Customer Reviews


94 Reviews
5 star:
 (71)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars see you at the crossroad
this was the very first jovi album that i bought, as i usually buy the greatest hits of a band before i explore their back catalouge.

1. Livin on a Prayer - what a song to kick off their greatest hits albume, for me the greatest jovi tune ever, from the album slippery when wet 11/10

2. Keep the Faith - this is the song that rejuvinated bon jovi after...
Published on 14 Jun 2007 by dolfanuk

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars bon jovi best track is blaze of glory for me classic 80s rock
bon jovi gives us a few good rock songs here blaze of glory a classic 80s rock song living on a prayer good too
Published 15 months ago by steven wood


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars see you at the crossroad, 14 Jun 2007
By 
dolfanuk (Wigan, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Cross Road: The Best of Bon Jovi (Audio CD)
this was the very first jovi album that i bought, as i usually buy the greatest hits of a band before i explore their back catalouge.

1. Livin on a Prayer - what a song to kick off their greatest hits albume, for me the greatest jovi tune ever, from the album slippery when wet 11/10

2. Keep the Faith - this is the song that rejuvinated bon jovi after their split in the early ninety's great tune with a good beat, from the album of the same name 8/10

3. Someday i'll be saturday night - a new song for this collection and a good one upbeat about how you may be down right now but things can only get better 8/10

4. Always - what can you say about this song, another new for this album and a classic. jovi's best love song 10/10

5. Wanted Dead or Alive - a great song all rock but strangely cowboy sounding, great tune from slippery when wet 9/10

6. Lay your Hands on me - a good solid tune that was the first track on the new jersey album, a bit chanty with repetitive chorus' but good none the less 7/10

7. you give love a bad name - awesome song almost as good as prayer, and from the same album slippery when wet 9/10

8. bed of roses - a great ballad almost as good as always, from the album keep the faith, great guitar sounds. 9/10

9. blaze of glory - previously a jon solo single from the album of the same name. one of their best very cowboy esque rock. 9/10

10. in these arms - a ballad but faster than always and roses. from the album keep the faith. 8/10

11. Bad medicine - great tune again awesome keyboard and drum segments. really feel this tune. from the album new jersey. 9/10

12. i'll be there for you - another slow rock ballad, decent. from the album new jersey. 7/10

13. in and out of love - the only track to make it from their second album 7800 degrees farenheit a decent tune but nothing special. 7/10

14. runaway - great tune bon jovi's first single and the only song to make it from their self titled first album bon jovi. 9/10

15. Never say goodbye - slow song similar to i'll be there for you, nice tune. from the album slippery when wet. 8/10

all in all a great album nice tracks and a great feel overall 9/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great collection, but does the order of listing let it down?, 8 July 2007
By 
Brida "izumi" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Cross Road: The Best of Bon Jovi (Audio CD)
Years ago, I used to be a die hard Bon Jovi fan (in my teenage years when you tend to obsess about people). Since then, although I no longer listen almost exclusively to them, I still do appreciate their music and I still think that Jon has one of THE best singing voices in the business. This album was one of my favourites, and recently I have returned to it. Upon listening to it after a few years, I think I have discovered one flaw - the listing of the songs (specifically the order of the tracks).
While "Livin' on a Prayer" is a great rock song, and a great opener, by putting that right before "Keep the Faith" - another classic Bon Jovi track - they have put maybe the two best rock anthems right at the beginning, leaving little else further on in the album to encourage you to keep listening. Perhaps I am being pedantic, but I feel the whole album could have benefitted by just having these two tracks put elsewhere on the listing. If "Keep the Faith" had appeared further in, it would ceratinly have given the CD a bit of a kick in the middle.
Having said that, this album does have some of their best ballads also. Of course there is the sublime "Always" and the equally superb "In These Arms". Both of these are great to sing along to, as both are paked with the usual love and angst that often accompanies it.
All in all, this is a great CD, even today years after its original release.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Crossroad: The Best of Bon Jovi, 29 Jun 2005
By 
Rich Milligan (Thatcham, Berkshire) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Cross Road: The Best of Bon Jovi (Audio CD)
Good solid rock bands don't really come much more solid and rocky than Bon Jovi, and with this album, their greatest hits from 1982-94, featuring hit after hit, there really isn't anything to suggest they perhaps aren't the best pop-rock outfit ever.
Featuring all your favourites from Livin' On A Prayer, Keep the Faith, Always and Bed of Roses. You'll really have to rack your brain to think of hit song that didn't make it onto the album and although there were a couple of later songs which obviously weren't out at the time this was released this album basically has it all.
There's not really a lot more to say. If you love rock music you've got to a have soft spot for Jon and boys. Warm and unpretentious and never taking themselves too seriously this is good honest rock music at its very best. Put the album on and sing along. Brilliant!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must for all "new" bon jovi fans, 18 Nov 2002
By 
Helen Yates "ecco1983" (Manchester, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Cross Road: The Best of Bon Jovi (Audio CD)
Ok, you got into Bon Jovi through Crush, its my life and the latest Bounce album. How do you get into the "old" Bon Jovi without spending £100 on albums you may or may not like???
Solution- buy this one!!!! It does not show all the great songs form the 1980s but believe its a great start. Living on a Prayer, Wanted Dead or alive, you give love a bad name, bed of roses are just some of the pre These Days era. and their first ever single Runaway is on her as well. There are also two new songs- Always and Someday I'll be Saturday Night (Always is the highest selling single of Bon Jovi in the UK charts so it's deinetly worth a listen- get the tissues out!!)
I bought this album (even before I bought Crush and I was part of the "Its my Life" era and within 6 months I had bought Bon Jovis first 5 albums.
5/5- classic!!! one to own!!!
Helen
xxxxx
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Let It Rock!, 9 May 2003
This review is from: Cross Road: The Best of Bon Jovi (Audio CD)
I bought this album when it first came out, all I knew of Bon Jovi being what was shown on adverts. Long story short, I fell in love with Bon Jovi, and proceeded to work my way through buying every album they'd ever made. Admittedly this collection of 'the Best of' the band could never do justice to the Bon Jovi back-catalogue, however it makes a damn good job of it and, lets face it, you can't really get 53+ songs on one album! Not just one for the rock fans, 'Cross Road' contains some of the definitive rock songs of the '80s, such as the undeniably amazing (and unstoppably catchy) 'Livin on a Prayer' and 'You Give Love A Bad Name'. However, these are mingled with the more modern rock tracks 'Keep the Faith, 'Blaze of Glory' and 'Someday I'll Be Saturday Night', along with some of the most beautiful rock-ballads ever written, including 'Never Say Goodbye', the stunning 'Bed of Roses' and the top-selling 'Always'. If you think you may like Bon Jovi, but want a taster to either whet or dull your appetite (and trust me, it won't be dulled!) this is the album to buy. An amazing testament to the rock-legends that are Bon Jovi.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best, 18 Mar 2005
By 
This review is from: Cross Road: The Best of Bon Jovi (Audio CD)
This has to the their best album.
It has all their best songs on here from 1982-1994.
Anyone who is not a fan of Bon Jovi but likes a couple of their songs will truly love this album as it is their hits and not the songs that are album fillers - not that any songs are on their albums.
It is a great album and one of the best "best of" albums around to date and I love playing this music.
If I wanna put a pre 1994 bon Jovi album on but can't decide which one then I put this on as it has all their pre 1994 best songs on. There maybe the odd one or two others i would personally put on here and I might take one or two off in their place but that doesn't mean that this album isn't as good as what I am saying.
This album is an album I can sit and listen to time and time again and it never ages and its just a great ~Bon Jovi album from start to finish and I can garenteee that once u put it on you will listen to it from start to finish.
A+++++ album, 10/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Real Collectible Edition, 22 Nov 2005
By 
Mr. J. WARE "wolvieware" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This rerelease of BJovi's greatest hits won't contain many surprises for fans as they will recognise most of the songs, but it is still a collectible, high quality product.
The Crossroad album is the same version as the one that you can already buy singly, and it is still a great introduction to the rock band for any newcomer. But this deluxe edition also comes with a B-Sides disc.
Sure, for the fan, only a live version of the boys are back in town, and blood on blood will be new, as all the other tracks are available elsewhere, but this is still a fine CD. It's great to hear some of BJovi's lesser well known stuff become frontline music. Good Guys Don't Always Wear White should rightly be an instant classic. This B-Sides CD is fairly pumping with top tunes that really do rock!
The third disc is a DVD of BJovi's famous Live In London concert (also abvailable separately on DVD) and it is one of the best concerts ever. Here, the band are playing at the top of their game, with all the hit songs included. It's a fantastic watch, and rounds out the package nicely.
But of course, this is a real collectors item, and it's quality packaging shows that. The discs are held in a cardboard case, with lovely picturs of the band, inside a slipcase. There is also a mini booklet included.
Once again, BJovi have spoilt its fans with a top quality product, even if the inclusion of old songs already available might put some fans off.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Crossroad, 6 Aug 2009
By 
Spider Monkey (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Cross Road: The Best of Bon Jovi (Audio CD)
For your first taste of what Bon Jovi has to offer then `Crossroad', like many best of's, is probably the best place to start. Covering the bands career up to the `Keep the Faith' album, this album has a good selection of tracks, as well as two new ones for this collection. You get all the bands well known hits from `Living on a Prayer' and `Keep the Faith' to `You Give Love a Bad Name' and `Bad Medicine', as well as one track from Jon Bon Jovi's first solo project. Sadly a track from Sambora's solo album was neglected, but I guess space on an album is tight. Putting this on in the car recently made me realise just how good this band could be and at their height they were a force to be reckoned with. You can't help but sing along at full volume and I'm always in awe of Sambora's guitar playing (check out his excellent solo albums). For that perfect slice of hard pop/light rock then this is a great place to go and this makes for one awesome collection of tracks, you get a taste of the softer and harder sides of Bon Jovi and makes you realise just how good they were.

Feel free to check out my blog which can be found on my profile page.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Words can't do it justice!, 6 July 2001
This review is from: Cross Road: The Best of Bon Jovi (Audio CD)
One of those albums where every single song is just absolutely perfect. It's got so much energy and passion and sex appeal- quite exhausting to listen to! From the happy-go-lucky Someday I'll be Saturday Night, to the weepy ballads Always and Bed of Roses, to the sexy cowboy Dead or Alive to the euphoric Livin' On a Prayer it is 100% amazing listening.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unbreakable, 13 April 2006
By 
Rhino "Rhino" (Frimley, Surrey United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This is quite an astonishing review of the greatest Hits Yet. Not only do we get the original Crossroads album, but now we get a b-sides & rarities album with some classics that may not be that familiar to some but are instant Hits to Jovi fans everywhere from a great cover of the Thin Lizzy classic Boys are back in town to the unmissable Raise Your Hands this is a must, then once u think you are all Bon Jovi'd out along comes the Dvd "Live From London" which shows some of the hits performed by the band at their record breaking shows at the now defunct Wembley Stadium in 1995. A great look back for Old Bon Jovi fans and a preview of what to come from those fans whov'e yet to see them perform live. Quite Simply this is a must for Jovi Fans and non Jovi fans alike!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Cross Road: The Best of Bon Jovi
Cross Road: The Best of Bon Jovi by Bon Jovi (Audio CD - 1999)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews