Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lanzarote sound
You know what its like - you're in a shop and there's beackground music playing and you wonder what it is.... well in this case in Lanzarote on holiday it was Transglobal Underground at a high decibel rate and I was blown away and asked the owner who produced the album and now it has pride of place ..... really good .... great world music!
Published on 25 Mar 2006

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Reasonable
I remember having the cassette from the early 90s but it has not improved with the passing of time. Too few songs make the mark today
Published 11 months ago by Tony Jensen


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lanzarote sound, 25 Mar 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: International Times (Audio CD)
You know what its like - you're in a shop and there's beackground music playing and you wonder what it is.... well in this case in Lanzarote on holiday it was Transglobal Underground at a high decibel rate and I was blown away and asked the owner who produced the album and now it has pride of place ..... really good .... great world music!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars International Appeal, 25 Mar 2003
This review is from: International Times (Audio CD)
I'm a self - opinionated git (So I've been told) but I defy anyone not to get the head - shuffle going on with this outstanding album. Lookee Here, Taal Zamaan and Dustbowl sets the pace for the rest of the album which delivers an intoxicating blend of western beats and eastern tablas with beautifully laid back bass dub sounds and the goosebump - inducing vocals of Natcha Atlas. Just buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BRILLIANT, 17 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: International Times (Audio CD)
Had this cd - got divorced - realised that this wasn't in the pile of discs I grabbed when I left..
Glad to have it playing again
A cd of genius, great toons and a real heartfelt drive...
TGU - the best!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing album -- TGU's best!, 27 Jan 2012
By 
Autonomeus (a world ruled by fossil fuels and fossil minds) - See all my reviews
This review is from: International Times (Audio CD)
INTERNATIONAL TIMES was my favorite album of 1995, and it still sounds great today! It's the sound of the relentless advance of the multinational working class, with the Caribbean and South Asian contingents most strongly represented.

Transglobal Underground (TGU) is still around, and they have put out seven albums since, but this remains their best. The two core members of the group are Tim Whelan and Hamilton Lee, but they often go by pseudonyms in album credits. Here, as usual, Lee is "Mantu," and Whelan is listed as "A. Ahlan." At this early point in the band's history, the singer Natacha Atlas was one of their great attractions. She sings on 6 of the 16 tracks, including "Temple Head," which is no doubt the band's best-known song.

This is a masterpiece of world-ethno-dance music, with great beats, vocals, lyrics, and overall flow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Reasonable, 17 Sep 2013
By 
Tony Jensen (East Kilbride, Scotland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: International Times (MP3 Download)
I remember having the cassette from the early 90s but it has not improved with the passing of time. Too few songs make the mark today
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A foot stomping world wide extravaganza, 10 Dec 2001
By 
L. V. Kingdom (Bristol) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: International Times (Audio CD)
A fantastic blend of ethnic, pop, trance and damn good foot stomping mind blowing tracks. Every concievable influence can be heard. Wether your in to Reggae beats, cute repetative overlays or rythmic gourgarian chanting. In this album you will find it all not one to be sneezed at!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

International Times
International Times by Transglobal Underground (Audio CD - 2000)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews