Customer Reviews


249 Reviews
5 star:
 (208)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (14)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Noise and confusion... oh and some lasagne
Once every so often, a debut album comes along that is so self-assured, so complete in its own self-belief that it takes you along with it. It doesn't even need to be the most accomplished or the most profound.

"Definitely Maybe" sounds like it's very good and it knows it.

From the opening noise of "Rock And Roll Star", it's not shy. Here we...
Published on 5 Sept. 2006 by Merry Terry

versus
31 of 35 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars 2014 Vinyl Remaster - I buy vinyl for better sound quality, not worse
This is a five star album.

However, the sound quality on this new 2014 double album re-master is not a patch on the original CD version.

The definition has been compressed almost out of existence.

It's a great pity that increasingly vinyl re-masters and a number of new releases for that matter, are being produced from highly compressed,...
Published 11 months ago by Fred Says


‹ Previous | 1 2 325 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Debute Album Ever, 25 July 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Definitely Maybe (Audio CD)
I personally prefer Oasis second album Morning Glory but this album started it all. There could have not been a better way to launch this fantastic band. The success of Morning glory is largly due to this Album although the production on Morning glory was better because they had to follow the sucess of their debute album. it shows Noels writing skills and Liams special voice but we all forget that Oasis is not made up of just 2 members. I dont think they will ever have albums better than the first two.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Why have the Japanese been offered this much quality ?, 10 Aug. 2000
This review is from: Definitely Maybe+2 (Audio CD)
Rarely do we come across albums of perfect splendour. We all know Definitely Maybe is one of the all time finest so what do we think when we get the opportunity to obtain a track which is not available on any B-side ? We jump on it. For me Sad Song is a glimpse into one of Noel Gallagher's finest musical moments. It's got everything in it that we know and want from him, including the familiar descending bass line that turns a classic song into an Oasis classic song. Why Sad Song has been hidden from us I'll never know...it's a 'Live By The Sea' exclusive. The other extra track 'Cloudburst' stands alongside The Stone Roses 'Standing Here' as a top notch B-side track...spot the difference between the two ?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the best debut album of the 90's!!, 25 Mar. 2002
This review is from: Definitely Maybe (Audio CD)
what can i say, only that this album is stunning from start to finish. by far the best oasis album with ballads like 'slide away' & 'live forever', and of course the greatest oasis song ever 'Columbia' with its fantasic vocal arrangments, big pounding bass line and great feel good lyrics. This album shows that oasis had the potential to be bigger and better than the beatles, and still do if they return to there roots of feel good songs with catchy choruses and great guitar. pure genius!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars You NEED to own this., 23 Jan. 2008
By 
Badboyofrock "BBOR" (West Yorks, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Definitely Maybe (Audio CD)
I'll be honest. I speak as an Oasis fan. I was on the doorstep of the my local record shop on the morning of 30th August 1994, waiting to buy my copy of this on the day it was released. Double vinyl in a gate-fold sleeve. A few hours later I fully understood why I had been born and also, I honestly believe that if I had never heard this album, I wouldn't be the person I am today. And I'm lovely - remember I'm being honest. If you were there in the mid nineties, you already know the power in these 11 songs and you know that I'm not giving too much credit to a CD. If you weren't there, this would be about the best place to start. If there was ever a CD that made you want to pick up a tennis racket and pretend it was a Gibson Les Paul, then this is it.
I won't give a track-by-track run down, but I will say this - If you like over-polished drivel, keep listening to S Club Steps and Westlife. If, on the other hand, you prefer good old fashioned, honest, balls-out rock and roll played by people who have actual talent then the message is simple. You NEED to own this CD. Beg, steal or borrow - do what you have to but your life is not complete until this album is in your collection. And on that day, whatever the weather outside, the clouds will part, the sky will be blue and the sun will shine. I guarantee it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars One of the best first albums but the worst value super deluxe ever, 2 Jun. 2014
By 
D. M. Taylor "Dunctay" (Greater Manchester) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The musical content is unquestionably excellent the remastering on this set is awful which is a pity ...its louder than the original and features some questionable mixing choices ..slide away is missing Noel's backing? couple of tracks are ok as they sound the same. The contents of this box simply are not worth the money a book some badges and a bag , im 47 what am i going to do with them? the 7 inch and book are nice but not essential. Do yourself a favour pick up the old cd from creation its still better. The vinyl is again too loud and bass boosted a fatiguing listen but worth buying just to have a vinyl edition but if you have this much money buy the original vinyl or the 2009 edition...way better. A rip off Liam was right about staying away from it ..Noel have you authorised this junk?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Arguably the best album of the last decade., 11 Jan. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Definitely Maybe (Audio CD)
This will always be pride of place in my CD collection. A prince amoung men. This is the definative Britpop album. Nothing can ever compare to the hunger, the pain, the sheer balls that this first Oasis album exudes. It is a must for all those who say they enjoy contempory music, whether or not you would count yourself as an ardant Oasis fan. Put all your prejudices behind you, buy this and sample the sheer brilliance of this musical enigma.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Debut Album of the Nineties?, 29 Oct. 1999
This review is from: Definitely Maybe (Audio CD)
With this album Oasis not so much entered as exploded the British music scene. Not since The Stone Roses' eponymous album had there been a more self assured collection of songs. Live Forever is gloriously uplifting, Cigarettes and Alcohol is an anthem to anyone who enjoys getting out there and "'avin it" and the three minutes Rock 'n Roll star can make anyone believe that they could do what Oasis do.
A definite 5 out of 5.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Definitely worth buying, 13 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Definitely Maybe (Audio CD)
The debut album from Oasis (1994) is crammed full of well-known and highly respected singles such as 'Live Forever', 'Supersonic', 'Shakermaker' and 'Cigarettes And Alcohol'; although, for me, the sneer and swagger of Liam on the superb 'Rock 'n' Roll Star' (released in the USA) is my favourite track here. Along with 'Morning Glory' these are 'must have' Oasis albums and can easily be bought at a very competitive price. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars oasis's crowning glory, 22 Feb. 2004
By 
M. black "barriebb3" (scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Definitely Maybe (Audio CD)
it's hard to believe it's ten years since oasis released their debut.this a an all time great, a swaggering, arrogant blast of pure rock n roll that still sounds fresh today.they may never make another album as good as this (they haven't so far) but when you have wrote songs like live forever, rock n roll star and
supersonic to name but a few you don't really have to care.oasis made their mark on british music.they WERE the 90's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Debut Album of a Legendary Band, 13 April 2003
This review is from: Definitely Maybe (Audio CD)
This album is one of the most fantastic collection of rock'n'roll songs ever.
From the first guitars of the up-beat Rock'n'Roll Star to the last verse of the ballad Married With Children you will find the best music Oasis have recorded so far. The songwriting is brilliant, the vocals are astonishing, the energy transmited by the music is incredible.
The highlights of the album are Live Forever, an anthem that will indeed be remembered forever, for it's beautiful melody and simple but harmonious lyrics, Columbia, a classic rock song, which nine years after the release of this album appeared in a single (live version), and Slide Away, a song in which the two Gallagher brothers' talents, Liam's vocals and Noel's guitar
shine higher.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 325 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Definitely Maybe
Definitely Maybe by Oasis (Audio CD - 1994)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews