Customer Reviews


211 Reviews
5 star:
 (173)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (13)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What music DVDs should be like
If you ask me, this is the first time I have felt that it might be worth buying an album DVD equivalent. The Definitely Maybe DVD includes, of course, all the songs, including videos and live performances of each song. The chances are you already own the album itself, so it's the visuals and the live performances you'll be interested in. And both are definitely worth...
Published on 8 Oct 2007 by Robbie Swale

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Great album but avoid the rip off 2014 box set
Great album but the 79 box set is a rip off. You get the 3cd version which can be bought separately, poor sounding double vinyl complete with poor quality packaging, a so called exclusive 7" single which has 2 tracks already on the 3cd version, a rebranded cheap and nasty bag for life and loads of other tat literally thrown into the box. The 2014 remaster of the...
Published 2 months ago by Adrian C. Thomas


‹ Previous | 1 2 322 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Debut Album of a Legendary Band, 13 April 2003
This review is from: Definitely Maybe (Audio CD)
This album is one of the most fantastic collection of rock'n'roll songs ever.
From the first guitars of the up-beat Rock'n'Roll Star to the last verse of the ballad Married With Children you will find the best music Oasis have recorded so far. The songwriting is brilliant, the vocals are astonishing, the energy transmited by the music is incredible.
The highlights of the album are Live Forever, an anthem that will indeed be remembered forever, for it's beautiful melody and simple but harmonious lyrics, Columbia, a classic rock song, which nine years after the release of this album appeared in a single (live version), and Slide Away, a song in which the two Gallagher brothers' talents, Liam's vocals and Noel's guitar
shine higher.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good quality second hand album, 1 April 2013
By 
Roadrunner (Liverpool, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Definitely Maybe (Audio CD)
In the process of replacing albums that have either walked out of my house on their own or not returned when lent out, or when they were returned they weren't in the best of condition. Been buying second hand albums and so far I've been really pleased with what I've bought. No complaints. Wouldn't have replaced them if I had to pay full price so I'm very happy that Amazon has given me the opportunity to do this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Definitely Yes!, 25 July 2003
By 
This review is from: Definitely Maybe (Audio CD)
This album is one of the greatest albums produced by a British band ever. Right from the opening of the glorious Rock n' Roll star you will be hooked right until the final strum of the Beatle-esque acoustic strummer Married with Children. For pure attitude and rock and roll it cannot be beaten.
It sticks two fingers right up in the air at any other rock n roll band at the moment, buy this album, if you do your life will be better. *****
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rock n Roll great, 3 Oct 2003
This review is from: Definitely Maybe (Audio CD)
We salute you Noel and R Kid! An album which not only gets you hooked an the phnemonen that is Oasis but gives you a taste of what the Manchester brothers will produce in the future. The finest Rock n Roll debut ever, Fact!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars alright, 24 May 2006
By 
Jack Crane "oggy the porter" (north wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I got this for a bargain quid which isnt bad because its a good album with good songs like slide away, shakermaker and of course live forever but its not my favourite oasis album but its a rather good debut if i must say. bring it on down should of been taken off and something like whatever or cloudburst put on but nevertheless this is worth 2 pound.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Definitely worth buying, 13 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Definitely Maybe ! (Audio CD)
The debut album from Oasis (1994) is crammed full of well-known and highly respected singles such as 'Live Forever', 'Supersonic', 'Shakermaker' and 'Cigarettes And Alcohol'; although, for me, the sneer and swagger of Liam on the superb 'Rock 'n' Roll Star' (released in the USA) is my favourite track here. Along with 'Morning Glory' these are 'must have' Oasis albums and can easily be bought at a very competitive price. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GOOD ALBUM, 31 May 2013
By 
John A. Jones (Hereford UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Definitely Maybe ! (Audio CD)
A VERY GOOD ALBUM. I LOST MINE OR SOMEONE NEVER GAVE IT BACK TO ME. I KNOW WHAT I MISSED
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still rocks my world at 50+, 13 April 2013
This review is from: Definitely Maybe (Audio CD)
This cd came out when I was still in my mid 30s and was exactly my kind of thing at the time. High energy upbeat songs that were brilliant for me to bop along to in my Walkman or on my treadmill.

I am now 52, and the treadmill has been replaced with an elliptical and a recumbent bike ( oh the knees !!! ), and it still gives me one hell of a good workout.

Sounds as good now as it did then.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Album Ever, 17 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Definitely Maybe (Audio CD)
There's no doubt that Definitely Maybe is a wonderful album. Great debut album for a great band as Oasis. I love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Supersonic, 28 Mar 2012
This review is from: Definitely Maybe ! (Audio CD)
As described by 'TheCunningStunt' on Rateyourmusic.com; -

"It's definitely a landmark album and the whole time that serves as a backdrop around this album is incredibly romanticised and it's a big part of musical history - the arrogance, the swagger, the fighting, the silly outlandish opinions, their media coverage, the rivalry with Blur. It was a fantastic period, and they helped revitalise the British music industry. They were a breath of fresh air. A lot of music publications have talked about the famous 'Oasis swagger', and their attitude - which was fantastic, but pretty irrelevant but they continued to lap it up. Even though they were BIG and had big personalities, you have to look at them musically and ask were they good? And the answer is YES. Underneath all of it, they had some brilliant songs."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 322 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Definitely Maybe !
Definitely Maybe ! by Oasis (Audio CD - 1994)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews