Customer Reviews


196 Reviews
5 star:
 (159)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (13)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What music DVDs should be like
If you ask me, this is the first time I have felt that it might be worth buying an album DVD equivalent. The Definitely Maybe DVD includes, of course, all the songs, including videos and live performances of each song. The chances are you already own the album itself, so it's the visuals and the live performances you'll be interested in. And both are definitely worth...
Published on 8 Oct 2007 by Robbie Swale

versus
22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars 2014 Vinyl Remaster - I buy vinyl for better sound quality, not worse
This is a five star album.

However, the sound quality on this new 2014 double album re-master is not a patch on the original CD version.

The definition has been compressed almost out of existence.

It's a great pity that increasingly vinyl re-masters and a number of new releases for that matter, are being produced from highly compressed,...
Published 2 months ago by Fred Says


‹ Previous | 1 2 320 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Definitely worth buying, 13 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Definitely Maybe (Audio CD)
The debut album from Oasis (1994) is crammed full of well-known and highly respected singles such as 'Live Forever', 'Supersonic', 'Shakermaker' and 'Cigarettes And Alcohol'; although, for me, the sneer and swagger of Liam on the superb 'Rock 'n' Roll Star' (released in the USA) is my favourite track here. Along with 'Morning Glory' these are 'must have' Oasis albums and can easily be bought at a very competitive price. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GOOD ALBUM, 31 May 2013
By 
John A. Jones (Hereford UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Definitely Maybe (Audio CD)
A VERY GOOD ALBUM. I LOST MINE OR SOMEONE NEVER GAVE IT BACK TO ME. I KNOW WHAT I MISSED
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still rocks my world at 50+, 13 April 2013
This review is from: Definitely Maybe (Audio CD)
This cd came out when I was still in my mid 30s and was exactly my kind of thing at the time. High energy upbeat songs that were brilliant for me to bop along to in my Walkman or on my treadmill.

I am now 52, and the treadmill has been replaced with an elliptical and a recumbent bike ( oh the knees !!! ), and it still gives me one hell of a good workout.

Sounds as good now as it did then.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good quality second hand album, 1 April 2013
By 
Roadrunner (Liverpool, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Definitely Maybe (Audio CD)
In the process of replacing albums that have either walked out of my house on their own or not returned when lent out, or when they were returned they weren't in the best of condition. Been buying second hand albums and so far I've been really pleased with what I've bought. No complaints. Wouldn't have replaced them if I had to pay full price so I'm very happy that Amazon has given me the opportunity to do this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Album Ever, 17 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Definitely Maybe (Audio CD)
There's no doubt that Definitely Maybe is a wonderful album. Great debut album for a great band as Oasis. I love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Supersonic, 28 Mar 2012
This review is from: Definitely Maybe (Audio CD)
As described by 'TheCunningStunt' on Rateyourmusic.com; -

"It's definitely a landmark album and the whole time that serves as a backdrop around this album is incredibly romanticised and it's a big part of musical history - the arrogance, the swagger, the fighting, the silly outlandish opinions, their media coverage, the rivalry with Blur. It was a fantastic period, and they helped revitalise the British music industry. They were a breath of fresh air. A lot of music publications have talked about the famous 'Oasis swagger', and their attitude - which was fantastic, but pretty irrelevant but they continued to lap it up. Even though they were BIG and had big personalities, you have to look at them musically and ask were they good? And the answer is YES. Underneath all of it, they had some brilliant songs."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Noise and confusion... oh and some lasagne, 5 Sep 2006
This review is from: Definitely Maybe (Audio CD)
Once every so often, a debut album comes along that is so self-assured, so complete in its own self-belief that it takes you along with it. It doesn't even need to be the most accomplished or the most profound.

"Definitely Maybe" sounds like it's very good and it knows it.

From the opening noise of "Rock And Roll Star", it's not shy. Here we discovered the best rock and roll vocalist for a generation and his brother who had an instinctive songwriting ability.

Never mind the short-fall of the others. The drumming is rudimentary, the bass is buried and the rhytmn guitar is workmanlike. But that doesn't seem to matter. They all fall into line behind the force of the songs.

"Live Forever" is brash and emotive and beautiful and definite. "Supersonic" is all arrogant swagger and attitude and sounds perfect. "Bring It On Down" is corrosive punk which works despite some of the worst drumming on a great album ever to have happened. "Slide Away" is stunning and moving. Yeah alright "Digsy's Dinner" is just ok and "Married With Children" might not cut the mustard but they're not bad enough to detract from the quality of this album.

A statement of intent that still sounds essential.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars alright, 24 May 2006
By 
Jack Crane "oggy the porter" (north wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I got this for a bargain quid which isnt bad because its a good album with good songs like slide away, shakermaker and of course live forever but its not my favourite oasis album but its a rather good debut if i must say. bring it on down should of been taken off and something like whatever or cloudburst put on but nevertheless this is worth 2 pound.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars oasis's crowning glory, 22 Feb 2004
By 
M. black "barriebb3" (scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Definitely Maybe (Audio CD)
it's hard to believe it's ten years since oasis released their debut.this a an all time great, a swaggering, arrogant blast of pure rock n roll that still sounds fresh today.they may never make another album as good as this (they haven't so far) but when you have wrote songs like live forever, rock n roll star and
supersonic to name but a few you don't really have to care.oasis made their mark on british music.they WERE the 90's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the best debut album of the 90's!!, 25 Mar 2002
This review is from: Definitely Maybe (Audio CD)
what can i say, only that this album is stunning from start to finish. by far the best oasis album with ballads like 'slide away' & 'live forever', and of course the greatest oasis song ever 'Columbia' with its fantasic vocal arrangments, big pounding bass line and great feel good lyrics. This album shows that oasis had the potential to be bigger and better than the beatles, and still do if they return to there roots of feel good songs with catchy choruses and great guitar. pure genius!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 320 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Definitely Maybe
Definitely Maybe by Oasis (Audio CD - 1994)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews