should go for.
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 December 2011
An overview of MTV Generation Aerosmith/ the first ten years with Geffen Records.

I have three major criticisms.

Number one: The first Geffen album " Done with Mirrors" has seemingly been deleted from history.

Number two: The huge worldwide selling collaboration of " Walk This Way" with RUN DMC didn't make the cut, which is remarkable as that record went a long way into catapulting Aerosmith to an entirely new generation of younger fans.

Number three: There is a pointless live version of " Dude ( Looks Like a Lady)" of which the studio version also appears on here & 3 new songs, of which only " Walk on Water" is anywhere near Aerosmith's high standards. These could of easily been replaced with the remake of " Walk This Way" & 2 or 3 songs from " Done with Mirrors".

This is basically the singles off " Permanent Vacation", "Pump", & " Get a Grip" with a couple of new songs thrown in.

When it hits the spot, it's superb. " Dude ( Looks Like a Lady) ", " Walk on Water", " Eat the Rich", " Janies Got a Gun", " What it Takes", " Angel", " Livin' on the Edge" & " Love in an Elevator" pay testament to this.

When it misses it's very, very mediocre. " Crazy", " Amazing"," Deuces Are Wild", " Rag Doll", " The Other Side", " Blind Man", & " Cryin'" leaves you wandering in the MTV wilderness hoping that the real Aerosmith will stand up soon....

OK, but a long way from essential.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 November 2000
The original lively video goes hand in hand with the tongue in cheek album of some of their best work. Each track really reflects the mood of the songs; they're fast paced and fun. If you liked the album you MUST see this!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 February 2007
I'm not a big fan of Aerosmith or 'best of' albums for that matter, but this one's pretty decent and is the only Aerosmith one in my collection. It probably has most of their classics on, 'Cryin', Livin' On The Edge', 'Dude Looks Like A Lady' etc. I'm not sure why there has to be a live track on the end though, surley they could have put another track that wasn't already on the album instead? Still, a good introduction to Aerosmith if you don't know them very well.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 February 2000
This being Aerosmith's second compilation album, it had a lot to live up to, but certainly surpassed the first 'Greatest Hits' by pumping out such classic rock numbers like 'Love in an Elevator', 'Crazy' and the excellent 'Livin on the Edge', and supplying, as all rock bands seem to, the best ballads around such as 'What it Takes'. This album is a must for all Aerosmith fans and those unfamiliar with any of their previous works. One of those rare albums you'll want to listen to without skipping a song. 10 out of 10.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Although there are newer Aerosmith `best of' collections out there, I still have a fondness for `Big Ones' and the running order of the tracks here.

This gives you a great selection of their most well known tracks up to the date of release, but be aware `I Don't Wanna Miss a Thing' from Armageddon and other tracks like `Pink' came later and aren't represented here.

`Walk on Water' is a great way to start an album and gets your blood pumping for the rest of what's in store. Hits like 'Love in an Elevator', '(Dude) Looks Like a Lady' are also here, as well as some ballads like `Amazing' and `Angel' which ticks all of the boxes. There is even a live version of `(Dude) Looks Like a Lady' to finish things off.

I am curious why `Walk this Way' isn't on here and accept that the double anthology album is probably a better `best of' collection for those new to the band. But saying that I still love the running order here and that may just be due to the fact this is the first `best of' of theirs I bought, but when you haven't got time for the double anthology, or are on a shorter car journey this is still the album of theirs I grab.

Feel free to check out my blog which can be found on my profile page.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 June 2004
Don't you just love these best of albums? I don't think I would ever buy an Aerosmith album, but I love their Big Ones. This is truly an amazing time travel with some strong rock evergreens. Aerosmith are legendary for their two amazing comebacks, and the second one being hitting #1 with the Armageddon theme. This album celebrates their first comeback with amazing, instant favorites that are Cryin' (everybody knows this one), Amazing and Crazy.
One of my personal favorites is the opening Walk On Water which I listened most from this album and Livin' On the Edge which is hard to find as the 15th song on this album and that song really makes my personal top 50 or so of all time. Amazing tracks. All of these would make the MODERN Aerosmith.
The B.C. Aerosmith favorites would be Love In An Elevator, Rag Doll, Dude (Looks Like a Doll), Janie's Got a Gun (I can't believe this wasn't a UK single) and Eat the Rich. This would conclude the list of outstanding tracks on this album. You do the math and buy this album!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2001
This is by far the best CD I have ever purchased! A stunning collection of 15 songs, each of which is totally individual, and each with beautiful melodies, fantastic guitar chords and stunning vocals from the irripressable Steve Tyler. Tyler has lived through the ages, unlike either the Stones or Guns 'n' Roses, and I'm sure Aerosmith will live on for the forseeable future. There are no bad songs, no bad lyrics, and none of the songs get old. A must for anybody who loves rock 'n' roll! P.S: Do not take any notice of the so-callled "music fan" from Missoula, who gave this superb CD 2 stars. They have no sense of music in the States, not if Eminem, Leanne Rymes or N*SYNC can make a success of themselves over there!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 June 2016
WOW. Really, wow ,this being Aerosmith's second compilation album, it had a lot to live up to, but certainly surpassed the first 'Greatest Hits' by pumping out such classic rock numbers like 'Love in an Elevator', 'Crazy' and the excellent 'Livin on the Edge', and supplying, as all rock bands seem to, the best ballads around such as 'What it Takes'. This album is a must for all Aerosmith fans and those unfamiliar with any of their previous works. One of those rare albums you'll want to listen to without skipping a song. It is really awsome.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 April 2016
Most of this is from the band's MTV era, which displeases a lot of fans of their earlier stuff, who think they become too commercial. Nevertheless, there's a stack of great songs on here, and it's one of my favourite compilations by anybody.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)